We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find - hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #28 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little find - hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for our anniversary in March we had the Tudor Room which was fab! Shirley and Vince are excellent hosts, super friendly and as a couple makes yummy breakfast. It's a little bit outside the main part of the town which we didn't mind as we got to explore and leave the car behind. Friendly owners and a nice warm stay. Thanks Vince and Shirley.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljparker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are so pleased you loved the Tudor king-size four poster room - it is a popular choice with a gorgeous canopied bed. Glad you found us to be friendly and that breakfast was yummy! We hope you'll come back again, and maybe recommend us too? Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
297
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I booked a room at the Storrsgate House for my girlfriends birthday. I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor so I thought I would give it a go.

Booking:
Initially I went for the King-size room, but was contacted shortly after completion of the booking by Shirley telling me that one of the days was not available due to a double booking. She offered me the Tudor room instead at no extra cost. I was so impressed by this generosity and level of customer service. Also before we arrived, Shirley wase able to source a box of chocolates made by the local 'Helen's Chocolates'. This was a surprise for my girlfriend and was a lovely addition to the welcoming room.

Room:
The room was excellent. A grand fourposter bed, with lovely furnishings, basic sky package , DVD player and a HD widescreen TV. I was able to plug my laptop in to the TV and watch films from my hard drive which was great! The bed was comfortable with what I assume is a goose down duvet with feather pillows. Complimentary tea, coffee horlicks and biscuits were also provided along with a minibar and a selection of confectionery, snacks and alcohol.

Ensuite:
The ensuite was really great. Soaps, lotions and shampoos from the White company along with the most powerful shower I've been in. You certainly feel clean afterwards.

Breakfast:
The breakfast selection was varied and to a high standard. Starting with light options including home made yogurt, granola and fruit, we were then offered the choice of a more substantial second course. I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon on a home-made muffin which was really tasty, continental breakfast the second day and finally a full English on our last day. The bacon and sausages were from a local supplier and very tasty. Shirley was the chef, and Vince provided table service. We were always met with a warm "Good Morning".

Location:
Storrsgate House is a short drive or a 10-15min walk south of Bowness on Windemere. You can walk along the road which does get a bit dark at night due to lack of street lighting so a torch is advisable. Or you can walk along the lake which comes out by the lakeside car park in the town. We only did the lakeside walk in the day, and even in the rain was quite pleasant. It was certainly handy to be able to walk so that we could visit the local pubs before going in search of food. I nice pub was the John Peel. I would avoid the Emperor of India restaurant which was relatively bland for my tastes.

All in all, a really nice few days in the lake district. Thank-you Shirley and Vince; we shall be coming back in the future.

Room Tip: We had the Tudor Room which we were offered at no extra charge with the king size room was double bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hpayne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
What a wonderfully comprehensive review! So much detail was covered, it would take a very lengthy response to cover all the comments you wrote. So... we would just like to say a very big thank you and mention that we are so very pleased your stay with us was so good!
Please do come again.... and thanks again also, for liking our Facebook page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our stay at Storrs Gate was one of the most pleasurable and enjoyable experiences that we have had. The room was spacious, cozy, romantic and very tastefully done. There was attention to detail and small things like make up remover pads in the washroom was so thoughtful and personal. Shirley and Vince are such lovely hosts and gave personal attention to our needs. Fantastic & delicious breakfast with some homemade delicacies added to the perfect Easter break for us. A stay at Storrs Gate is highly recommended for anyone visiting Windermere.
Sanjeev Nair & Nandita

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nandita336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We're so pleased to find that you classed your time here as an "excellent stay". Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We're delighted you liked our Queen Anne four poster en-suite, your breakfasts and the little extra touches. Thanks in anticipation for any recommendations... we'll make sure your friends or family are well looked after! Would love to welcome you both again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Having been delegated the task of booking 'somewhere nice' for an overnight break with friends, I spent considerable time surfing the net looking for a suitable hotel or guest house.
A break without the kids is a rare treat so the pressure was on to get it right! Storrs Gate House certainly ticked all the boxes and the reviews on Trip Advisor were the best I have ever viewed, far surpassing many exclusive 5* hotels.

I need not have worried - the positive reviews were spot on and Vince and Shirley have created a real gem of a place, which stands out in an area with an abundance of hotels / guest houses and B & B's.

The property is within a 10 minute leisurely stroll of Boness centre and a taxi home at the end of your night is under a fiver. Breakfast was a winner and we even came away with one of Shirley's home made yoghurt recipes.

My advice would be - stop your searching and get it booked! You are guaranteed a warm welcome and a homely, clean & spacious bedroom. Enjoy your break - we did. .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnlsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Wow! How lovely to read your generous review. It's so good to read, not for the first time, a recommendation to stop looking elsewhere and book here, and too, that you feel we stand out in an area where there are many, very good establishments.

We never stop trying to provide the best experience for our guests, and reviews like yours fuel the fire to keep doing so! We hope very much you'll pay us a return visit sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at Storrs Gate House on the 22nd December, the day before the owners closed for a couple of days for Christmas. The break was perfect from start to finish. The owners were so friendly; we arrived fairly early and asked to drop our luggage off. We expected to be told to leave our luggage in a luggage room or something, but instead we were made cery welcome and shown to our room. The room was large and bright, with a huge bathroom with big walk in shower - one of the most powerful I have used! Every attention had been paid to the detail, with gorgeous bathing products (the White Company), tea, coffee, horlicks, hot chocolate etc and milk in the fridge, together with a mini-bar at extra but reasonable cost. The linen was gorgeous, and the bed so comfortable and very quiet at night to aid a good nights sleep. The owners seemed to take a real interest in you and when we got there advised us where would be nice to walk and called a taxi for us to take us into town in the evening. The town centre is very walkable, but if you are going at night in high heels probably not advisable as there are some muddy parts.

Finally the breakfast was outstanding! Home-made bread, jam, marmalade and yoghurt, together with with little touches such as home soaked prunes in alcohol!! All locally sourced ingredients too, with a good choice including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, full english or continental.

Sorry its taken me so long to put this review on, but I really wanted to make sure that people go here - its great value and outstanding quality. Thank you for a lovely break, we will definitely recommend and come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was a king-size sligh bed, we were shown some of the four-poster rooms whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
It’s so rewarding to read such a generous review as yours. We hope it will inspire readers to choose to stay with us, which is exactly what you say you hope will happen! We are always keen to provide the best quality and finishing touches and are delighted you found our home so comfortable, with everything you wanted to make your stay perfect. To learn you felt our breakfast was outstanding really is the icing on the cake for us, as we are keen cooks and love to hear that our home-made breads, marmalade, jam and other selections are really enjoyed.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us – and again for your lovely review. The number of reviews written, as well as the marks given in each review, factor in the rating awarded to us by TripAdvisor and if your comments encourage others to book with us, and they in turn review their stay, we will be very, very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton Carew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

From arrival to departure an excellent stay .We are regular visitors to the Lakes all year round and use all levels of accommodation from a tent to a 5* hotel.
Storrs gate is definitely up there with the best. We stayed in the Victorian suite for 2 nights which was very quite and snug.The standard of furnishings , facilities and even the reasonably priced mini bar were all of a very high standard and well presented.The bed was comfortable with plenty of bedding. The bathroom & dressing area was spacious clean and well equipped (to the extent we copied and went out and bought a similar rain shower head the next week!)
The owners were friendly and welcoming, efficient without being OTT.Happy to give guidance based on local knowledge regarding restaurants attractions and the area in general.
The breakfast was very good and always plenty on offer. Our only slightly negative observation, not a criticism, is that for a weekend it is served quite early over a short time scale that may not suit everyone.
The location is on a road junction but it is neither intrusive nor problematic for entry/exit for the well laid out car park (we have a large 4x4 which was accommodated with ease). It is ideally suited for getting into Windermere/Bowness on foot. The general area of course being well located for access to the west coast as well as the remainder of the Lakes.
Storrs Gate is not the cheapest B&B in the area and can be matched for cost by some reasonable hotels. However the overall quality and hospitality of the place at least matches them and makes it superb value for money.
Overall, recommended without reservation.

Room Tip: We were facing the road looking across to the Marina Village. It was quiet and peaceful no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Thank you for your recent kind review. Being regular visitors to our beautiful area, your assessment of your stay with us is wonderfully comprehensive, and serves as a reminder of the many aspects of exactly what is important to our guests when choosing from the varied levels of accommodation available here.

We were so pleased to read that you consider us to be “up there with the best”, and were happy to learn that our showers hit the mark again, as previous guests have also purchased similar showers after their stay with us! Thanks for your comment regarding ease of parking – as many places are not able to offer this, we consider ourselves fortunate to be able to provide ample free parking for all our guests.

It’s good to hear you enjoyed breakfast, and we appreciate your comments regarding timings – we are currently reviewing the situation. As you say, we are not the cheapest B&B in the area (nor, comparatively, the most expensive) and the fact that you consider our hospitality and provision of quality makes us superb value for money actually does speak volumes.

Your unreserved recommendation is the icing on the cake! Many, many thanks – we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here in November. Neither of us had been to the Lake District before so didn't know what to expect. We only booked Storrs Gate the night before we arrived and it looked the best of what was available.
We're so glad we chose it as the room was lovely and the welcome fantastic.
The owners were happy to recommend places to see and eat. The walk into Bowness was a bit dark but we were offered torches and taxi numbers!
We stayed in Room 4 and it was lovely. The shower was fab and the towels were lovely and big.
Breakfast was worth every penny. Each night we were asked to order our breakfast from a long list of delights. The scrambled eggs and salmon was devine as was the full English. The home made marmalade was gorgeous - The only problem with staying 3 nights is that you don't get to try everything on the menu!
We tried the Brown Horse pub at Winster one night (on recommendation) and it was well worth the 5 minute drive.
I'd love to return to Storrs Gate as it is perfectly placed for Bowness, the ferry and the marina.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainb0w73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Perfect. Your first time in the Lake District resulted in such a wonderful impression! We were very pleased to read that you felt you made the right choice! Room 4 is our king-size double en-suite with "sleigh" bed and the shower is, as with all our rooms a high quality power shower.
Breakfast is personally cooked and we ensure the best ingredients are provided for our guests - it's always good to know this is so enjoyed. We are currently running a Winter special offer where you can add a night to a weekend booking for half price, or choose to stay three nights midweek and pay for two. The area is stunning in the winter frost and well worth returning to! Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your stay with us - we do hope you will come back again. (Book direct to obtain our special offer!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#9 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Property: Storrs Gate House
Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing