We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely day out in the Lakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brockhole on Windermere

Brockhole on Windermere
Ranked #9 of 33 things to do in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brockhole on Windermere offers activities to suit everyone, from toddlers to adventure seekers to those in search of an ultra-relaxing experience whilst enjoying their time in the Lake District. It's all here in one place, set against stunning mountain views on the shores of Windermere in the Lake District National Park, Cumbria. From family activities to glorious garden tours and seasonal events, there really is something for all ages. Why not explore 30 acres of beautiful historical gardens and grounds? Or picnic by the lakeshore and enjoy secret beaches with the family? If the children are feeling more adventurous they can swing or bounce through ancient woodland on Treetop Trek and Treetop Nets. Down by the lakeshore, you can hire kayaks and rowing boats, enjoy or catch the cruise boat across the lake, depending on the season. There's also archery, bike hire and mini golf on offer during the season. Don't forget to finish your day by taking in the stunning lake views offering stunning views towards the distant Langdale Pikes at the terrace café, while enjoying local ales and dishes. There's also a well-stocked gift shop and ever changing exhibition space to enjoy indoors.
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely day out in the Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great fun for old and young alike. Dogs allowed. Boat from Brockhole to Ambleside, Bowness and further afield to the station / bike trail. Great walks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BobandSueWesterdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    247
    86
    45
    67
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good for killing time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good place to go to kill an hour or so having a walk in the grounds, or letting the kids play on the outdoor play area.

Cafe was decent enough food and not too expensive considering it's the Lake District.

Indoor soft play - absolute waste of time, not what I'd expect from the advert. There were horse rides available but at £12 a time, way too expensive.

The treetop activities looked like good fun but the weather conditions meant it wasn't ideal to try them out - will return and post a separate review in future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine B, Guest Relations Manager at Brockhole on Windermere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to submit this review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Brockhole but sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Softplay area. We 'd love to hear your views on how we could improve this aspect of Brockhole so please email me with your ideas at lorraine.brierley@lakedistrict.gov.uk. and we will pass your feedback on to the Brockhole management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an hour or two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I visited here in June and thoroughly enjoyed it. Brockhole is likean adventure playground in a park. It is situated right by the lakeside and you eithr drive to it or catch the boat from Bowness, which makes a stopat this attraction. There is a large grassy area for games, picnics or catching some sun. The centre has lovely gardens to walk around which are iimmaculate and have a great selection of flowers and plants. We enjoyed spending some time watching the kids and teenagers go on the zip wires ad climbing frames high in the trees. There is also a large xhildrens play area which had a great choice of swings etc. Although we did not et in the cafe it looked clean and tidy. Entry to the centre is free but you have to pay for car parking on your exit. Would not hesitate to make a return visit !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a ferry to Bowness or Wray Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Loved this visitor centre, it had something for everyone and as the weather was good, it was even better as we could just stroll around in shorts!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good day out with the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Only a quick drive up the road from our place we were staying on holiday, went as a family, our 2 kids are 7 and 4, we played a game of mini golf, they enjoyed the adventure playground too, plenty to keep them occupied, looks like their building another attraction too, tree top nets, theirs a nice cafe and shop and a small undercover climb wall near the shop too, just lots of things for all ages, great family day out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brockhole on Windermere also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Brockhole on Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing