We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband, 3 children (15,13 and 5) and I stayed in river cottage for the weekend of 10/5/13 to celebrate my 40th birthday. This delightful cottage in the grounds of the hotel was perfect for us. Just a very short stroll to the main hotel allows easy access for meal/bar etc. I can not fault the service - they were very friendly, welcoming and always hardworking!! Some friends also stayed in the hotel and agree that this is a lovely place to stay and I can't believe anyone would say different! The location is perfect for a stroll to Bowness or Windermere, ample parking too. The food was lovely and well priced with a good selection. The use of the local country club passes if definetly worth exploring too. We have stayed in many different places in Bowness and will most definetly be returning! Thankyou Glenburn staff!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neecey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    198
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
96
359
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Glenburn Hotel is just old fashioned in everything except its pricing. A dark room (N°14) with a tiny bathroom. No soap tray in the shower, low water pressure and tiny shampoo and gel tubes of an unheard-of brand (containing parabens). Anti theft plastic coathangers, no blackout curtains, no wifi in the rooms, frying oil smells wafting in through the window. The fire exit was through our bedroom, yes through our bedroom, with an emergency break-glass (plastic) knob that if used gave access into our bedroom even when locked!!!
The public areas are small and decoration is from another era. Wifi available in front area of lounge with a complicated code. Breakfast very average and charging £2 extra for kippers is just so niggling. Very polite Eastern European staff was obliged to call owner to allow us to leave without paying for reserved but unconsumed night, despite us having said that we would leave the night before. Frankly, I had been led astray by the generally positive comments about the hotel on this website, although maybe we had the worst room in the hotel...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for this review I am so pleased Trip Advisor allow us to respond. Very sorry the hotel was not up to expectations for the guest visiting us from France and i am very disapointed with the comments. Hoteliers have instincts which send signals as to what to expect as soon as guests walk through the door and 95% of guests are very friendly, make conversation and have a smile, but .... the other 5% are'nt so easy to please. The fire exit is in this room but it does not effect the room in any way. I have stayed in many hotels which have the same. The room is very modern with wooden venetian blinds and heavy curtains which keep out the light. Toiletries are complimentary and of a very good quality (Out of Eden) produced locally so possible the guest had not heard of this. The hotel is far from old fashioned our public areas are beautiful and quite spacious..not shabby chic by any means but we don't want to be. My reviews are all genuine from guests who have had a most enjoyable stay. I am sure guests will agree that excellent customer care and service takes priority over the brand of toiletries we use or what type of coathanger is in the wardrobe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had 2 pleasant nights at the Glenburn which is conveniently located between Windermere & Bowness just a 15 min walk to the lakeside. The room was spacious, clean & comfortable with modern decor & a spa-bath in the ensuite.
The food was of high quality, well prepared & presented & the staff were particularly helpful & friendly.
Can definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flannos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

the hotel is small but ideally located , just 15mins walk to the town .
The hotel is run by an old couple and i must say that they are really helpful. They are also associated with a hotel where u can use the swimming pool and health club. The hotel is clean and comfortable and they have a small bar on the ground level aswell.
i would recommend this hotel if u are travelling to windermere.......................

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaggs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Myself and my partner enjoyed a 2 night stay to celebrate my Birthday booked for me by my mum! Upon arrival the hotel had left a bottle of Cava chilling in an ice bucket for us compliments of the owners which I felt was a lovely touch!
Are room was beautifully decorated and had a lovely view of the woodland. We dined in the restaurant both nice and the food was devine and brilliantly priced!
The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the lake, the walk was very enjoyable, the hotel was close enough to the lake without being on top of it as it does get busy.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others. We would like to thank the owners and staff for making our weekend so enjoyable!
Rachel and James.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for posting your review .. very much appreciated and what a lovely treat from your mum. Thank you for posting a photo of your room i love it when guests do this. Lovely, homely young couple hope we see you again sometime. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at the Glenburn Hotel for 2 nights for a weekend break. It's located between Windermere and Bowness; around a 5 minute walk to Windermenre and 10 to 15 minutes to Bowness. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and all seem to work very hard to look after their guests. The hotel is fairly small and traditional, which allows for a lovely personal touch. The room was very clean and well maintained; it wasn't huge but was of a comfortable size (though the bathroom was large) and the decor was contemporary. I found the bed to be a little hard. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and this included a choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and a full English breakfast, for which there was also a vegetarian option. The food was good quality and was served promptly by the very efficient staff. The hotel has a comfortable lounge and small bar where guests can relax. There didn't appear to be a lift so the hotel is probably not suitable for people who have difficulty climbing stairs. The cost was reasonable and compared very favourably to other similar hotels in the area. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forty-somethingUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Good positive feedback. Hope the bed wasn't too hard .. i will check it out myself .. not had any poor comments on the beds before. Hope we see you again in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed at the Glenburn over the easter weekend for 2 nights. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Ideal location, had a great weekend. We stayed in Room 13, the only disappointment was the shower was not very powerful but apart from that everything else was fantastic. The breakfast was good and it was a pleasant surprise to find an easter egg waiting for us on easter Sunday. Would highly recommend and no hesitation to return. We used the spa facilities that were available, the only disapoointment was the pool being a lot smaller than we had anticipated but other facilities were good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
21.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing