We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #26 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first trip together to Lake Windemere and we decided to stay here as it was within the top 10 places to stay and we were not disappointed, in fact it was better!
Shirley and Vince were very friendly and welcoming and helped make our stay extra special.
We stayed in room 3 and it was just stunning. The four poster bed and the furnishings were beautiful and the room was sparkling clean. The fact that the room was facing the road was no issue at all, not once did we feel the noise from the cars interrupted our stay.
There was something for everybody at breakfast from a fry up to a homemade continental option. Shirley did a fantastic job in making sure we were set for the day! Everything was either made on the premises or bought locally.
The Storrs Gate house is perfectly located, seconds from the car ferry that takes you to Hawkshead and only a 10 to 15 minute walk from the main shops in Lake Windemere.
We will definitely be staying again, thank you for having us! Danny & Jenny

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a great review. We were aware before you arrived that you were both looking forward to your stay here in our lovely area, and we are so pleased that we exceed expectations and that you had such a good weekend.

Your description of our Victorian four poster suite was lovely to read and we are delighted you were so happy with breakfast too!

Your mention of our location being perfect was also a very welcomed comment. We'd love to have you back again and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    32
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
302
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here in may. Really impressed rooms beautifully decorated and the sitting room was very cosy and elegant. Really welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The homemade granola and apricot compote was to die for. Beautiful hotel in beautiful gardens. Would definitely recommend stores gate house

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownie1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Very many thanks for your kind review - we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will recommend us to others. Great to hear you liked our homemade breakfast items too! We hope you will return and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Arrived with very high expectations based on previous reviews, awards won etc, and it was even better than expected. Perfect is not quite adequate to describe the superb overall experience. Five Stars are too few, it deserves more.

From cheerfully fixing my mistake during the booking process, to welcoming us at the doorstep with big smiles and help with parking and carrying oversized luggage, to making sure that every detail during our stay was perfect, and taking the time to get to know us, Shirley and Vic were the perfect and truly caring hosts.

We spent three prefect days with them during Easter Week, and discovered that Storrs Gate House is the perfect location--close enough to the crazy bustle of Bowness-Windemere if you need it, but just the extra few meters outside town to be perfectly peaceful. and serene On first day we were able to leave our car in their small but fully functional car park, and walk to the ferry crossing to undertake a scenic 7K walk along the other side of Windermere. The Storrs Gate House is also located along a gastro-excellent route (Longtail hill to B5284 toward Crook) with numerous beautifully tucked away fine dining options available for dinner while avoiding the crush in town. You should opt for a great (multi-star) dining experience for dinner if you want to be in the same league as Shirley and Vic's breakfast the following morning. The breakfast room is a classic with lovely view to a well designed and maintained garden. The service is impeccable and the quality of the food and presentation is memorable. And the host are a joy to talk with at any opportunity.

Physically the house is a perfect gem. We had a lovely 4 poster bed with adequate room to enjoy it--not like some other guest houses that cram so many things into the room, you cannot open a case or turn around without hitting something. The bathroom is totally modernized with good room to use it, and it has without a doubt the best shower east of NYC. Vic has installed a "power shower" that will delight, the only problem is it is sooo good you will find yourself staying in it too long.

We enjoyed our stay, and recommend them without hesitation, perhaps we will see some of you there, as we intend to return again, often.

Room Tip: Just book here, they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_J-Aweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Wow! What can we say? We couldn't be happier to read that you felt we exceeded expectations and that our five star rating should be even higher. Your description of your stay was a joy to read - we feel sure that prospective guests will have a clear picture of what to expect if they choose to book with us. We loved your comments regarding the power shower being the best east of New York City!!

It's true - we are close to many fine options for dinner and as you say, there are gems to be found, out in the surrounding countryside - we are lucky to have very many good restaurants and hotel restaurants within striking distance. We are "blown away" to know that you class our breakfast to be in that same calibre. We really look forward to welcoming you back again, and thank you again for your stunning recommendation. (Don't forget to book direct with us for the best available rate.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Storrs Gate House wow what a fantastic guest house, our room was the Tudor Room and it was stunning .
Shirley and Vince are a lovely couple friendly and very welcoming nothing was to much trouble for them.
The breakfast was really lovely.
And we can't wait to return for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Very many thanks for taking time to review your stay in our Tudor king-size four poster room - it's great to know you consider it to be a stunning room and that you so enjoyed breakfast too! We are delighted to know that you can't wait to return and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We can't rate this place highly enough. Our room was just stunning, the whole place is so warm, welcoming & homely. Breakfast was really nice & set in lovely surroundings. The owners are so friendly, nothing's too much trouble, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lushmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write yet another lovely review of your stay with us. We're delighted you chose to come back for a return visit and that everything was just as good second time round! We hope it won't be too long before you're back for a third stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is the second time staying with Vince & Shirley and once again our stay was faultless. From the moment you step through the front door you are made to feel if it is your own home. The bedrooms are just stunning and I can only give plaudits. Breakfast is just magnificent and what a way to set you up for an energy packed day. Two words: Just FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
How lovely it was to read your kind review - we are over the moon with your description of your stay with us and hope it won't be too long before we see you back again! Many thanks again for coming back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I came from near Perth, Scotland. After a long and tiring (well over 4 hours) journey and with both of us mobility-impaired we were delighted with this gorgeous Bowness-on-Windermere place. It was everything and more we hoped it would be, with our room on the ground floor facing a lovely garden and great views of Lake Windermere below from the front of the house. We parked in an attractive area just outside the front door, just above a main road, and later found lots to see and do in the area. As we stayed three nights we got the delightful and large four-poster bed room. As travel writers we go to many places and this was easily one of the nicest small-in-size but fabulous in quality-in-every-respect places we've experienced so far, as well as one of the best- by-far features of Lake Windermere. Vince and Shirley and Shirley's mother made us feel very welcome. There's a scenic waterside restaurant almost across the street from them. It wasn't their fault it rained for much of the time. We'll definitely come back if/when we can. Because of the poor sat-nav directions in getting here from Scotland, we found out from experience not to take the M6 motorway only as far as Penrith and then change to the A592 but instead go further south on the M6 to Kendal, then head due west on the A684 and then by the A/B 5284 at the very end of which (by then Longtail Lane) is this magical place at Bowness overlooking the lake. This is much quicker and easier than the narrow, twisting, winding, more hazardous A592 south of Penrith. Similarly, when going back home from this tranquil place, head east to Kendal and go north or south from there. A great place to relax and enjoy the garden and perfect for seeing more of Lake Windermere region. And nearby is the short road to the ferry across the lake to Coniston Water via Hawkshead

Room Tip: The room with the four-poster bed on the ground floor is superb. Other rooms nearby and one floor u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderfully comprehensive review. We are delighted that you were so happy with your three night stay with us. It was fantastic to read that Storrs Gate is easily one of the nicest equivalent places you have stayed in, and that you felt so welcome. We do hope you might consider a return visit at some point and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#9 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Property: Storrs Gate House
Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing