We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's the way to do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #28 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at the Denehurst for a weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed it, apart from the flippin' rain! Still had a great time though. The Denehurst is a very friendly place to stay, Cindy and Ken are lovely people who can't do enough for you, they gave us ideas of places to visit and even lent us a map of the area, the B&B is spotlessly clean and the rooms are lovely, very comfortable with everything you need, right down to a cherry blossom shoe polish in the drawer! it does everything it says on the tine and great value for money, the breakfast was lovely too with plenty of choice and everything cooked fresh. Ideally situated for a very short walk into Bowness or Windermere. Very highly recommended and would definitely stay here again in a heart beat. Thank you for a lovely stay with such a warm, genuine, friendly welcome. Lots of little extras like sweets in your room, lovely good quality hand wash and shower gel, tea, coffee AND hot chocolate and biscuits.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have stayed in many B&B's but this has to be the cleanest, comfiest, friendliest one ever. Had a superior room with a comfy kingsize bed & egyptian cotton bedding. Little touches like the bathrobes & Eden products made it feel special. A B&B that actually has mirrors near plug sockets to dry your hair!(can't believe how many forget this important detail). Fabulous breakfast & wish we could have stayed longer to try everything on the menu! 10 minutes walk into Windermere or Bowness. Endless local restaurant's to choose from. Parked on the street & didn't use our car for the few days we were there as everything we wanted was within walking distance including boat cruises from Bowness. Friendly & informative hosts. Well worth the money & would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezza642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The description B&B does not do justice to this superb guest house. Our party of 5 family members spent 2 days in Denehurst and was overwhelmed by the warm welcome on our arrival by the owners Cindy and Ken. Our room was of a very high standard of cleanliness. The beds were very comfortable and the room was nice and warm. There was an excellent choice for breakfast, well cooked and presented. Cindy and Ken made us very welcome throughout our short stay and we would highly recommend Denehurst to everybody.
Jeanette and John Warner 7th February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was Marks first experience of The Lake District, so I wanted to booked somewhere special, and it was also Marks Birthday weekend, and Denehurst Guesthouse could not have been more wonderful. On arrival Ken greeted us, and was more than helpful with information on where the Guesthouse was situated, ideally between Windermere and Bowness, the facilities on offer, a wonderful information pack as to where to dine, local walks etc. Our room was wonderful cleanliness exceptional, and a fabulous comfy bed you just sank into.
Five star breakfast awaited us the next morning, freshly cooked to your preference, and Ken and Cindy were expectionall hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended, just brilliant from start to finish.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We've just returned from a short break in Windermere. I booked the B&B over the internet thru a third party website. I looked at the reviews didn't go for the cheap and cheerful, but wanted somewhere that suited our expectations. Unfortunately we've encountered the good, bad and ugly of last minute bookings, where the reviews bare no resemblance to the reality.
So Denehurst, B&B came along, or more importantly Cindy & Ken the owners, we arrived early just after 10am. We parked up, got to use the facilities as required, was given all the information about house, local area etc in a lovely professional way, by people who care about the detail.
The guest house is spotlessly clean, decorated to suit a property 120 years old, the rooms give a sense of relaxation. All the usual accoutrements are available and more, the dressing gowns are super for just kicking back after a great shower after the long walk.
The breakfast is selected the night before and is 5star, cooked to order, fresh and truly magnificent.
It's situated right between Bowness and Windermere 10 minutes either way gets you into the
action.
So to sum up; superb B&B, fantastic hosts, and truly magnificent surroundings.
We have made some new friends and will return very soon but will go direct because for the effort and care given deserves 100% of the rewards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazza1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The hosts of this well maintained and spotlessly clean establishment make it a visit to remember. Ken and Cindy simply cannot do enough to make your stay a happy one. Would recommend this place to anyone. Only negative is the street parking can be a bit of a hassle.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank LindaJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My sister and I stayed three nights at this cozy, comfortable guest house that is located appropriately on Queens Drive. We felt very 'queenly' during our stay in this beautiful region of England. Our hosts were not only gracious and great masters at superb breakfasts [served in a delightful breakfast room], but also gave us fantastic suggestions re what to see in the area and beyond--as we were headed to Scotland. They were especially good at matching our interests with the sites in the area that were available. Our room was immaculate and the ambiance delightful. There is a common room with wonderful reads about the famous who have enjoyed this amazing countryside. We walked to excellent restaurants in both Windermere and Bowness. If I am fortunate enough to return to this area, this will be my home away from home. Karen Ulmer Dorsch

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#8 of 107 in Windermere
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#23 of 107 in Windermere
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#30 of 107 in Windermere
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £82 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing