We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Bowness!”
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #18 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We can't rate this place highly enough. Our room was just stunning, the whole place is so warm, welcoming & homely. Breakfast was really nice & set in lovely surroundings. The owners are so friendly, nothing's too much trouble, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lushmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write yet another lovely review of your stay with us. We're delighted you chose to come back for a return visit and that everything was just as good second time round! We hope it won't be too long before you're back for a third stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is the second time staying with Vince & Shirley and once again our stay was faultless. From the moment you step through the front door you are made to feel if it is your own home. The bedrooms are just stunning and I can only give plaudits. Breakfast is just magnificent and what a way to set you up for an energy packed day. Two words: Just FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

How lovely it was to read your kind review - we are over the moon with your description of your stay with us and hope it won't be too long before we see you back again! Many thanks again for coming back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I came from near Perth, Scotland. After a long and tiring (well over 4 hours) journey and with both of us mobility-impaired we were delighted with this gorgeous Bowness-on-Windermere place. It was everything and more we hoped it would be, with our room on the ground floor facing a lovely garden and great views of Lake Windermere below from the front of the house. We parked in an attractive area just outside the front door, just above a main road, and later found lots to see and do in the area. As we stayed three nights we got the delightful and large four-poster bed room. As travel writers we go to many places and this was easily one of the nicest small-in-size but fabulous in quality-in-every-respect places we've experienced so far, as well as one of the best- by-far features of Lake Windermere. Vince and Shirley and Shirley's mother made us feel very welcome. There's a scenic waterside restaurant almost across the street from them. It wasn't their fault it rained for much of the time. We'll definitely come back if/when we can. Because of the poor sat-nav directions in getting here from Scotland, we found out from experience not to take the M6 motorway only as far as Penrith and then change to the A592 but instead go further south on the M6 to Kendal, then head due west on the A684 and then by the A/B 5284 at the very end of which (by then Longtail Lane) is this magical place at Bowness overlooking the lake. This is much quicker and easier than the narrow, twisting, winding, more hazardous A592 south of Penrith. Similarly, when going back home from this tranquil place, head east to Kendal and go north or south from there. A great place to relax and enjoy the garden and perfect for seeing more of Lake Windermere region. And nearby is the short road to the ferry across the lake to Coniston Water via Hawkshead

Room Tip: The room with the four-poster bed on the ground floor is superb. Other rooms nearby and one floor u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you so very much for your wonderfully comprehensive review. We are delighted that you were so happy with your three night stay with us. It was fantastic to read that Storrs Gate is easily one of the nicest equivalent places you have stayed in, and that you felt so welcome. We do hope you might consider a return visit at some point and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My girlfriend and I recently returned from a weekend here, and we just loved it! The house itself is beautiful and the rooms are wonderful. We stayed in the Jacobean Suite, which was perfect for us. It was so comfortable, beautifully kept and so clean. Vince and Shirley were the perfect hosts, so welcoming and warm, and breakfasts were something else! I had the full English on both mornings, but there were so many more choices. It was just fabulous! If your looking for an excellent B&B you simply can't go wrong with this place! Storrs, I dare say you'll be seeing us again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Jacobean suite and your comments about breakfast are lovely to read. Thanks too for your kind recommendation - we hope you will pay us a return visit - don't forget to use your loyalty voucher and book direct with us to claim your discount. Thanks again for choosing Storrs Gate House for your visit to the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have been made most welcome, by Vince and Shrley, over the past 13 years. Being restricted to 'school holiday times' we tended to use half term as a break and recovery period. You receive much more than, 'a good service'; it is most friendly, accommodating and the hosts go out of their way to ensure your stay is as relaxing as they can possibly make it. A 'stay' here sets us up nicely for the rigours that face us when we start with the routines of full time child-minding.
The rooms, each themed, are of exceptional quality and comfort; the food is exemplary and the companionship (if desired) is a pleasure. The longer your stay the more relaxed you will become. Most highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are themed yet quiet. Use internet site to gain some idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

A huge thank you for writing such a glowing review. The fact that you have been returning to us consistently over 13 years really says everything! It's really more like welcoming back "old friends" and you are a pleasure to have as our guests. Great to know that you relax whilst staying with us, as that is exactly what we hope our guests will experience.
We hope you will continue to return and we can catch up with family news and events. Thank you for recommending us so highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

One of the very best B&B's I have ever stayed in. A warm welcome and guided tour greeted us on arrival. A very comfortable (warm) room with four poster bed. Exceptionally clean and well maintained. Lashings of hot water and nice "White co" toiletries just what you need in the Lakes in March! Breakfast was freshly cooked with local ingredients, great choice and we never felt rushed. Shirley and Vince could not do enough to make our weekend a memorable one, many thanks.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments - it really is good to know that you considered Storrs Gate to be one of the very best B&B's that you have stayed in, and that you were so happy with your room, breakfast and our hospitality. We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend away and we hope you might choose us again when you are next in the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here in january for three nights and really enjoyed it. We usually stay in hotels but this house was far better than 5 star hotels. Both Vince and Shirley are very friendly and should be very proud of this b b.It is extremely clean with excellent breakfasts. their prunes with cointreau are moorish !! We stayed in the jacobean suite which had a comfortable sitting room. At weekend i took my daughters mother-in-law for her 70th birthday and she too enjoyed it. This time we stayed in the twin room which was on the ground floor (ideal for a wheelchair user as it is very roomy and has large doorways ).I would highly recommend Storrs Gate house.Look forward to see you both again. Barbara

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbi6054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you Barbara for your lovely review. We were delighted to welcome you back so soon and are so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay as much as your first. Your kind comments are a joy to read and we hope that it won't be too long before we see you back for a third visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £87 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009. Five Star - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing