We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cambridge House Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
223
59
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
59
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationparking permitb bnice breakfastlake districtdvd collectiontrain stationspent three nightsfree passlovely hostslovely guesthousecentral locationnice stayhigh streetthe bank holiday weekendenglish breakfastbars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Sean M
We arrived on a cold windy Friday night to a warming cosy room, which exuded charm and welcome. Debbie the owner gave us the option to change rooms to a bigger room with a massive bed. She was warm and friendly without being in your face. The breakfasts were great and had plenty of choice. The house is near the centre and a short walk from places to eat and local pubs. You also get the use of a gym in Bowness a long walk (25mins) or short drive (4mins)away, which is included in the cost of the B&B. Its at a rather nice hotel The Old England where you can sit afterwards and enjoy the luxury lounge and coffee.
All in all an excellent stay and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we provide. I hope to see you again in the future x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed for four nights in January and loved it! The B&B is a few minutes walk from the train station and is right in the heart of Windermere town. It's off the main street (unlike so many guest houses in the area) so you won't be bothered by road noise. The actual lake is about 25 minutes walk away but it's a very pleasant walk and there are buses if you don't fancy walking. Loads of great hikes around Windermere itself.

We had a very warm welcome from Debbie, she is a great host and had lots of suggestions for walks to do and restaurants to visit. The rooms are very nicely decorated with modern, quality furnishings and decor. We had Room 6, a small double, and were surprised by the space we had. It was more than enough for two people + luggage. The bed was large and very comfortable, the bathroom was small but was very clean and did the job! The room has tea and coffee making facilities and also had a TV / DVD player with a great selection of recent films to watch. Good wi-fi coverage throughout the room and the house as well.

The breakfast is fantastic, really great quality and lots of it! You can choose from several cooked options and cereal / toast / fruit as well. Excellent breakfast! The breakfast slot is between 8.30 and 9.15am which is a little narrow but we didn't mind and worked around it. It's worth it for the breakfast you get!

It is a great B&B and provides excellent value for money. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank 107kazbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi thanks for your review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Just for clarification room 6 is a standard double, with a king-size bed, is larger than the small double you had booked, but as we were quiet we gave you the bigger room free of charge - I am pleased you felt there was plenty of room for you and your luggage.

Dave and I run Cambridge House between us, and we wear many hats, chefs, waiting staff, reception, cleaners, admin & much more - basically anything involved in the running of our business - this is why breakfast is served from 8.30-9.15 (which is standard in most B&Bs) as we have to get on with other duties once breakfast service is finished. We find this is a good neutral time that people are happy with, as some people like a early breakfast and some later - this is a good mid range time :)

It really was very nice to meet you, and thank you very much for taking the time to do a review, it is very important to us to know that our guests are leaving happy.

We hope to see you again - Debbie & Dave xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We received a very warm welcome from the owner when we arrived! It was our first visit and she was very helpful with recommending nice walks, pubs and restaurants to try! B&B itself was in a great location and very reasonably priced! Will definitely look to stay here again if we return to Windermere!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GeorgeOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you have taken the time to do the review, it really is very important to us to have feedback. We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My boyfriend and I have just spent 2 nights at this b&b, we have been coming for the last 4 years, enjoying our stay more and more each time! Debbie & Dave are very welcoming, the rooms are clean modern and comfortable all en suite. The breakfasts are amazing! You can choose what you want the night before and this is cooked fresh the following morning alongside toast, cereals, yogurts, fruit and juices. Nothing is too much trouble if you have any requests and they are happy to help with any queries you may have. All rooms have a DVD player and there is a wide range of films in the DVD libary which you can help yourself with. Parking permits are available - so free parking is another bonus! It is in a great location - short drive to mountain ranges where we enjoy walking, nice cocktail bar around the corner and plenty of great restaurants to choose from either in Windermere or Bowness. Fantastic rates and we would recommend here to anyone! We look forward to staying with you again - see you next year! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammy2297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your review - it has been lovely seeing you each year, such a nice couple and it is so nice to see our guests coming back and we pleased that we have so many lovely returning guests. we look forward to seeing you both again next year, have a great 2014 xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I spent three nights at Cambridge Guest House. The location is absolutely perfect if you are taking train. The guest room was comfortable with free WIFI and DVD. The breakfast served with Latte and Cappuccino which surprised me a lot. With Debbie's hospitality, we had a great time in our Christmas vacation. The best we had is that our train left late on the day we left, and Debbie kept us and our luggage in the lovely dinning room for no cost, especially it was quite windy and rainy out there. Come back again? I will say yes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our coffee selection :) we never charge extra for leaving luggage - pleased you enjoyed the facility of waiting in our dining room until you were ready to leave for your train, we never charge for this facility. It was very nice to meet you, you were very friendly and upbeat and its always a pleasure to meet people who are like that :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews