We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife, two children (8 & 7 years ) and myself booked this hotel on the back of reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the River cottage and it was fantastic, the kids absolutely loved it as did my wife, I also found it relaxing as the children could play without disturbing anyone. The cottage was spacious, the kitchen was well equipped leading to a dining area/lounge, the 3 bedrooms are spacious with one en-suit with a fantastic walk in shower. The hot water went off and the hotel owner could not have been more efficient at rectifying the problem, within 20 mins the plumber had arrived and the problem was fixed (wish I could get a plumber as quick lol). Sadly it was time leave, To our surprise when we went to check out and pay the bill the owner had not charged for the evening meal (which was absolutely delicious) . We will most certainly be booking again. Thanks for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review. River Cottage is perfect for families especially now we have the extra bathroom. It is nice to have the choice of cooking for yourself or eating in the hotel. Pleased you had a great stay and see you again soon i hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 1 night at the Glenburn because we always liked the look of the hotel when passing, it is in a perfect location, the room was nicely decorated, cosy and the bed was really comfy just what you need after walking all day. The staff are very friendly courteous and helpful nothings a bother to them, the breakfast was well cooked and tasty and service was very quick despite a lot of the guests arriving together. We enjoyed our short break here and felt relaxed we would definitely recommend..... it feels like home from home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theRowntrees38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Wonderful review thank you so much for choosing The Glenburn for your visit to Windermere. It was a pleasure to be your host... lovely couple please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed as a couple for a short break and had to say that the hotel was lovely, the staff were pleasant, polite and very helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and the room was decorated nicely, modern yet in keeping with the traditional style of the hotel. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay again. The only downside is the uphill walk from the beautiful harbour, which is only 15 minutes walk away to get there down hill but twice that getting back up! Not for those wearing wedges or heels! (Note to self!)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrslouisesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review we really appreciate it. You looked relieved when you change into your comfy shoes. It seems you had a really nice time please come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Glenburn. We have stayed here before a number of years ago. We visit the lake district quite often and just wanted a quick escape for the night and this hotel was available.
The room was spacy and comfortable, the bathroom was a bit on the small side to say this was a deluxe room. It did have a spar bath which only just accommodated one person! This is how we like to relax sharing a glass of wine together in a bath (not on this occasion though) our room was 8 overlooking the road which was a bit noisy too.
The only other down side I would say about the room was that it was quite noisy when sleeping next to the radiator as this was making a noise all night.
The staff was quite pleasant even though most were not English, the breakfast was bare minimum, it maybe could have had two pieces of bacon and maybe a larger sausage..

Room Tip: A room to the rear of the hotel may be a lot quieter away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveandjill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Good review thank you. Sorry there wasn't enough room for two in the bath this is one of our smaller deluxe rooms but the baths are all of standard size (when we refurb I will give this consideration ). Noise from the road should be minimal and the windows are double glazed but we do have rooms at the back of the hotel. Thank you ... happy bathing !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed for the weekend, 10 & 11May. A very friendly and clean hotel situated in an ideal location for exploring the lake district. The room was warm and comfortable. Breakfast was very filling and tasty with plenty of choice, the evening meal was also of excellent quality. Definitely considering staying there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nathanandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your review always nice to see guests returning for a second visit. The weather was so nice for you too. Look forward to seeing you both next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights on 18 & 19 May. Staff - very friendly and helpful. Had dinner on the 1st night which was very good. Breakfasts are very good with a choice. Rooms are comfortable but our bathroom was small. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephtew1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Seem like you thoroughly enjoyed your Stay at The Glenburn. Thank you for a super review and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights for a relaxing break.

Had an issue with a window opening and wouldn't close, informed reception next morning and no issue with switching rooms. Great location, 5 mins walk from Windermere town and 10 mins to Bowness.

Plenty of parking and wifi and decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 986londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your review and apologies about the window. All fixed now hope it didn't trouble you too much. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
836 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing