We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal For A Romantic Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal For A Romantic Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Firs time in the Lake District. Upgraded to a beautifully decorated 4 poster room. Room and bathroom were clean and tidy and the room was very nicely decorated as they knew we were coming for a romantic weekend. Ideal location for walking to Windermere and Bo'ness. Breakfast was as you would expect with a options of hot and cold food/drinks including vegetarian options, the evening menu was cooked to perfection and the staff were really friendly and accommodating. Nothing was a problem including drinks to our room, personally picked music for our candlelit dinner and a later checkout on request. I wouldn't hesitate to go back. Obviously a holiday to the Lakes isn't going to be spent all day in doors so it was just the right balance of luxury and affordability and wouldn't hesitate to go back soon.

Room Tip: The 4 poster rooms are really romantic but the beds are a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Just when you think romance has died this guy comes up trumps. There was the four poster bedroom, music, champagne, fine food and he popped the question. He brought his own ipod to play their favourite song. Even I shed a few tears it was so romantic. The lady said YES of course.
Hope you will both be very happy and thank you......... it was very special for us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    188
    35
    14
    16
See reviews for
93
346
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a New Year package from 30 Dec to 2 Jan.

Staff were very good from booking, to greeting us, to when we left. Very friendly, nothing too much trouble - Marta, the dark haired Polish girl who we dealt with most of the time, was particularly brilliant and it really made our stay.

We were in room 8 which was very nice, the bathroom was quite small but to be fair it was just how it was shown on the interactive video on the website, so no complaints. It was very very warm but we could turn the radiators down - nice to have the choice! Room 8 is on the main road but i didnt notice any road noise at all and i'm quite a light sleeper.

Breakfast was great, lots of choice and well cooked, lots of cereals. If i was being ultra picky i'd ask for more fresh fruit but that is only a suggestion

My only criticism would be our evening meals, which were a bit hit and miss and i'd say the cooking was not of a high standard, with cooked-from-frozen yorkshire puds and tatties - it might just have been the time of year we stayed at. If i was staying at this hotel again, which i would do, i would eat out. Its only 5 mins walk to Windermere and 10 mins to Bowness where there was lots of choice of pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 8 was quite spacious, had a (smallish) spa bath and shower overhead. Very much as described in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us it was such a lovely atmosphere. Disappointed along with my chef that you thought our food was hitty missy as you put it. Two nights you ate with us I believe. We are very particular with our menu. We are not 4* Michelin by any means but all our meat, fish and vegetables are sourced locally and desserts homemade. We don't do frozen everything is freshly prepared and I peeled and cooked the roast potatoes myself even chose maris piper potatoes (Jamie Oliver's advice) and they were gorgeous along with the fresh roasted parsnips. 5 course New Years Eve dinner and coffee for £39.00pp it was fit for a King in comparison to those charging £78.00pp .... sorry I am not a chef self taught but my food is my passion .... everyone to their own opinion... hope 2014 is good for you both Many thanks..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Although I have nothing major to complain about, nothing at all would make me want to return to this hotel. Ok refurbished bedroom - warm and clean but needs TLC - tatty in bathroom and overall spoilt by signs giving check out times ! Repairs need to be carried out and carefully maintained. Lounge and restaurant very traditional but really needs to be updated. Just adequate breakfast.
Only one member of staff was friendly an efficient - a dark hard polish young lady. Other staff disinterested and just "going through the motions" with guests - need customer service training!
Shame as this hotel has loads of potential if just more improvements were made.
Lovely position in between Windermere village and Bowness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
No complaints BUT... happy new year and I am sorry you feel a little disgruntled about your stay ... most guests love my hotel and when I say it needs a refurb they beg me to leave it as it is. But.... i can assure you that in the Spring if my bank are feeling benevolent we will be refurbishing the hotel though I don't think there are any major issues with it really. I have only 3 members of staff plus myself and my husband and we work very hard to keep up appearances at the Glenburn and after 25 years in hospitality I don't really think we need any more training... but I have to admit we all have our off days for one reason or another and I apologise for that. A little confused as to why you think our breakfast was just adequate I think 7 cooked items on a plate and as much toast and cereal fresh fruit, muffins, yoghurts fruit juice as you can manage would be more than adequate. Disappointed that nothing would make you return to The Glenburn especially with no complaints....but I hope we see you again and 2014 is a good year for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Room very nice ( 17) . Fault with radiator was fixed next day. Unpleasant odour (drains)on arrival this seemed to dissipate on use of shower.Staff very helpful and pleasant , but staff shortages were evident at busy periods. Altogether a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: High floors were not serviced by a lift so not suitable for people withany sort of mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tel200black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind review......... all the very best for 2014 and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here in late November. Rooms are individualised with nice furnishings. We had a comfy four-poster bed. Some really nice touches, like towels arranged as swans when you arrive. Very good service from resident staff members. Breakfast is freshly cooked - can recommend the porridge as well as the full English. (We didn't take evening meals in the hotel so cannot comment on the evening menu.) Main road location but not noisy, and within walking distance of both Bowness (for the lake) and Windermere town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review your comments are really appreciated. We hope you will come and visit us again at the Glenburn soon. Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed over for one night, very clean room, staff where very friendly and helpfull. Had the three coarse evening meal and it was great, didn't have room for dessert. Breakfast was also very nice. A great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephengilbert2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on our way back from Scotland. The staff went out of their way to ensure that the visit was exceptional. The service both in the bar and restaurant was really good as was the food and wine. The room was recommended upon booking and live up to expectations. As previously said nothing is too much trouble. Will stay on next visit to the lakes but make sure it is a bit longer.

Room Tip: We had room 6 very quiet and on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing