We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and regenerated after our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1 Park Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1 Park Road
Ranked #34 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxed and regenerated after our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary at 1 Park Road. We were upgraded to a superior room and loved every minute!

There are all the general amenities provided (tea and coffee etc) but Philip and Mary went a step further providing local speciality tea and coffee. And also fresh milk instead of horrible UHT muck! Our room was set out for relaxation and was very clean and airy. The bed was very comfortable and big enough for two Lanks like us. We requested a cheese board on our arrival night and were delighted with the spread of local cheeses, as well as crusty bread, salad and handmade chutneys. Our free bottle of wine was gorgeous and went perfectly with the selection of cheeses.

Breakfast was varied and there was always freshly cut fruit. The location was very handy to Windermere town centre and Bowness was only a short walk. We ate at The Lighthouse in Windermere and had afternoon tea at The Macdonald hotel in Bowness, both to our liking! There are some gorgeous cocktails to be made at The Lighthouse.

Overall, we would definitely return to this friendly, warm and welcoming B&B!! Thank you Philip, Mary and Maggie!!

Joel & Lauri

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauriSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipBurton, Owner at 1 Park Road, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Great review- We do get a lot of couples celebrating their anniversary or booking 1 Park Road to celebrate a significant birthday.

Where we can we always offer an upgrade to one of our luxury rooms. As previous review point out the attention to detail is important- the fresh milk for example and providing a range of healthy options for breakfast- fresh cut fruit salad, yogurts, stewed rhubarb, Mary's famous marinated prunes in Earl Grey tea and cinnamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    65
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
64
293
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Having returned home from a weekend at 1 Park Road Windermere, I felt that I had to write a report to say how much I enjoyed my time there and to encourage others to stay there too.
Mary and Philip Burton do a fantastic job in the running of this establishment, with special touches like tea and cake on arrival . This I found to be very welcome after a long journey.
The guest house is situated right in the centre of Windermere within easy walking distance to lovely shops and some glorious restaurants which I sampled during my stay.
Their local knowledge is also excellent and can recommend some lovely places to visit.
A first class breakfast is served in their lovely dining room, and the atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed.
Well done Mary and Philip on doing such an excellent job of running this beautiful establishment

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipBurton, Owner at 1 Park Road, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Many thanks for your review

We are blessed with some wonderful local restaurants all within 5 minute walk. I don't know Ambleside or Keswick as well as the local rea but I think we have great quality choice in Winderemere and Bowness

See you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed at 1 Park Road for two nights in early January, as part of an anniversary getaway and a reward after both handing in our assignments. The place was beautiful and in immaculate condition, with the room much larger than expected and a lovely, comfortable bed. Philip and Mary were perfect hosts and as we went with the Secret Escapes package, we got a bottle of wine and a cheese platter when we arrived after a long motorway journey. We expected a small plate of stuff but got an entire tray of delights - a real treat! Breakfast on both mornings was wonderful with some of the nicest scrambled eggs and bacon I've ever had. Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely come back if we're around the area again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for 2 nights following a hectic family filled Christmas and New Year period in order to have some quality time together, Phillip and Mary were great hosts balancing their interaction with guests so as to be friendly and welcoming without being over bearing, food was excellent and cooked to order, local recommendations were fantastic and the accommodation perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Huge thanks to Philip, Mary and Maggie (both of them) for hosting a truly unforgettable New Year’s Eve celebration in the Lakes.

Our New Year’s Eve began with a prompt pick-up at Windermere Train Station – kindly provided by Mary - followed by the chance to reacquaint ourselves with the delights of Room 1 where we had stayed 12 months previously.

Featuring an ample king-size bed; brand-new leather couch; TV and DVD player; fluffy his-and-hers dressing gowns; the latest editions of glossy lifestyle magazines - plus a well-stocked tea and coffee tray - our every need was truly catered for.

The evening began on a high with homemade cider punch and gorgeous canapés in the residents’ lounge – beautifully decorated for Christmas with atmospheric ‘Big Band’ tunes in full swing. This was our first opportunity to meet our fellow guests. What a friendly and hospitable bunch they were! No worries here about awkward silences or stilted conversation as we made our leisurely selections from the perfectly-appointed wine and drinks menu before moving into the romantically-lit dining room for our four-course meal.

Philip and Mary had tempted our tastebuds well in advance – emailing us a variety of options to mull over in the run-up to Christmas. Every course trumped the last as we tucked into curried carrot soup; cheese soufflé; sea bass; a gin palate cleanser and sticky toffee pudding. In between courses we worked our way through trivia questions, which has been thoughtfully placed on the table for entertaining.

Then it was time to roll ourselves into the lounge ‘comfortably replete’ for the evening’s entertainment – old-fashioned parlour games!

No effort on the planning front had been spared as we worked (argued) our way through Maggie’s picture quiz; learned how to play the ‘Mickey Mouse Game’; debated the rules of the ‘Murder-Detective Game’ and tried to eat After Eights by squirming them down our faces!

At the stroke of midnight there was champagne (included in the price) and a stroll out onto the porch to watch fireworks explode across Windermere. My husband – owing to his dark-haired curls - was nominated for First Footing duties and earned a lump of coal and a shot of whiskey for his trouble.

The following morning Philip led us on a bracing walk round the edge of the Lake before returning to 1 Park Road for Buck’s Fizz and brunch. Talk about starting 2014 on a high!
That evening we indulged in one of Philip’s fantastic platters with fruit beers in our room – an absolute bargain at only £16 per person – while sampling the latest DVD releases from the free DVD library.

When we got peckish later on we tiptoed downstairs in our dressing gowns to enquire after some crisps. Something of a crisp connoisseur we were treated to a sample from Philip’s own collection.

After so much fun and luxury it was a wrench to return to the ‘real world’ on 2 January, but our dismay is tempered by the knowledge we will be returning soon to indulge once again in Philip and Mary’s wonderful company and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Writer_Gurl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Julia and I have just returned from a new year break at number 1. Slightly apprehensive whilst travelling there unsure what to expect, but no need...... Fantastic hosts, gorgeous food and a most enjoyable new years eve, our faces are still aching from all the laughter.

Our hosts Philip and Mary, with the assistance of Maggie went out of their way to make us feel welcome, (including foxy our dog) just like long lost friends. We enjoyed so much that we extended our two night stay to three and will certainly be returning.

Mark, Julia and Foxy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I spent one night at 1 Park Road and we would be happy to recommend this B&B to friends. The charming hotel was very clean, had lovely rooms, breakfast was excellent and the hosts were very welcoming. We hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#37 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#13 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Park Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Park Road

Property: 1 Park Road
Address: 1 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 1 Park Road 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Park Road is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Windermere village. A recently refurbished former gentleman's residence that has a wonderful laid-back feel. 6 Spacious ensuite rooms with comfortable beds- three with king sized beds, flat screened TV's, DVD and Ipod docking stations. All rooms have The White Company soaps and bath robes and lotions from Pure Company. There is proper fresh coffee, tea pots and fresh milk- very important. We are fully licensed with an interesting selection of wines and bottled beers from around the world. We offer freshly cooked dinners at week ends and either cold meat or cheese platters the rest of the week- subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1 Park Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Park Road Hotel Windermere
1 Park Road Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing