We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We called in here on the off-chance as we were struggling to book a table in Windermere centre. We were really pleased that we did, they have a set menu and all the food was cooked to perfection. The dining room feels very cosy and the set menu is extremely reasonable. I have never reviewed anywhere on tripadvisor before but feel that I have to because this place was a real find. There were two adults and one child in our party and we all loved it. We will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMitchell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Pleased you enjoyed your Dinner at the Glenburn. Many people do not realise that we are open to non residents and we are half way between Windermere and Bowness so it is very handy if you don't want to face the walk down to the centre. Nice to see your daughter enjoyed the Salmon with dill sauce from the adult menu and how very polite she was. Thank you for choosing The Glenburn and taking the time to write a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    188
    35
    14
    16
See reviews for
93
346
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from a break in this lovely hotel. The hotel owners and staff were excellent and very helpful and accommodating. The room was as shown on the website and it is great that you can actually see the room you are booking. We would definitely stay again and will recommend this hotel to family and friends. The location is very good it is a stroll both to Windermere shops and Bowness .

Room Tip: Look on the hotel website where all the rooms have a number and pictures and tell you which floor th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Great review thank you very much really appreciate you taking the time. Weather could have been a little kinder to us but it wasn't too bad. Look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Basic hotel Walls thin Can hear guests in other rooms Staff distant
Breakfast basic
Expectations not met
Parking very bad Had to leave the car in the road which was very off putting
Would not book again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opera_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Sorry to hear the guest would not book with us again. I did ask on departure if the stay was ok because I knew there had been an issue with parking. Unfortunately there was a car in the car park which were not guests at the hotel and it took up two of the guest spaces and I did ask them to move it immediately so this guest could park the car. When I informed the guest there was a space available they did not want it. It seems when little crisis like this happen then everything else becomes an issue. Could I point out that parking at the hotel is free and we have a parking space for each room even though it is a little tight at times ... if there is an issue we will sort it we cant do anything after the event. I fail to see where breakfast is basic.. Full English breakfast, toast & Jams. orange juice, apple juice, choice of 7 cereals, bowl of fresh fruit, prunes, grapefruit, muffins, porridge, kippers, choice of teas and coffees not bad for a small hotel and it would certainly meet my expectations and more. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and I am sorry your stay was unsatisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stopped at the Glenburn Hotel while visiting the lakes in April, it is situated in a great position, equal distance between Windermere and Bowness, nice rooms, tastefully decorated with clean facilities.
The staff were friendly and helpful, I will be visiting again when I return to the lakes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianwelsh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a nice feeling to be called "perfect place" it makes all our efforts and hard work worthwhile. Thank you so much we really appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again at the Glenburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located. The staff are friendly, welcoming and extremely hard working. There is no lift in the hotel. However we were offered assistance with our luggage. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived. Breakfast was great too. The hotel is an ideal location for exploring the many walks, restaurants and facilities of both Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere. Orrest head is a short walk from the hotel. There are lovely views of the lake from the top. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to travel further afield. We went to Ambleside, Grasmere, Keswick also to Dove Cottage and Hill Top. I can recommend the Lighthouse restaurant in Windermere, the Ship Inn and New Hall Inn (more commonly known as "the hole in the wall" in Bowness-on-Windermere.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from a stay at this excellent hotel. We booked the two night package with dinner on one night , staying in a room with four poster bed. What can I say, everything was wonderful, lovely, homely hotel. Staff were very welcoming and considerate, their knowledge of the area was brilliant and we were given a map of the area on arrival and suggestions of things to do/places to visit. We had dinner on the first night and it really was excellent, my husband is still talking about his steak! The breakfast was good with a wide range of choice, cereals, fruit, kippers and more but we went for the traditional full english, lovely, well cooked, not greasy and plenty of it. Our room, no 7 was beautiful, bed very comfortable, bathroom lovely with shower over bath and basin in alcove of it's own. Had a great lounge bar area for drinks. Location would be hard to beat, five minute walk up hill to Windermere and about a 15 minute walk down hill to Bowness.
All in all, thank you to the owners and staff at the Glenburn, we had a wonderfully relaxing couple of days and will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: If you go on the hotels website you can do a virtual tour of all the rooms available and choose whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea_bellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for choosing The Glenburn for your visit to Windermere. Always good to hear positive feed back especially with the restaurant and food. You were obviously very delighted with your stay. Thank you so much. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

surprise stop to treat the wife on way back home, was attracted to the prospect of a four poster bed. Also offered a spa bath with rain fall shower, although this was all crambed into a very small bathroom. Think I let he notion and romance of it confuse reality. Hotel wasn't exactly to the standard of the photo's, but they rarely are. Great welcome though, parking onsite and good location. Age of building means you should expect creaky floors, but try to avoid staying under a family if you can. Very noisy landings and hallways, with doors banging shut. Decor a little outdated, but has bags of character, and comfortable. Service in bar and restaurant very speedy, but did feel a little rushed to move onto the next course. Overall though, would deifinitely stay again if in the area. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, then you limit noise from floorboards above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your review. The building is very old and unfortunately with that comes the creaks and groans of the structure. We are hoping to give the old place a facelift this year but I think its in pretty good shape for its age most people comment on how lovely it is and don't want us to change. Some lovely comments thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing