We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Storrs Gate House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$349
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
391
34
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
34
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacobean suitefour poster bedvince shirleyb bmini barqueen annpower showerbird feederslake districthome madefull englishhomemade jamsguest housesitting roomwalk into towndvd playeryogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our four nights spent in Windermere were fantastic and to top it off we had the best weather but what really made our holiday were Shirley and Vince and their pretty home. Breakfast was a delight with home made produce, everything was just a cut above the rest.
We have stayed in many B&B's and breakfast has been varied to say the least. Shirley has perfected it.
I would like to suggest The Wheatsheaf in Lyth Valley Brigsteer for an evening meal, it is a lovely drive and well worth it.
Thank you Shirley and Vince for a care free stay, I normally can't wait to get home but today I didn't want to pack.
See you again

Room Tip: Room 7 had a very comfortable four poster, it is on the ground floor with doors leading out into the garden, a very large bathroom with a powerful shower.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

How really lovely it was to read your review - we couldn't be more pleased to know that you had such a good holiday with us here. Your description of breakfast is a fantastic accolade and we loved to hear that you consider it to be perfected! Thank you!!
We know that the weather can make a huge difference to the enjoyment of a break away, and the Lakes in such a lovely week really can't be beaten! We hope to see you back in the future - don't forget to mention your discount voucher if you do choose to come back to us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Storrs Gate House for the third time last weekend. We arrived on the Sunday and left on the Wednesday. We were greeted by Shirley and Vince and were instantly made to feel welcome. It had been about 4 years since our previous stay and it was just as lovely as we'd remembered it. The last two times we stayed, we were in the Tudor Room but this time we were in Room 5, tucked away on the top floor on its own. The room was cosy (but in no way cramped!) And had a lovely view over the garden. The en-suite toilet and shower room was well laid out and the room was perfect for us. We treated ourselves to a short break which was a joint celebration of our first wedding anniversary and my birthday. My Wife, who is about halfway through her pregnancy, found the bed very comfortable and the spacious shower meant that she didn't have any problems there either.
The breakfasts were as amazing as we had remembered and while my Wife alternated her choices during our stay, I stuck with the full English! We both felt ready to tackle the day after being well fed and watered. There was a good variety of wildlife to watch on the bird feeders outside while we had breakfast, which was really nice.
We had been really lucky with the weather and after long days being out enjoying ourselves it was great to come back to a comfy room and a great shower, especially after walking the scenic route around Cockshott Point between Storrs Gate House and Bowness itself.
We will definitely be back and can't recommend Storrs Gate House highly enough. The homely atmosphere complemented Shirley and Vince's hospitality perfectly and we both felt rested despite being on the go for most of our stay. It was almost a shame to have to come back home!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

It was great to see you both back with us for a third time - we're really pleased you were happy with Room 5, our room up in the eaves of the house on a floor to itself. Whilst it isn't as large as our other rooms, and is described as a standard king-size double, it still has a cosy feel, as you say, and apart from a minibar, has the same touches as the other rooms, i.e. White Company toiletries, tissues, full size hairdryer etc.

(We are encouraging guests to book direct, and you won't be able to book this room with online travel agencies, meaning we can keep down prices and offer the best price to guests booking directly with us.)

We are really pleased you enjoyed your special double celebration weekend, and wish you all the best with your forthcoming addition to the family! Thank you so much for reviewing your return stay with us - we look forward to the next one!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed for two nights in the Queen Anne suite & it was lovely! The room was spacious with a large, comfortable four poster bed, seating area & a spacious en suite. The white company toiletries & selection of fruit teas were a really nice touch. The room opens on to a patio area with a table & chairs and lots of beautiful flowers. There was a lot of choice for breakfast & the full English was gorgeous! Good location & a short scenic walk to Bowness. Thank you for making us feel so welcome! We found your tips about the local area really helpful too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank YorkshireLady86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We're delighted you felt so comfortable in our Queen Anne four poster en-suite and that you were happy with the little extra touches. It was lovely to hear our full English breakfast described as gorgeous! We hope it might entice you to return to see us again sometime. Thanks again for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Storrs Gate House at Bowness on Windermere for 2 nights on route to Scotland. It was a pleasure and the welcome and service were second to none. Vince and Shirley Byrne leave nothing to chance, the rooms are excellent as are the facilities. We had the Queen Anne king-size for poster ensuite which was beautiful and comfortable.

The breakfasts were generous, well cooked with lots of choice. We are even given a list of the recommended restaurants locally for the evening meal.

We would recommend the Storrs Gate unreservedly and we will return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us, we're so pleased you enjoyed everything and that you found your room so comfortable. Your unreserved recommendation was fantastic to read! Great to hear you will be coming back to us next year, don't forget to book direct and mention your loyalty voucher for the discount. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Storrs for a weekend break to re-discover the lakes as we hadn't visited the area for 20 years. We soon fell back in love with the area thanks to the great location of this lovely accomodation. Just a 5 minute walk away from the Marina and a further 10 minutes to Windemere itself. Vince and Shirley made us feel more than welcome and we stayed in the Jacobean Suite. WOW! It was by far the best room we have stayed in for many years. Thick fluffy towels and good quality toiletries were little things that made it extra special for me. A lovely lounge area with 2 big comfy chairs to sit in and drink a hot cuppa when you have been soaked through walking in the rain( because you're not going to let it spoil your weekend) is very comforting! Breakfast is very,very good with so much choice it certainly is a difficult decision each morning,
however I thoroughly recommend the home made organic yogurt and apricot compote to start. Thank you for making it a delightful stay and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Jacobean suite for a special treat is delightful. Love the skylight!
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Storrs Gate House as your base for re-discovering our beautiful area!
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Jacobean four poster suite - your description could not have been better for us to read. It was particularly good to read that you felt the small touches made it extra special. Thanks also for your comments about breakfast, we loved to know that you enjoyed the home-made yoghurt and compote. Hopefully it won't be too long before you plan to return, we look forward to the next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews