We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denehurst Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #17 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Great place to stay if you want a relaxing place to unwind. Owners very helpful.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
197
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staffs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

We went to the Lakes for my husbands 60th Birthday with our daughter and her partner. This was the first time we had stayed at the Denehurst and we recommend it most highly. The owners Cindy and Ken were lovely people and made us feel at home straight away the service they provided was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. The bedrooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu, and by request a packed lunch was provided. The guest house was about 10mins. walk to Bowness and Windermere. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights here and would definitely stay their again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevostaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

We really can't fault Denehurst. My husband and I went away for our 'summer' holiday - although it rained all week but it didn't matter because our accomodation was absoloutly brilliant! Ken and Cindy made us feel totally at home, the breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were lovely and clean with lots of personal touches. We would recomend this b&b to anyone wanting a clean, comfortable, friendly, modern, place to stay. We'll go back one day but sadly they don't take children and we'll have a baby next time we're in Windermere!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benamy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

I booked this B&B for my husbands 30th birthday and from the minute I contacted the hotel they could not have been more helpful. I booked the four poster room and they arranged chocolates and champagne in the room at a small extra charge, which was very reasonable, as during our stay I found the chocolates in a shop and realised how expensive they were! Ken and Cindy (the owners) even booked us a table at the Postillion restaurant before our arrival after providing us with a list of recommended restaurants in the area. Their recommendation was superb and I would highly recommend this to others. Immediately upon our arrival we were asked if we would like a cup of tea or coffee, however as we were going straight out we declined this and were then offered a flask of coffee to take with us. Since returning home we have recommeded this B&B to more family and friends. If you want to stay in a B&B that has a nice homely feel and where the staff are very helpful then look no futher than Denehurst. We will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CramlingtonKaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

Lovely house, the room was clean & comfortable. Breakfast could have been better, I found the bacon was tastless & over cooked, my husbands scrambled eggs were also hard & overcooked. The toast was burnt and inedible, we requested more but it never came.
We found the owners to be overpowering & loud, this has made me feel that I now prefer the annoniminity of a large Hotel as we were asked to provide information about ourselves that I wasn't happy with, for example we were addressed by our christian names for the duration of our stay, we both found this rather odd as we had never met these people before.
The house is situated off the main road, but is in walking distance of all ameneties.
This was our first experience of a B&B and we were both dissatisfied with the overall experience.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfasts
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thelmaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

Denehurst guesthouse was the first place I took my now husband to for a romantic weekend away in 2001 and although the owners have now changed it will always be a special place.
It is located in Bowness (10mins walk from town) and you have so many attractions within a 5 minute walk or an hour's drive -great walks, boat trips on Windermere, drives through the 'passes' of the Cumbrian peaks, great restaurants and proper English pubs and more 'outdoor' shops than you will ever need but still have to visit!
The B&B is relaxation and quality at it's best, the then and now owners are welcoming yet non-intrusive and you immediately feel at home. The bedrooms (we've stayed in most) are spacious, comfortable and have all the facilities you need to enjoy a great stay.
The breakfasts are amazing whether you want something light or something to set you up for a long day walking and the veggie options are fab!
We have enjoyed ourselves on every visit and even more so last year when my husband proposed to me on the pebbled edge of Lake Windermere - that romantic getaway all those years ago has shaped our lives together and I hope Denehurst will be around for many year to come.

  • Liked — Welcoming, comfortable, fabulous breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spirit983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

This is the first time I've written a review on Trip Advisor, as I was so impressed with our stay at Denehurst, I felt compelled to let others know. Ken and Cindy make you feel at home immediately, with a pot of tea and biscuits on your arrival. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and extremely clean. The breakfast is very yummy, with lots of choice. Ken and Cindy are the perfect hosts, friendly, personable and always willing to share their local knowledge, even giving out a local map.
I don't have anything negative to say about Denehurst, if you are considering staying at Lake District, then you wouldn't be disappointed with your stay at Denehurst.

  • Liked — The host's - Ken and Cindy
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Property: Denehurst Guest House
Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing