We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of Hilton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton House
Ranked #76 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here just after we got back from nyc for a couple of days relaxing and it was beautiful, rooms clean, well looked after, breakfast was lovely, lots to pick from, owner and staff very friendly, would come back for the summer, many thanks Graeme & Amy

Room Tip: room 9 was bottom floor, very big and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in October and stayed in the smallest room 4. This room is small and compact and not much room to hang any clothes. But this room is nicely furnished and we had a lovely night sleep here. The bathroom is nicely fitted and the rest of the house is decorated and very tidy. Parking here is around the back and when the B&b is full it is very tight to get your cars in and out easily. The breakfast here is lovely and the service is great. I would def come back and stay again but would stay in a bigger room.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stones2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have returned today from a two night stay in room 8, this hotel is absolutely beautiful and Martin and his colleagues are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. We would highly recommend it to anybody and the hearty breakfast will set you up for a day of exploring the Lake District.
The hotel is within walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness where you can find many coffee shops and restaurants, although we would recommend Rumours in Bowness where we had a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I just came back from two nights here and it was such a lovely place.
Car park available at the back, gorgeous rooms with lots of mirrors and chandeliers, very pretty and clean with a good attention to detail.
We only had a tiny room I think because it was a last minute.com deal but it was still really nice, we had a clean en suite and a comfy bed with feather bedding. We had chocolates on arrival and well stocked hot drink making facilities in the room. It was really nice and warm too.
The hotel is perfectly situated between Windermere centre and Bowness, 10 minutes walking distance.
It was very quiet and we didn't hear any noise from outside or other guests.
You can come and go as you please without really seeing the owners except at breakfast, both were very personable and professional.
Breakfast was very good, lots of options available. My only criticism of our stay is that the English breakfast didn't have a sausage or beans!
Thanks for having us, I would definitely stay here again and I encourage others to.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank AmyB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just returned from staying at the Hilton House for two nights in room 4, the standard double. Beautiful little guest house. Great location between Windermere (5mins) and Bowness (15mins) on foot. The room is small but very cosy and breakfast was wonderful, the staff couldn't do enough for guests. Would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank twazym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay in the hilton house. We stayed in room 8. Lovely decoration, clean and extremely comfortable. The staff were lovely, chatty, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice. The guesthouse is 5 minutes walk into windermere and about 20 to bowness, although we got the bus from winderemere to bowness pier, 5-10 journey. A lovely experience and would return!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely two night stay at Hilton House. It is within easy walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness, each of which have loads of restaurants and cafes to choose from.

Hilton House itself is beautifully decorated, the rooms are cosy and comfortable. We had Room 2, right above the dining room,which was perfect for our needs. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom clean with a very good shower.

The owners were lovely and let guests come and go as they please, we were even able to check in early. Breakfast was gorgeous and quickly prepared, don't let the lack of sausage put you off! The one tiny negative I have is that our room was slightly out of range for the Wi-Fi, but as I said, that's just me being picky.

Would definitely return next time we visit the lakes. Thanks for having us.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kso10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#64 of 107 in Windermere
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#25 of 107 in Windermere
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#66 of 107 in Windermere
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton House

Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton House Hotel Windermere
Hilton Windermere
Windermere Hilton
Hilton House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing