We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge House Guest House
Ranked #11 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and Lovely.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I spent three nights at Cambridge Guest House. The location is absolutely perfect if you are taking train. The guest room was comfortable with free WIFI and DVD. The breakfast served with Latte and Cappuccino which surprised me a lot. With Debbie's hospitality, we had a great time in our Christmas vacation. The best we had is that our train left late on the day we left, and Debbie kept us and our luggage in the lovely dinning room for no cost, especially it was quite windy and rainy out there. Come back again? I will say yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our coffee selection :) we never charge extra for leaving luggage - pleased you enjoyed the facility of waiting in our dining room until you were ready to leave for your train, we never charge for this facility. It was very nice to meet you, you were very friendly and upbeat and its always a pleasure to meet people who are like that :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    55
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
146
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It's a comfortable place for friends or couples!
The breakfast here was great! You can enjoy a full traditional british breakfast.
They also offer many DVDs in case you get bored at night!
good location from train staion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellytigerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay thank you for taking the time to do a review feedback is very important to us. It was very nice to meet you - thank you x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My girlfriend and I have just spent 3 nights from the 17th December. As soon as we arrived we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Debbie and her husband we so friendly and we always felt so welcome. The breakfast was extremely tasty and perfectly cooked. As with many of the other reviews, the scrambled eggs were the best I have ever tasted! Debbie remembered what we drank in the morning.

The weather during our trip was terrible so our previous plans couldn't be carried out but Debbie spent a fair bit of time, each morning, to ensure we knew what we could do in the weather. She even gave us a really lovely walk near some waterfalls that wasn't in the guide books but just gave it to us on a small map.

I would not hesitate to go back to Cambridge house if I was ever back near windermere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the knowledge we have of little tucked away walks came in useful in the wet weather. It was a real pleasure to meet you both, a charming young couple, and we hope to see you again in the future x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed by myself for three nights from 30th November. Debbie was very welcoming and charming from the moment she opened the door! The room was cozy and comfortable with a full size bed. I enjoyed the hearty & tasty full English breakfast every morning, which definitely is one of the perks of staying at such a lovely B&B. Finally, this guesthouse is located in such a prime location, it was so easy to walk to everywhere: the Windermere train station, a whole range of great restaurants, supermarkets, Orrest Head, and the Lake Windermere. I would definitely go back, perhaps with a company next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I am pleased I put you at ease on your arrival - we are glad you liked Cambridge House, the location and the service we provide, it really does mean so much to us that people leave with and positive experience and good memories - I look forward to seeing you again xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and myself have just stayed for three nights, at this lovely guest house. The room was on suite, good size kingsize bed, very comfortable!
The food at breakfast was excellent, you could have as much as you wanted. There was everything on the menu you could think of. Nothing was too much trouble for Debbie. Busy area, but it was very peaceful. Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
It was so nice to meet you, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we provide, have a lovely Christmas & New Year and hopefully we will see you again in the new year.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived very early from Carlisle but were welcomed in ! We dropped off our belongings and took a 20 minute walk down to the lake which was beautiful even in the drizzle and then the sun came out and it was stunning.
Back to our accommodation and our bags were in our room. Everything you could ever need and lovely and warm with comfortable twin beds. Breakfast was plentiful and you literally pick whichever hot food you want as well as toast, cereal and yoghurts !
The service we received was fantastic throughout our stay and the landlady was very helpful..would stay here again, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maisylill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it is so nice to know that people are leaving with a positive experience. You had advised me of your early arrival, so I was prepared, we do try and be as flexible as we can with arrival times, especially when guests are arriving on public transport. We are pleased you liked the room and the breakfast, and it was a pleasure to meet you. Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

My Dad and I stayed here for three nights on a recent trip to Windermere for a walking holiday. The room was a great size, clean and well Maintained. Debbie was a great hostess and nothing was too much trouble for her or Dave. When we asked about walks nearby we were provided with a map and recommendations Of Some of the Best and when they found out we needed to be leaving earlier we were also offered an early breakfast. Breakfast was a good size and high quality which set us up brilliantly for the day of activity ahead! Finally, the use of the swimming Pool and Spa was also great to relax aching Muscles after a day walking. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a great place to stay when visiting the Lakes to anyone and would hope to stay here again. Thanks again Debbie and Dave for a great stay and for being So helpful and friendly while we were there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we always want to make our guests feel welcome, and try our very best to ensure your experience with us is a positive one. It is so nice to know that you left us with good memories of us and the lake district. We hope very much to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 108 in Windermere
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Guest House

Property: Cambridge House Guest House
Address: 9 Oak Street, Windermere LA23 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge House Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a small family run guest house built in the lakeland style by the Victorians in 1873, a former gentleman's residence with many original features. All rooms are en-suite and decorated with your comfort in mind, rooms feature the latest flat screen TV/DVD free use of DVD library - all rooms have CD/Radio, free WI-FI, alarm, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, toiletries, some having fridges and a continued upgrade plan in place. Please note that the rate also includes free use of leisure facilities approx 1 mile from the guest house. Please enquire about our 2 bedroom self-catering accommodation in Bowness called Revel Stones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing