We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #20 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed 23 November 2009

A place where you'd want to wrap yourself up for the night, after that long bike ride through some very charming English country side! Cindy and Ken do everything to make it just the right setting for travel enthusiasts. Denehurst has an edge over all the bnbs I have been to so far. Very high standards of detail maintained to care for the guests' comfort. To name a few, they had list of local resturants and personal recommendations on each of them; a wine bottle opener in the room; little notes all over the bath area requesting guests to be judicious about material usage; a nice TV - flat screen, dvd player and the works; hence a collection of movies to choose from to watch; a teddy in your room to welcome you AND so on... Cindy even called the cycle hire guys for us and we hadn't even requested for a call to be placed! They are warm and instantly make you feel at home. Great hosts and a great house too, a Victorian, quite old and very very charming!

As for the basics, the room was spic and span, as was the rest of the common area. Breakfast was very nice despite us being vegetarian. I loved the tea! It is a good ten minute walk (downhill) from the train station, while the lake is another ten-fifteen minutes, downhill again.

Many thanks to Ken and Cindy for sending across my cellphone, all the way to Northampton! Rather nice of them!

Am so glad we picked this place, made our holiday better than great :) My hubby says one night was not good enough, we should go back for more next time :) Cant wait for that!!

Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShilBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
201
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Location:
This beautiful B&B is located almost midway between 'Bowness on Windermere' and 'Windermere'. Walking to either town centre is a leisurely (and I mean leisurely) 15 to 20 minutes! Granted, there are many B&Bs which are located nearer to either town centres but for me, the combination of a quieter environment away from the tourist crowd and easy access to both town centres make Denehurst an ideal location.

Cleanliness:
All areas were kept tidy and clean. The lounge area was really cosy. Guests could read through helpful brochures and guidebooks (including the hosts' own compilation of nice eateries and restaurants) at their own pace. Upon arrival, we were treated to a pot of freshly brewed Earl Grey tea, courtesy of our hosts. This little gesture may not mean much to some people, but after travelling a great distance on a cold wet day to arrive at the Lakes, that was quite something to us. A good collection of movie DvDs was available for loan and you could watch these movies in the comfort of your own room (each room is equipped with a DvD player and flat screen TV).

Rooms:
The towels in the bathroom were soft, fresh and clean. And absorbent too, which is really important (have you not used towels which do nothing to dry your body but merely shift water from one part of the body to another). The toiletries provided were of a high quality. The bed was comfortable - sheets were snowy white. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in our room, which I believe to be a given in most B&Bs. But hot chocolate? Nice touch there.

Service:
We could not be happier with the service. Our hosts Ken & Cindy were perfect hosts - extremely warm, friendly and helpful. In fact, when Ken found out that it was our first time in the Lakes, he volunteered to pick us up from the train station upon our arrival, an offer we could not resist. And as if that's not enough, he offered to send us to the train station upon our check-out. Now that's service!!!

Breakfast:
Cooked breakfast - with a choice of menus - was big and delicious. There was also an unusually good variety of spreads for our toast: nutella, peanut butter, Bovril as well as quite a few different types of jam. And there were cornflakes, fruit salad, yoghurt & juices. We could not have asked for more.

Summary:
Denehurst really felt like a home to us the few days we were in the Lakes. It was probably the best B&B experience we have had and we cannot recommend it highly enough. The Lakes was so beautiful it was almost unreal and staying at Denehurst made our total experience unforgettable and complete.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukefromseasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed at Denehurst Guesthouse for three nights in October whilst doing some walking in the Lake District. From arriving to leaving we were madfe to feel very welcome by Ken & Cindy. They are the perfect hosts with nothing being too much trouble for them. The House is imaculate, the room we stayed in (Superior bedroom) lovely and comfortable and the food yummy!..Only wished they did Dinner too.
We got some great tips on walking routes and eateries in the local area which helped us out.
I would recommend this as a perfect place to stay on a trip to the Lakes.
Thank you Ken & Cindy
Chris & Julie
(We will definately be back)
Swindon

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilipepper4267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and could not have been happier with our choice. Ken and Cindy were great hosts. The breakfasts were wonderful and the room very comfortable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkStrollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2009

One of the best guesthouse i have ever been to, we had a great time, room was fantastic, breakfast was grand, all the recommendations from resturants/walks/things to do were excellent. Ken and Cindy were very hospitable, i would highly recommend the guesthouse and will surely be returning back sometime in 2010 =)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totohorsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Ken & Cindy are the ultimate hosts. From the start, they were friendly and full of advice. A lift from the station was greatly appreciated. Denehurst is quietly tucked away from the main road, but a short stroll into Bowness and Windermere. Our room was nicely decorated and the four-poster bed gives a sense of luxury. The en-suite was pleasant, with delightful complimentary toiletries.

Breakfast was a wonderful affair which a large choice. We can particularly recommend the pancakes with maple syrup and the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs - both delicious! Tea and coffee in the lounge can be requested, where you can sit and browse guidebooks, photo books of the Lakes and read leaflets for local attractions. A helpful compilation of restaurant menus is available to review and they are happy to make bookings on your behalf. This is advisable as the good places tend to get very busy!

The atmosphere at Denehurst was delightful and we cannot wait to return there and to the Lakes for another holiday. Thank you for a lovely time!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We felt like real house guests, of a very charming couple. For example, they picked us up from the station, suggested we have coffee in the lounge to rest a bit after our long trip. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything was real quality, from bathrobes to the cereal served in the morning. I was feeling indebted when the owner left us to the train.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CheerstoExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Property: Denehurst Guest House
Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing