We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room and friendly environemnt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambridge House Guest House
Ranked #11 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean room and friendly environemnt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and everything's great. Good to have a wide choice of DVDs to choose from so we didn't feel bored at night.
Debbie was very helpful, gave us advice on finding hiking routes etc.
However, I do think the room rate is expensive. Maybe this is the same for other accommodations in Windermere =(

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ckyl501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and use of the DVD's. We are sorry that you felt the rate was expensive, this however is the standard rate for accommodation inside the national park, we have a prime location, right in the centre of Windermere, 2 or 3 minutes from shops, bars etc., and only a few minutes from the station - the price you paid included breakfast, flat screen TV, DVD player free use of DVD library, free use of leisure facilities at the old England spa, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee, a complimentary toiletries, also location is key. Perhaps you could have got cheaper outside the National Park, but inside it is a little higher as we all have higher running costs, rates are higher, property prices are higher and so we have to take this into account when pricing, we use the Cumbria Tourist Board price guide, and prices will always be higher in a prime location - centre of London prices are higher than the outskirts, centre of New York prices will be higher than the outskirts, you are paying for the location - location is key :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    50
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
142
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here as going to a wedding in troutbeck at 15:00 and Debbie was so good and let us check in early to get ready for the wedding which was brillant . Room was compact but very comfy bed and pillows and room had everything in that you needed even corkscrew .Breakfast was lovely all cooked to order could not fault anything ,made to feel very welcome and Debbie was so helpful in everything ,would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hack55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We always try and be flexible with check in times, as all our guests circumstances are different, I am very pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs. It is a pleasure to meet nice upbeat people, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - thank you for taking the time to do the review feedback is very important to us - we hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Nice stay. Good location. The breakfasts would benefit from having local produce and I think the tea (beverage) was a bit disappointing. It could take a while to find a parking spot I would imagine. The room was an OK size, the bed comfy and it was clean. There are some really lovely restaurants very close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay - I am not too sure what you mean by "Tea was disappointing" we use typhoo breakfast tea bags, we have earl grey, lady grey, mint tea, fruit tea & decaf - the breakfast is sourced locally, free range eggs, fresh fruit, cakes, cheeses, bread is Kingsmill, choice of branded cereals - I would go as far as to say that we offer as good a breakfast as anywhere in the area, and it is cooked fresh to order, as much as you want. Parking does not tend to be an issue, it is of course busy as we are a village centre location , but we have parking permits free of charge, that allow parking in the restricted area's - there is unrestricted parking less than a 2 minute walk away and after 5 pm every day the restrictions lift (only residents only bays do not lift and we have permits for these) and as long as you are not on yellow lines or in a disabled bay you can park anywhere in the area until 10 am the next day, the parking is more than adequate. Thank you for raising the points in your review, it allows for an informed choice when people are selecting a place to stay, and I hope my reply covers you points adequately, thank you again for taking the time to do the review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Cambridge House at the end of May. One of the most comfortable places we've stayed at and better than most hotels we've been to. Extremely friendly hosts, and a very comfortable, clean, and pretty room. Breakfast was absolutly lovely with a vast selection to choose from. We definitely recommend this place and it would be our first choice of stay if we visit Windermere again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamsyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just got home from a lovely weekend here. We arrived about 7.30pm on Friday and Debbie kindly gave us her parking space due to the limited parking. Debbie was very friendly and welcoming, the room was cosy and comfortable and a nice breakfast with lots to choose from. Thanks for a lovely stay, we will definitely be returning x

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at Cambridge House for 2 nights during June 2013 for our first years wedding anniversary. As soon as we got there we couldn't have felt more welcome. Debbie greeted us at the door, and straight away sorted us out with our lovely room, and free high street parking.
The room was just right for the 2 of us, and the bed was so comfortable!!! We had an en-suite room, and the shower was delightful. There was satellite TV in the room, along with a DVD player and a large selection of free DVDs on the landing area.
The room, and whole house was very clean, and there was information displayed everywhere to help you with your stay. The breakfast was lovely, and you could have as much as you wanted, which was good when we had a full day of cycling ahead of us!
Debbie was very helpful with any queries we had, and couldn't have been nicer, even offering us discount on our next stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Windermere and believe that a lot of this is down to the great experience we had at Cambridge house.

Thank you Debbie, and we look forward to seeing you again one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Manager at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, - thank you for taking the time to do the review for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again in the future - Debbie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

It's our first visit to lake district. I found most B&B were more expensive than I expected. I contacted Debbie directly via email and she gave me an offer for the triple room two nights (I booked one month in advance).

The room was pretty with a single bed and a double bed (actually 2 single beds next to each other). The bathroom was spacious and very clean. The location was convenient -10 mins walk from the train station, and a Co-op and post office just around the corner.

The breakfast was nice with different choices. The only tiny thing that disappointed us was the coffee - The "coffee bag" tasted a little funny, so the second morning we chose tea.

Debbie was very helpful and replied emails promptly. The restaurant "Lazy Daisy" nearby she recommended had really nice food.

We had a wonderful stay here! Thank you Debbie! :)

Room Tip: For B&B, often the owners would give you better price than online booking systems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrganicCarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do the review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay - the triple room you booked, is also the family room - when you stayed it was set as 3 single beds, 2 of the beds next to each other - it is also a zip a link super king-size and a twin - it is a very flexible room. The coffee bags are a high quality coffee and quite expensive and seem to be being received very well, I think just because its a new idea, it seems odd :) - the reason we have tried it is because people's taste is so varying we thought this way it more personal choice the coffee is made by Lyons http://lyonscoffeeuk.com/ (not sure if trip advisor will allow the link to stay on), but you can click and see it is the finest quality and right up to date - I am sorry you did not enjoy it, and had you said I could have offered another coffee, we have Nescafé as well. Windermere is in the centre of the National Park, and as such any guest houses and hotels are more expensive that some other areas - it cost more to have a business here :) but you are correct sometimes it is best to call direct or email as there is a possibility that the owners can be more flexible with the price, on line is often fixed months in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Guest House

Property: Cambridge House Guest House
Address: 9 Oak Street, Windermere LA23 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge House Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a small family run guest house built in the lakeland style by the Victorians in 1873, a former gentleman's residence with many original features. All rooms are en-suite and decorated with your comfort in mind, rooms feature the latest flat screen TV/DVD free use of DVD library - all rooms have CD/Radio, free WI-FI, alarm, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, toiletries, some having fridges and a continued upgrade plan in place. Please note that the rate also includes free use of leisure facilities approx 1 mile from the guest house. Please enquire about our 2 bedroom self-catering accommodation in Bowness called Revel Stones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing