We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent for a visit”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on our way back from Scotland. The staff went out of their way to ensure that the visit was exceptional. The service both in the bar and restaurant was really good as was the food and wine. The room was recommended upon booking and live up to expectations. As previously said nothing is too much trouble. Will stay on next visit to the lakes but make sure it is a bit longer.

Room Tip: We had room 6 very quiet and on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    196
    38
    14
    16
See reviews for
94
359
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed a week at this hotel, the week was made very special by the friendliness and service of the staff, the comfort of the room and the exceptionally good food, not just at breakfast but also in the restaurant. This is an exceptional hotel, nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, it has to be one of the gems of the Lake District, absolutely brilliant.

Room Tip: The best room has a four poster bed and spa bath, but all the rooms are very well appointed, we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffw35cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We are delighted you had an enjoyable week's break at the Glenburn. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we do appreciate it .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is on a busy road in the middle of lots of other similar hotels. Parking was good either at front or back. Our first impression on entering the hotel was that it was a bit like a nursing home, but I think that is mainly because it is an old building. The stairway/corridors could do with a bit of decorating/up-dating.

Our room on the top floor overlooking the main road was very nice. It had plenty of space for clothes/cases and a nice big bed. The bathroom was compact, but modern and had a good shower. It was all spotlessly clean.

Breakfat was excellent with very efficient and friendly service. We ate out in the evening as it is in a great location for either a 5 minute walk to Windermere or a 10 minute walk to the more touristy Bowness. Overall we had a lovely weekend break in a beautiful part of the country and would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are quite a lot of steps to the top floor rooms which might be a problem for some people. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Atayed here for 2 nights. Room was pleasant apart from 2 hairs found in bed. (Owners quick to respond and would've changed immediately but as bedding was clean didn't bother) complementary glass of wine for inconvenience which was nice.
Room was on the small side for a exec double?
Car park around back of hotel was a little cramped.
2 polish girls who waited tables were excellent. Always smiling and nothing too much trouble. Working early morning and evening. ..well done girls!
Had meal in evening on girdt night which was nice but had better
When came to check out was chsrged for 3 course meals instead of two!
Owners nice people
Breakfast wonderful .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190832Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I was the lady on the desk at the time. I hold my hands up to this.. there was a tiny hair which the gentleman brought to me and I did insist on changing the bed but everything was immaculately clean so the guest wouldn't hear of it ... said no and accepted the wine as a gesture... they were a lovely couple.The windows were open and things get wafted about ... it happens and sometimes not noticeable to the naked eye .. very sorry and thank you for not making a big fuss .. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here last weekend and this hotel was a lovely experience and would recommend to others. Lovely friendly staff (nothing was too much trouble) and it was so nice to return after a day out walking, to relax in the cosy lounge and restaurant. The evening meals were delicious (the sticky toffee pudding was amazing). Great location between Windermere and Bowness. Sandra and Joanne.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you ladies for your kind review. It was a pleasure to see such smiley faces everytime you came to reception. You certainly looked like you enjoyed every minute of your stay in the Lake District. Thank you for your comments and i hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Absolutely delightful hotel, with a very comfortable room (No. 18). All staff were lovely, helpful, friendly and polite. Excellent, well-stocked, bar (open all day) with very warm and cosy lounge. All meals were delicious, with speedy and efficient service, and the breakfasts, too, absolutely fantastic. Great little extras, such as the bottles of water in the room, biscuits, and the exotic toiletries in the well-appointed bathroom. We shall definitely book again on our next visit to the Lake District. Many thanks to Jackie and your wonderful staff, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Tim and Marj.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_And_Marj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments gave lots of good feedback for future visitors. I will pass your kind words to the staff, i am sure they will appreciate them. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Glenburn hotel last weekend, we had to make a late change to the dates due to personal reasons and this was not an issue with the hotel who dealt with everything in a friendly and helpfull manner which we thought summed nicely, from the moment you walk in everyone is so friendly and helpfull. The bedrooms are clean and well decorated and very well kept. We eat in the restaurant the first night and this was also a highly recommended place to eat with great food and friendly service. The hotel is situated in between Bowness and Windemere which are both walkable for a choice of restaurants and shops. The hotel is very well run and we would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We have just earned an extra star on our rating and we are all delighted here at the Glenburn. We all work as a team infront and behind the scenes to ensure the guests have a pleasant stay. Guest comments are also taken into consideration and have gone a long way to helping us achieve this extra star. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,435 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing