We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cambridge House Guest House
Ranked #15 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed by myself for three nights from 30th November. Debbie was very welcoming and charming from the moment she opened the door! The room was cozy and comfortable with a full size bed. I enjoyed the hearty & tasty full English breakfast every morning, which definitely is one of the perks of staying at such a lovely B&B. Finally, this guesthouse is located in such a prime location, it was so easy to walk to everywhere: the Windermere train station, a whole range of great restaurants, supermarkets, Orrest Head, and the Lake Windermere. I would definitely go back, perhaps with a company next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I am pleased I put you at ease on your arrival - we are glad you liked Cambridge House, the location and the service we provide, it really does mean so much to us that people leave with and positive experience and good memories - I look forward to seeing you again xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    50
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
140
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and myself have just stayed for three nights, at this lovely guest house. The room was on suite, good size kingsize bed, very comfortable!
The food at breakfast was excellent, you could have as much as you wanted. There was everything on the menu you could think of. Nothing was too much trouble for Debbie. Busy area, but it was very peaceful. Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
It was so nice to meet you, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we provide, have a lovely Christmas & New Year and hopefully we will see you again in the new year.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived very early from Carlisle but were welcomed in ! We dropped off our belongings and took a 20 minute walk down to the lake which was beautiful even in the drizzle and then the sun came out and it was stunning.
Back to our accommodation and our bags were in our room. Everything you could ever need and lovely and warm with comfortable twin beds. Breakfast was plentiful and you literally pick whichever hot food you want as well as toast, cereal and yoghurts !
The service we received was fantastic throughout our stay and the landlady was very helpful..would stay here again, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maisylill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it is so nice to know that people are leaving with a positive experience. You had advised me of your early arrival, so I was prepared, we do try and be as flexible as we can with arrival times, especially when guests are arriving on public transport. We are pleased you liked the room and the breakfast, and it was a pleasure to meet you. Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

My Dad and I stayed here for three nights on a recent trip to Windermere for a walking holiday. The room was a great size, clean and well Maintained. Debbie was a great hostess and nothing was too much trouble for her or Dave. When we asked about walks nearby we were provided with a map and recommendations Of Some of the Best and when they found out we needed to be leaving earlier we were also offered an early breakfast. Breakfast was a good size and high quality which set us up brilliantly for the day of activity ahead! Finally, the use of the swimming Pool and Spa was also great to relax aching Muscles after a day walking. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a great place to stay when visiting the Lakes to anyone and would hope to stay here again. Thanks again Debbie and Dave for a great stay and for being So helpful and friendly while we were there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we always want to make our guests feel welcome, and try our very best to ensure your experience with us is a positive one. It is so nice to know that you left us with good memories of us and the lake district. We hope very much to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay here. Debbie was very helpful and hospitable. Very comfortable room with lovely bed linen and towels. Breakfast choices very good. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a central location for the Lakes.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very large, with a massive double bed. However shower room very tiny. Room was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - Given that we are town centre location is very quiet here, we have the occasional delivery to the co-op over the road which only tends to be once a day, other than that it is a very quiet spot. I notice in the tips you have said the shower room is tiny - we are sorry you felt that, but it is s standard size shower, toilet and wash basin - the house was built in 1873, when en-suites had not even been thought of, so they have been added on over the years. We have had to work within the sizes of the rooms, they are standard en-suites that afford guests their own private facilities with encroaching too much on the size of the room, which has meant we have had to keep them to practical size, not the same size as your family bathroom at home. Glad you enjoyed your stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was our third stay here and once again we enjoyed Debbie and Dave's hospitality, huge local knowledge and their knack of making you feel at home as soon as you arrive. Our room was comfortable, clean and all you could ever need for a couple of days in this stunningly beautiful Lakeland setting.
Parking is never a problem and we were right in the centre of Winderemere, so no problem with finding shops, restaurants, pubs etc.
We had a lovely time and yes, look forward to coming back!
Mike & Rita, John & Kim xxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
It was so nice to see you and lovely family again at Cambridge House, such a lovely laid back family that is a pleasure to have stay with us - we look forward to seeing you all again next year - thank you for taking the time to do the review x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I recently spent a couple nights at the Cambridge House and it was wonderful. We had the downstairs apartment which had lots of room for us to relax in. The breakfast was tasty and the owner Debbie was amazing. Very hospitable, friendly, and willing to help us with anything we needed. A good DVD library and just a clean, comfortable place to stay. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate you taking the time to do the review - thanks again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#12 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Guest House

Property: Cambridge House Guest House
Address: 9 Oak Street, Windermere LA23 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge House Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a small family run guest house built in the lakeland style by the Victorians in 1873, a former gentleman's residence with many original features. All rooms are en-suite and decorated with your comfort in mind, rooms feature the latest flat screen TV/DVD with comlimentary satellite channels & free use of DVD library - all rooms have CD/Radio, free WI-FI, alarm, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, toiletries. Please note that the rate also includes free use of leisure facilities approx 1 mile from the guest house. Please enquire about our 2 bedroom self-catering accommodation in Bowness called Revel Stones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing