We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm ,festive welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A warm ,festive welcome!”
Reviewed 30 December 2008

A warm welcome with mulled wine and mince pies greeted us, our hostess was very friendly and accommodating,the ambiance was lovely and the location couldn't have been better-just minutes from the lake.
The beds were very comfortable and we found the breakfasts included in the room rate fabulous.
Prices were very reasonable,especially considering it was Christmas Eve,the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Definitely planning another stay!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjiminicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    193
    38
    14
    16
See reviews for
94
356
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Beautiful surrounding , wonderful staff , the hospitaility was second to none the food was amazing and there was no problems when i requested a change to the meal.

The room itself was very comfortable and well decorated .

I will have no hesitation in stopping there again when I next visit Windermere

Alison

  • Liked — friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank turbogold24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

I have stayed at this hotel before with my partner in a lovely deluxe 4 poster room so had no doubts in recommending it to my sister and two neices. We booked the family room which was very clean with a nice modern shower room. We found it to be a little too small for the 4 of us and the owner kindly let us have another room. we had found there was much noise from the people in the room above too which was another reason for our move but not a fault of the hotel on my previous visit I had found our room to be very quiet. My neices absolutely loved the hotel and the staff were extremely friendly (especially with my neices), they were also very helpful and hard working. After visiting Windermere we would return to the hotel and the lounge/bar area was perfect to unwind after a days sight seeing and walking.
The breakfasts were good with a nice selection. We didn't dine at the hotel as we ate out whilst out for the day but I can recommend the restaurant from my previous visit.

The location is great too for both Windermere and Bowness. A lovely hotel full of character with very friendly staff which made an excellent family summer break for us.

  • Liked — Quaint small hotel with excellent staff,family friendly
  • Disliked — Noise from other guests
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisebarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We arrived about 2 hours earlier than the stated check in time but as our rooms were ready we were shown straight to them by the very pleasant owner. Our son and his girlfriend had a deluxe four poster we had a deluxe, both were immaculate with spotlessly clean spacious bathrooms. Breakfast was a good choice of cereals, fruit ,both fresh and tinned ,yoghurt, hot toast with butter, jam ,marmalade etc, the cooked breakfast of your choice was delicious (obviously fresh produce) plenty of fresh juices, tea and coffee. The evening meal was again delicious our only dissapointment was that the menu didn't change daily and we had to choose from the same menu over several nights that said we still had a most enjoyable delicious meal every night. The staff are all very attentive without being overbearing nothing is too much trouble for them they are all just more than happy to do anything for you with a smile. The owners mingle with guests making sure everyone is happy with everything. The bar is a little quiet in the evenings. We would not hesitate in returning or recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Highly recommended. We stayed for two nights B&B. Hotel is rated 2 Star but should be much more. The service was fantastic and the hotel was immaculate. The staff were friendly and did everything to make our stay perfect.
Thank you for making our Honeymoon memorable.

Mr & Mrs Jackson
Wishaw
Scotland

  • Liked — CLEANLINESS
  • Disliked — NOTHING EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vickialicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We stayed here for the end-May Bank Holiday.

The room was nicely decorated but small. We were only sleeping there for 2 nights so that did not present a problem. If more space was needed, we could have used the lounge on the ground floor. The curtain fixtures were a bit weak and could do with tightening up.

Beautifully fitted shower room with sink and loo and a full laundry service. Rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard.

Full English breaksfast was included in the price. My partner is a vegan with other food alergies and the staff were very accomodating. In fact every request we put to them was met with a smile. The staff are a credit to the Glenburn.

We picked this hotel, firstly on its location and secondly we viewed the room and other facilities on line.

The price included swimming and spa facilities but these were located about 10 minutes away. These facilites were again really good and helped ease the tensions of a 5 hour mountain trek!

Checking in and out was fast and efficient. All in all I am glad we stayed there and I would definitely stay at Glenburn again.

  • Liked — Location, staff,
  • Disliked — some of the fixtures
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenburn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2008

This was an excellent hotel where the staff were very polite and helpful and the food was absolutely fantastic. Will definetly be visiting again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank rsjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,419 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing