We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic..Will be our 1st choice every time”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #25 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic..Will be our 1st choice every time”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This contemporary b+b is absolutely lovely. Helen the owner is very welcoming . The whole place is spotlessly clean. The bed linen smelt so fresh and the room was so comfortable and spacious. Lovely modern bathroom with a double shower.
Parking space for each room.
Location is great as it is half way between the village of windermere and the lake.
Breakfast was really nice with lots of choice and very good coffee.
A few bedrooms have free internet access.
We will always try the coach house first when looking to book in this area again.

Room Tip: Only certain bedrooms have free wifi internet access so remember to request when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
122
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

What's really brilliant about this place is that if you travel to the area on the train and have no car, this guest house is exactly half way in walking distance between Windemere and Bowness on Windemere. Plus you can get the bus right outside to Ambleside and Grasmere. From there you can do some lovely walks which are not too challenging.

In terms of our stay we loved it. We were made to feel most welcome. There's ample car parking outside if you need it. Our room was great. Everything you need.

We had quite mixed weather, but there's loads to do. Free passes to a local leisure centre is one option. We took a boat on Windemere and the bus to Ambleside.

Nice restaurants in Bowness.

Lovely breakfast too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in the Coach House for 4 nights for our wedding anniversary. What a charming place it is, full of character and colour, with the most beautiful smelling fresh flowers when you walk into the hall. Helen was full of information and took an interest in what we had been up to, the information booklets and maps available were very useful too.
The breakfast was wonderful with a plentiful supply of toast for my husband after his run every morning while we were there. The rooms were nice and bright and very clean, and the only sound that you could hear during the night was the stream that was close by. The Coach house is in an ideal location to either go up to Winderemere or down to Bowness.
The information booklet that was provided in the room was full of useful places to eat and visit, and we went to a couple of the recommended places. The Eagle and Child in Staverley is a lovely pub where we had a beautiful meal, I would also visit the Hawkshead Brewery in the village too and sample some of their cask ales.
I would certainly recommend a stay there and we will definitely revisit some time in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

From the moment we arrived, to be greeted by our warm and friendly hostess, until check out, we were made to feel very welcome!
The room was lovely and immaculately clean, with little touches like a cute bag to disguise the hairdryer.
The bed was very comfy and the bedding pristine!
The beautifully cooked and presented food was of excellent quality and set us up for the day! We also enjoyed the banter with Helen, who was interested in what we had done previous day and the palns we might have for the day ahead, she was a great source of information about the best places to eat and sights to see.
We will most definitely be back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Coach House to anyone who is visiting the area!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the coach house and despite the horrible weather (raining) we really enjoyed the b&b. The room was very clean and felt very homely. The bathroom was a good size and was also kept very clean. The breakfast was excellent! very filling and will set you up for the day.The b&b is very close to windermere and bowness and you can walk there in 5-10 mins. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in both towns. We would defiantly return to this lovely b&b and highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_hotham174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We decided on this b'n'b after reading the reviews on trip advisor for a weekend away and were not disappointed. The owner was very friendly and the room very comfortable and clean.
The cooked breakfast was very nice and well presented.
The coach house is situated a 10-15 minute walk from bowness in a quiet area and is well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umina Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We knew we were in for a treat when we arrived to be greeted with a very walm welcome from Helen. Lovely room,excellent breakfasts and so convenient. Thoroughly reccommended - we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidancud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.0 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 108 in Windermere
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#30 of 108 in Windermere
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 108 in Windermere
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: The Coach House Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Windermere
Coach House Windermere
The Coach House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing