We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1 Park Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1 Park Road
Ranked #36 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Just had a great weekend at 1 Park Road. From the greeting by Phil with a platter of meat and salad to Mary being bright and cheerful at breakfast. To top it off they sent by MP3 which I left in the room back to me the very next day. I would recommend staying here. You won't be dissapointed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martymc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    66
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
64
297
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a very relaxing weekend in The Lakes. We booked 1 Park Road as a Groupon Deal and were not disappointed. Philip & Mary were excellent hosts and the room was spacious with everything we needed. Breakfasts were wonderful with lots of choice, we ate full English both days to prepare us for our hikes in Grasmere and Ambleside. We had a meat platter as part of the deal which was very tasty with my husband trying one of Philips speciality beers which he enjoyed. Ate in windermere the first night at Hooked which was amazing and travelled to Ambleside to Jintara for Thai food the second. Very good location to stay, close to other villages and lots of walking choices nearby. We would recommend 1 Park Road to anyone, lovely stay thanks to Philip and Mary.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nieldsgroupies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights at 1Park Road and both my wife and I throughly enjoyed it. The hosts, Phil and Mary were both warming and friendly and loads of info for the area. The room was very pleasant and had everything we required. The home cooked breakfast was plentiful and with cereal or fruit to start with there is an excellent choice. The hotel is an excellent choice for anyone stopping in the Lake District. It's not a question of if we return but when.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank craigkaren23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in feb 2014. We felt immediately welcomed by owners; Philip and Mary who were helpful and knowledgable on the local area and suggested a few good places to eat. We stayed in a luxury room which was worth the upgrade cost. We liked the little extras such as free bottled water, hot chocolate, iPod docking station, DVD player and complimentary hand lotions. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and Philip & Mary catered well for me as a (complicated) vegetarian with a wheat intolerance.
It's worth noting the location before you visit.... It's in a quiet residential area so not masses of bars/shops etc on the doorstep. We were greatful we had the car although it was not necessary if you don't mind long walks.
Would highly recommended this B&B for a Windermere stay.... Make sure you make time to say hello to Maggie the friendly dog :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzibrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

From the minute we stepped through the door we received a very warm welcome from Philip & Mary. We were offered tea/coffee & Mary's delicious home made cake and enjoyed it chattering to Philip in the lovely lounge. The room we had (room. 4) was very clean, spacious & extremely comfortable. We both slept so well. There were some lovely homely touches provided & everything from the delicious food, refreshments in the room and the toiletries were of the highest quality. Philip & Mary were wonderful hosts and we would not hesitate in recommending their lovely guest house to travellers. The guest house is perfectly located just a few mins walk from the centre of Windermere. A big thank you Philip & Mary for making our stay with you such an enjoyable one - we'll definitely be staying with you again !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went to 1 Park Road in January this year and had a fantastic weekend. My girlfriend had organised the weekend for me for my birthday as a surprise and had liaised with Phillip via Email prior to our arrival. When we arrived on the Saturday early afternoon we were greeted by Mary and shown to our room. We had room 5 I believe and it is was very nice with more than adequate facilities and comfort. We then had a meat platter in the lounge area (which was delicious!). We then chatted to Mary and Phillip about where we are from as they know the same areas. Off out in to Windermere and then back for shower and change for a fantastic 3 course meal in their restaurant that evening. Great food and great service! The next day was my birthday and the breakfast the next day was equally delicious with the added bonus of the menus wishing me a 'happy birthday' at the top! A fantastic touch! Had a great day walking into Bowness which is not far and taking the ferry across to the car museum. Went out to a local restaurant on the Sunday night and we're advised by Phillip and Mary of which cab firm to use. Final day and checkout as ever breakfast and hospitality excellent. I really like the location of the bed and breakfast, the decor, facilities and the DVD collection! But the best thing about 1 Park Road is without doubt Phillip and Mary! They are what makes your stay! We will definitely be coming back very soon!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern england
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed at Here for 2 nights this week and had a lovely stay .
Phillip and Mary are lovely hosts and made us feel so welcome .
We had the meat platter with salad and crisps it was delicious also we each had one of Phil's beers which went down a treat .
The breakfast was lovely with fruit and yoghurt to start and the cooked bacon and eggs was cooked to perfection top marks to you both for everything .
We will definitely be returning as this is one of the best B/B we have stayed in and we have stayed in quite a few .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucygemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#39 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#15 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Park Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Park Road

Property: 1 Park Road
Address: 1 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — 1 Park Road 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Park Road is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Windermere village. A recently refurbished former gentleman's residence that has a wonderful laid-back feel. 6 Spacious ensuite rooms with comfortable beds- three with king sized beds, flat screened TV's, DVD and Ipod docking stations. All rooms have The White Company soaps and bath robes and lotions from Pure Company. There is proper fresh coffee, tea pots and fresh milk- very important. We are fully licensed with an interesting selection of wines and bottled beers from around the world. We offer freshly cooked dinners at week ends and either cold meat or cheese platters the rest of the week- subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1 Park Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Park Road Hotel Windermere
1 Park Road Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing