We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel and Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel and Staff!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Myself and my partner enjoyed a 2 night stay to celebrate my Birthday booked for me by my mum! Upon arrival the hotel had left a bottle of Cava chilling in an ice bucket for us compliments of the owners which I felt was a lovely touch!
Are room was beautifully decorated and had a lovely view of the woodland. We dined in the restaurant both nice and the food was devine and brilliantly priced!
The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the lake, the walk was very enjoyable, the hotel was close enough to the lake without being on top of it as it does get busy.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others. We would like to thank the owners and staff for making our weekend so enjoyable!
Rachel and James.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for posting your review .. very much appreciated and what a lovely treat from your mum. Thank you for posting a photo of your room i love it when guests do this. Lovely, homely young couple hope we see you again sometime. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    196
    38
    14
    16
See reviews for
94
359
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at the Glenburn Hotel for 2 nights for a weekend break. It's located between Windermere and Bowness; around a 5 minute walk to Windermenre and 10 to 15 minutes to Bowness. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and all seem to work very hard to look after their guests. The hotel is fairly small and traditional, which allows for a lovely personal touch. The room was very clean and well maintained; it wasn't huge but was of a comfortable size (though the bathroom was large) and the decor was contemporary. I found the bed to be a little hard. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and this included a choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and a full English breakfast, for which there was also a vegetarian option. The food was good quality and was served promptly by the very efficient staff. The hotel has a comfortable lounge and small bar where guests can relax. There didn't appear to be a lift so the hotel is probably not suitable for people who have difficulty climbing stairs. The cost was reasonable and compared very favourably to other similar hotels in the area. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forty-somethingUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Good positive feedback. Hope the bed wasn't too hard .. i will check it out myself .. not had any poor comments on the beds before. Hope we see you again in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed at the Glenburn over the easter weekend for 2 nights. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Ideal location, had a great weekend. We stayed in Room 13, the only disappointment was the shower was not very powerful but apart from that everything else was fantastic. The breakfast was good and it was a pleasant surprise to find an easter egg waiting for us on easter Sunday. Would highly recommend and no hesitation to return. We used the spa facilities that were available, the only disapoointment was the pool being a lot smaller than we had anticipated but other facilities were good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend weather was great and hotel was perfect. Clean, friendly good food & comfy... what more can you ask for. Will defo return. Best weekend in ages... Thanks so much for having us! Jayne & Steven

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayneste14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our family stayed for 3 nights in the River Cottage over the Easter weekend. The accomodation was very good. Plenty of space for the 5 of us and it was very good value. We chose to cook our own breakfasts to avoid the rush in a morning but ate in the restaurant for dinner - the steak and sticky toffee pudding were lovely. The service was very good and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had the best of both worlds choosing the cottage in the hotel grounds. Thanks. I am sure we will use you again.

Room Tip: River Cottage is spacious for families and in the hotel grounds. You can hear the river flowing out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamNeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your review. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay in River Cottage and the weather was so nice even though it was cold. Sticky Toffee Pudding is lovely it is our own special recipe ( top secret of course ) I will pass your comments on to the staff. Hope you return to River Cottage again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just got back from a 2day short break at the Glenburn Hotel. The staff were very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The room was very spacious, clean and warm and the 4 poster bed made it a bit special. The breakfast was good as were the two evening meals we had and nothing was too much trouble with the staff. The hotel is in very good location - 10 mins stroll from Windermere Village and 15 mins from Bowness. We would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good quality hotel in the lakes

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review it is so good to receive such good comments. Your recommendations will be helpful to future visitors looking for accommodation in Windermere. Really appreciated hope we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We had booked a 3 day break before we knew what the weather had in mind. The room we booked was a small standard but was more than adequate for what we needed, it was very clean & welcoming. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by the staff, especially the young lady who I believe was called Marta( appoligies if i got this wrong). The breakfast was fantastic every morning & nothing was too much trouble, we also booked an evening meal one night and again the food & service was fantastic. Our stay overall was very pleasant but we couldnt get to enjoy the Lakes as we would have liked so we will be returning again later this year & will definatley be booking back into The Glenburn, but may treat ourselves to a Jacuzzi room

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul72Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. I will pass your comments on to Marta she will be delighted. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,435 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing