We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, welcoming and comfortable B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #29 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and comfortable B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Coach House - Helen is very welcoming and helpful, with lots of local knowledge. Our room was very comfortable and the decor charming and unfussy. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Hello
Thank you so much for the great review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope it is not too long before we can welcome you back to The Coach House.
Regards
Helen and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
113
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at The Coach House. Prior to going we had read the excellent reviews this Hotel had and we weren't disappointed. The location was excellent just a stroll into Windermere and Bowness, we stayed in room no 2 and it was very well decorated and had a small balcony which was a bonus as the weather was very warm. The breakfast was very good and mine host Helen was very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay their again, enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: Room 2 near the back was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellersunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hello
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Coach House, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes Helen and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for the weekend when my husband did the great north swim. The Coach House is very well placed for shops and restaurants and in a quiet location.. We had a warm welcome from the owner Helen on our arrival. Everywhere is lovely and fresh and spotless, great little bathroom in our room. We both really enjoyed our breakfasts and was a great start to the day particularly on swim day. The bed was comfortable but felt a little bit small but that is probably because we are used to a king size, however we slept well. Would definitely recommend to friends and we would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferS2362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Hi
Great to hear you had a good stay with us, its always nice to know that guests will come back, and hope that it will be in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Helen and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just got back from a weekend in Windermere, first time of staying at The Coach House, and found it to be really nice. Helen the owner was great, and even got my boyfriend a birthday card. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast was great. Easily accessible to both Windermere and Bowness. Would definiately return :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cboadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
V
Hello
Very happy to hear you had a good weekend, the great weather certainly helps!, and thanks for your kind remarks, hope we will see you again very soon.
All the best
Helen and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend
On arrival we was greeted by The lovely Helen who showed us to our room,
We requested a quiet room on the back , which was so clean and very homely,
and overlooked the forest &stream, (recommended)
Breakfast was gorgeous and plenty full ,
Great location for Windermere & Bow'ness
Would definitely return ,

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hi
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Coach House, it is always a pleasure to have nice guests in our home, hope to see you again soon.
Thanks Helen and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

The first time we stayed in the coach house was in July 2011 and we had a lovely relaxing break so we decided to return in April for Marks 47th birthday. Helen the owner of the coach house is a lovely lady, with a friendly approach and a lovely smile, she is there to greet you on arrival. We stayed in room 2 this time and as before this room was just as spacious, clean, comfy bed and peaceful as tha last one we stayed in. The breakfast is delicouse and there's plenty to choose from a cooked breakfast to continental, overall a lovely peaceful, friendly atmosphere and relaxing place to stay, many thanks to Helen and Julian for Marks Gift and card for his birthday, hope to see you soon, many thanks, Gizella and Mark from Barnsley :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizgoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely to see again , and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again very soon.
Best wishes
Helen and Julian at The Coach House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

First imprecisions vey good room no 2 at the back of the building nice and quiet away from the road, Helen the owner very welcoming, room nicely decorated bathroom very clean good size shower, breakfast was very good overall would stay again :-) location 10mins walk to Bowness and same to windermere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hello, We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay at The Coach House, and look forward to welcoming you back soon, Regards Helen and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#16 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#5 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: The Coach House Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Windermere
Coach House Windermere
The Coach House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing