We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We had a mid week break and where recommended by friends to try this hotel. We were not disappointed. Comfortable and clean room. Good location. Lovely friendly staff. We had breakfast and evening meal and they were nice and tasty.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    188
    34
    14
    16
See reviews for
93
342
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed for just one night on 5th August. Great location between Windermere and Bowness. Friendly and helpful staff, great recommendations. Really tasty breakfast! Room was clean and nicely decorated. Would happily recommend to a friend and indeed return ourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joebasquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

we booked the hotel on the day we wanted to stay and we stayed in a family room as we have a 8 year old girl.all the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a very pleasent stay and if back in windermere we would stay at the glenburn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karinevemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I were staying at a nearby guesthouse (which wasn't very friendly) and went to the Glenburn for a drink. I wish we had stayed there instead. What a lovely atmosphere and there was a lovely Polish girl who is working there as a waitress who took the time to speak to us - and many other people. She is clearly happy in her work and is a great asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lhalavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We travelled from Newcastle on Friday 27th July and from the minute we arrived i could not fault this hotel in anyway at all. It has the perfect location for both Windermere and Bowness both within 5 minutes walking distance. The room was perfect, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic with a great choice. You can quite clearly see that the top customer service is a big priority for the owner and all of the staff who work here, who made me feel very welcome and comfortable and couldnt have been more helpful. I will definately be returning to Windermere and will most definately be staying at the Glenburn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times and chose it once more for its excellent
location easy walking distance to both Windermere and Bowness. We booked the
family room for myself and two neices, which is a good size and nicely decorated.
The restaurant and bar/lounge areas are very nice and all staff are very friendly and
welcoming. The breakfasts are lovely and there is lots of choice. On the first night we
could hear some music coming from somewhere but it went off before 11 so didn't bother us.
We didn't get a chance to use the Parkland pool and spa facilities but have been in the past and
its very good that the hotel offer this free of charge to guests. At check in you are provided a map and any information you need. The service here is great and I can definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We've just been to the lake district and stayed at the glenburn it is a very good hotel well decorated good size bedrooms quite modern staff are very welcoming pleasant and helpful :) the only thing i can say i wouldn't really call it a complaint is that our room pully plug was broken in our sink, the blinds had a funny odour there was also a little gap at the bottom of our door as if it didn't fit properly in the door frame but apart from that a very good 2 star hotel i feel with these improvements the glenburn should be awarded a 3/4 star :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicgal110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for your review. Not sure about the odour on the blinds as they are wooden slats but I will investigate. We are trying to replace the pully plugs in the sinks ... unfortunately we inherited them from the previous owner. All in all a nice kind review hope we see you again soon thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing