We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a lovely two night break here in July. The location was super - genuinely 10 mins or so walk to either Bowness or Winderemere. There was plenty of parking-we came by motorbike but there was room for plenty of cars. It was a lovely surprise to have the option of a vegetarian full English breakfast which I really appreciated. Staff were all friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was hot(it was a very hot weekend anyway!) and the open window did mean it was...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    190
    36
    14
    16
See reviews for
93
350
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I found the Glenburn Hotel to be a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff was very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was very filling. The location was perfect, as it is right in the middle of Windermere and Bowness, so you could access both easily by foot. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Windermere or the Lake District. A satisfied guest from Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethelbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review and choosing the Glenburn for your stay in Windermere... all the way from Alaska. It seems you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and i will pass your comments to my staff. We hope you will come and visit again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Hi me and my wife had a weekend break at the Glenburn Hotel.Our room was nice and the bed was comfortable with enough room for the two of us.All the staff were very help full and friendly,breakfast was nice too.10 mins walk to Bowness so ideal location.Would definitely stay again 10/10. Thanks Michael.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 319michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Warm, friendly welcome from the girls on arrival, comfortable and clean room, excellent dinner from the set menu and lovely English breakfast. Thourghly enjoyed our 2 night stay. We would recommend The Glenburn to anyone looking for a relaxing break in the Windermere area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, the Glenburn will satisfy you if not blow you away. Breakfast is fine, though to describe the standard full English as "Hearty" was an exaggeration of biblical proportions. Decor throughout ok, our bathroom (Rm17) tiny but clean - metal "sleeve" around shower hose completely fallen away to reveal grotty old plastic tubing underneath. Plenty of hot water though. Never saw the owners, hotel staffed by pleasant young Eastern Europeans, all in all, adequate to good though never going to set the world on fire. Which pretty much sums up the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyhailsfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for this review .. My staff remember the guests very well especially at 2 in the morning ..4 rooms booked i believe. Unfortunately i was away on business. The Glenburn does not tolerate guests who have no consideration for other guests. We are a well respected hotel with very satisfied customers which is why we have 89% on trip advisor and ...we don't really want to set the world on fire. The hose in the shower is fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

On arriving at the Glenburn it offered a welcoming approach, we were directed through a small archway to a rear car park, built around existing rocks. The hotel was very clean, light and airy and the staff member who welcomed us and checked us in (Justina) was lovely, she showed us the facilities, lounge, dining and then took us to our room personally. The room was delightful, a four poster with full sized ensuite bathroom and shower; again very clean and very comfortable, plenty of room to move about. The lounge and bar area had plenty of seating which was considerate to everyone having a range of different styles. On our first arrival I was slightly concerned about traffic noise as we were on a main road, however once inside the hotel was quiet. We dined in the hotel both nights of our stay and the food was tasty and well cooked. The menu was the same both nights but there was plenty of choice and reasonably priced for a hotel in June. The bar was also priced in accordance with a popular holiday area, but you we choose to stay in the hotel rather than go walking to alternative bars (there was a CIU club up the road. Breakfast was also very good, lots of choice with fruit, cereals, yogurts, cooked foods and drinks, all prepared freshly.

Altogether we had a very pleasant and comfortable stay, the three staff members who looked after us were all polish and couldnt have offered more help if the tried, they were very interesting and had learned the local area advising us of where we were and what was round about, I would recommend the Glenburn Hotel to others, if you have mobility problems I am not sure if the hotel has facilities on a ground floor, we had to go up some stairs to our room, but we werent particularly looking.

There was also the use of a Leisure Club at another hotel but we never checked this out.

We loved the peace and quiet, freshly prepared foods and friendly service a this hotel.

Room Tip: The only thing I noticed was that the stairs were quite steep so people with mobility problems ask b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate it very much and i will pass your comments to the staff. Future guests reading your comments will have a good view of what to expect. We all work very hard to keep standards high at the Glenburn and it is good to hear such great comments. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Glenburn Hotel in Windermere was certainly a very good find on the internet. The staff running the hotel in the absence of the proprietors were very friendly, courteous, extremely helpful and impressively efficient. Our compliments to the Chef whose delightful and mouth watering meals were hard to resist. The service and presentatiion of meals was excellent and there was plenty of it too! Service, with a capital 'S' - they certainly made customers feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Attic room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing