We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable winter weekend”
Review of 1 Park Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1 Park Road
Ranked #41 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Sue and I have just returned from a lovely weekend in the Lakes
Staying for two nights in a luxury room at 1 Park Road. We also took our dog
Stella who was made most welcome by owners Phil and Mary Burton.
Phil showed us to our room and whilst I brought the cases from the car he kindly
Set up the dog cage for Stella.
We were then invited down to the lounge for a coffee and cake.
We decided to eat in on our first night and the food and presentation was excellent.
Our room ( No 6 top floor ) was a good size and comfortable with a nice King Size bed and two seat sofa.
The ensuite was on the small size and contained a shower cubicle, toilet and basin. It was more than adequate. Ample supplies of quality soaps/shampoo etc and the towels and gowns were of good quality.
The tea making facilities were well above average with an excellent selection of speciality teas and filter coffees.
Milk was also plentiful and available from a fridge just outside the room. This is so much nicer than the little cartons of UHT milk you normally get. You could also store your own drinks in the fridge for use in your room.
I Park Road is well situated for a short stroll into the centre of Windermere ( Less than 5 minutes )
Bowness and the Lake is a nice 20 minute downhill stroll but a little harder coming back!!

A park approx. 200 yards from the property is ideal for early or late doggie walks.
Breakfast on both mornings were excellent and plentiful and the dining room light and airy.

To sum up I will list the Pro’s and Con’s if choosing 1 Park Road for your Windermere stay.

Pro’s

Location
Nice Rooms
Good Food
Nice owners

Con’s

Very few but in fairness to tripadvisor readers I will mention a couple of niggles.

Towels only changed if you stay 3 days or more unless you ask and are charged at £5 per room. I have never come across that before in any hotel that I have stayed.
Drinks are a little expensive @ £3.75 a bottle upwards.

A note for us oldies:-

All sleeping accommodation is on floors one and two, so not ideal for anyone with walking difficulties.
Limited off street parking for 3 cars but the street has plenty of unrestricted parking.

Thank you Philip and Mary for your Hospitality.
Tom

Room Tip: Luxury rooms if available will give you a little more space. No 1 & No 6 are nice. Didn't se...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2OTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for 1 Park Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

1 Park Place is a wonderful and very charming small boutique-style hotel with the warmth and friendliness of a B&B. Philip and Mary were the perfect hosts and felt like old friends within a short time of meeting them. Their breakfasts rival those in any of the 5* hotels that we have stayed in; our rooms were very clean and comfortable with lovely White Company bathroom products and it was only a short walk into Windermere from the hotel.

Our children keep asking us when we can return and the answer has to be as soon as we can!
Sarah & Neil

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights at 1 park road and we can both easily say it was worth every penny. The hosts Philip and Mary were very welcoming. The rooms were very clean with all the amenities expected and more. Great range to choose from at breakfast. The calming, tranquil music playing in the background was a nice touch also.

P.s. Many thanks Mary for returning the p.j bottoms

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannythomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Had an absolutely grand stay. Made to feel at home straight away. Philip and Mary are the perfect host. Breakfast was a delight with probablybthe best scrambled eggs i have ever tasted. Room was very clean spacious. Would recommend this BnB to anyone. Will definitely be coming back in the future.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Deaneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

1 Park Road is a lovely place to stay,immaculate with nice little touches and lots of little extras.It is a real gem in a great location only a two minute walk to the restaurants and shops.Most of all our hosts Philip and Mary were very warm and welcoming and extremely helpful in suggesting the best places to eat and to visit.There was an impressive choice for breakfast which we enjoyed very much along with our little chats following . We would definitely recommend a stay here and look forward to returning time and time again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodandsandra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

1 Park Road is simply brilliant.

My GF and I had been faffing about where to book in the lakes and had looked around for ages for a hub for walking, eating and sleeping (a simple, relaxing week). We eventually settled on this hotel and the biggest compliment I can give it is when we come back to the Lakes we won't even consider looking anywhere else.

The location is excellent, you're a 5 second walk into town (it's literally down one short road) for any shops you need for morning paper/snacks/lunch stuff etc, with a superb selection of restaurants meaning you don't have to ever drive (go to Hooked, it's amazing).

It's a 60 second walk to an easy 30-40 minute walk for fantastic panoramic views (what a way to welcome yourself to the lakes), and within easy walk or a few minutes drive from many, many others. We had no idea what we were doing and Phillip was more than happy, every single morning, to give us as much information and tips on what we needed and which walks he would recommend. We ended up having amazing days every single day, seeing/experiencing walks we'd likely have missed ourselves.

The rooms are lovely and have a nice personality about them, all the facilities you'd need are there. It's quiet, no road noise (almost too quiet, I keep falling asleep). The breakfast has a great selection of fruits, cereals, choice of cooked breakfasts... far beyond what I expected and a great start to any day.

Overall I do not have a single complaint, and as other reviewers have said, Phillip and Mary are 2 of the nicest people you'd meet. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmeilyphace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Just to say what a fantastic little gem of a hotel. Both myself and my husband stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. From arrival we were made to feel welcome, Phillip and Mary couldn't have been more accommodating. The full English breakfast is to die for, especially the scrambled egg and locally sourced sausages. Overall we had an amazing time and loved our stay, we would definitely visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyandJames1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#36 of 107 in Windermere
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#61 of 107 in Windermere
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#14 of 107 in Windermere
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Park Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Park Road

Address: 1 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £79 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1 Park Road 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Park Road is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Windermere village. A recently refurbished former gentleman's residence that has a wonderful laid-back feel. 6 Spacious ensuite rooms with comfortable beds- three with king sized beds, flat screened TV's, DVD and Ipod docking stations. All rooms have The White Company soaps and bath robes and lotions from Pure Company. There is proper fresh coffee, tea pots and fresh milk- very important. We are fully licensed with an interesting selection of wines and bottled beers from around the world. We offer freshly cooked dinners at week ends and either cold meat or cheese platters the rest of the week- subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1 Park Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Park Road Hotel Windermere
1 Park Road Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing