We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #21 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and could not have been happier with our choice. Ken and Cindy were great hosts. The breakfasts were wonderful and the room very comfortable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkStrollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
204
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2009

One of the best guesthouse i have ever been to, we had a great time, room was fantastic, breakfast was grand, all the recommendations from resturants/walks/things to do were excellent. Ken and Cindy were very hospitable, i would highly recommend the guesthouse and will surely be returning back sometime in 2010 =)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totohorsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Ken & Cindy are the ultimate hosts. From the start, they were friendly and full of advice. A lift from the station was greatly appreciated. Denehurst is quietly tucked away from the main road, but a short stroll into Bowness and Windermere. Our room was nicely decorated and the four-poster bed gives a sense of luxury. The en-suite was pleasant, with delightful complimentary toiletries.

Breakfast was a wonderful affair which a large choice. We can particularly recommend the pancakes with maple syrup and the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs - both delicious! Tea and coffee in the lounge can be requested, where you can sit and browse guidebooks, photo books of the Lakes and read leaflets for local attractions. A helpful compilation of restaurant menus is available to review and they are happy to make bookings on your behalf. This is advisable as the good places tend to get very busy!

The atmosphere at Denehurst was delightful and we cannot wait to return there and to the Lakes for another holiday. Thank you for a lovely time!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We felt like real house guests, of a very charming couple. For example, they picked us up from the station, suggested we have coffee in the lounge to rest a bit after our long trip. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything was real quality, from bathrobes to the cereal served in the morning. I was feeling indebted when the owner left us to the train.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CheerstoExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

My friend and I stayed here over Easter and we really enjoyed it. We had a superior twin room which was gorgeous, spotless, really nicely decorated and cosy. Ken and Cindy made us feel so welcome and gave us some great reccomendations (including the Cake Trail!). The breakfasts were fantastic and the location was perfect, halfway in-between Windermere and Bowness. Both were walkable in 5 or 10 minutes respectively. It was also perfect for driving to all of the attractions such as Hill Top, Go Ape, steam railway etc. Ken even booked our restaurants for us (I would highly reccomend Postilion!). Absolutely fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bionickate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Had a couple of nights at Denehurst following the reviews on Trip Advisor. As soon as we arrived Ken showed us our rooms and organised tea and biscuits for us. He showed us the varied maps, books and brochures and offered any help with planning trips, recommendations for restaurants etc. We took advantage of his offers and he loaned us the maps on our day trips pointing out  the best scenic routes. It is apparant that he has a large number of "return visitors" from the people who were introduced to us by Ken! He and Cindy could not have been more friendly or helpful and there is nothing that could be faulted!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Having found the Denehurst 12 months ago, we have returned four times - that says everything! other than to say Ken and Cindy the owners are genuinely friendly people who have made our visits to the Lake District so enjoyable and have recommended places to visit and eat out and have even made bookings on our behalf. This is excellent service which you cannot fault.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindySale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#22 of 107 in Windermere
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 107 in Windermere
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 107 in Windermere
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coppice Guest House
The Coppice Guest House
#15 of 107 in Windermere
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#25 of 107 in Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Property: Denehurst Guest House
Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing