We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have stayed many times and always enjoyed it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is one of my all time fav places to stay. Friendly helpful staff, great local knowledge in terms of advice on what to do and where to go as well as being a lovely hotel with great food.

Doesn't come much better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for choosing The Glenburn once again for your visit to Windermere. Nice to see guests return again and again. This is our 5th year at The Glenburn in fact 5 years next week and it takes a long time to build up a good reputation but we are beginning to see many regular guests now....very much appreciated THANK YOU see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

I surprised my wife with a romantic Valentines break in the Lake District, after 2 days of scouring the internet I eventually settled on the Glenburn Hotel, Windermere, I chose it because of its ideal location for Windermere an Bowness, plus the valentine package on offer, this included a 3 course evening meak, rose, chocs, wine etc. We had a fantastic weekend and where both very impressed with the hotel room, staff and restuarant, and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Go on their homepage and take a virtual tour of each room, then pick the one you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We always have a problem booking short breaks as we have 3 children and hardly any body caters for larger family's...however we have now found river cottage on the grounds of the glenburn, great for us as they let it per night, which suits us perfect...there are 3 bedrooms, a lounge/dinning area and kitchen. You can also have breakfast and meals in the hotel if you really would like a break from cooking and the food is lovely. The staff were very helpful and its situated right in the middle of windermere and bowness so easy walking distance to both ends...we will be back :) thanks again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Booked last minute and definitely made the right choice. Very good location situated perfectly for both Windermere and Bowness. Glenburn is totally inviting the minute you walk in. very friendly owners and staff. Well maintained throughout with a homely feel. Room 17 was great, wonderful 5.5ft very comfortable bed. Just what you need after a full day walking! Did not use restaurant for the evening , but definately would next time as breakfast was excellent. Easy to find, good parking facilities. The added benefit of use of a local leisure club is a real bonus. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueG111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay (9th-10th Feb 2013) the hotel was very easy to find on the main road between Windermere and Bowness. We were welcomed by a lady in Reception (who we think was the owner) who showed us around the bar lounge and the resturant before taking us to our family (room number 14). The room was very clean and tidy and well presented with plenty of tea and coffee also there were plenty of clean towels. The staff were very friendly and helpful and when we ate in the restaurant both dinner and breakfast were excellent. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return and recommend the hotel to our friends and family. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is the most friendliest hotel where we ever stayed in. The staff, the owners were very nice. Nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was perfect especially the Sticky Toffee Pudding. We will definitely stay again! I would give this hotel 4 stars!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed for a weekend break, to celebrate his bthirthday 25th-27th jan.I booked the fourposter room 13 which was lovley. We arrived early due to the bad snow forcast.






we have just returned from a weekend break 25th-27th jan.I booked it for a birthday treat for my boyfriend.I choose the fourposter room 13 which was lovley. We were allowed to check in early on the friday as we had set off early to miss the snow which had been forcast as severe! how glad we had.The lady on reception showed us to our room. We were not dissapointed nicespotless,there was a lovley spa bathroom and shower.Plenty of tea and coffee, bottles of water and nice clean white towels! wall mounted tv. We headed out for a 10 mins walk to the village, ideal location.plenty of coffee shops and restaurants to eat and quirky shops. And then boy did the snow arrive,it didnt spoil our weekend it mad it lovley and so picturesque. We had a great time. The owners and staff were very friendly,great breakfast and fast service.The only dissapointment was the shower not enough pressure,but we enjoyed the spa bath instead! would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamayal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craig Manor Hotel
Craig Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £70 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing