We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Good”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #26 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed for 3 nights. Made to feel very welcome good rooms great brekfast perfect hosts. Will be back soon

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RayCastell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
122
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Just had a three night stay in this great little B&B and we were really pleased with our find! We booked fairly 'last minute' and found the Coach House completely by chance on the internet but were assured that we'd made the right decision as soon as we'd arrived! A warm welcome, comfortable rooms and a hearty breakfast every one of the three days we stayed. If you're after a good value B&B in a great location then look no further!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We stayed here for a few nights and had a lovely time. The room and en-suite were both good sizes. The breakfast was lovely. Situated in a great location between Bowness and Windermere. A perfect base!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLWJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

What a lovely retreat to come back to after a busy day!

Every attention to detail.

Friendly hosts with lots of knowledge of the area.

Hearty breakfasts using top class local produce.

Felt very much at home

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeptemberSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Had two nights in September. Lovely little house on the main road between Windermere and Boweness. Our room was very comfortable - spotless en suite shower and toilet with piping hot water and great pressure. Furnishings were charming if a little on the older side. Loved the little extras like flat screen tv and in-room coffee and hot cocoa. Breakfast was amazing! Full English breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Also recommend the pastries. This is all in addition to fruit, toast with jam, cereals, yogurts, juice, coffee, etc. We both ate way too much! Location is good - about 10 minute walk from the Windermere train station and 15 minute walk down to the lakefront. Like many of the B&Bs around here, we were on the main road, but the traffic noise wasn't too bad until around 7am from our room in the back (my biggest concern in deciding to stay here).
Would love to stay here again! Hosts were so nice, helpful, and friendly.
Just a suggestion: dinner prices around here are kind of outrageous. Try to get in to the early bird specials - highly recommend Jade Delight on the main road. The food was delicious and portions pretty generous. Three courses for 8.50 pounds per person from 5:30-7:00pm.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Stayed at the Coach House with friends. First time for us in the Lakes. The room was bright and fresh looking and the bed was sooooo comfy. Owner was extremely pleasant and made you feel welome from the minute you arrived. Breakfast was more than adequate and our friend can eat for an army so if he could walk away satisified I defy anyone to say any less. Will be first choice for our next visit

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

For approximately 32 GBP per person per night, my family (5 adults) stayed over at the Coach House for 2 nights. We had a wonderful stay in clean and spacious rooms (for UK standards) with good but not special breakfasts.

The house is converted from a Coach House / Stable of a rich family in the area. That's the reason the stairs are a little narrow and there is a slightly oddly placed ramp to room 4 and 5, which makes the Coach House unsuitable to travellors with disabilities.

The hostess, Helen, was extremely friendly, helpful and cheerful throughout our visit which did make the stay quite pleasant.

The hotel is located within walking distance from the town centres of Bowness and Windermere and view points of Lake Windermere. In a car, the surrounding historical towns (Ambleside, Grasmere etc) are within 15 mins of the B&B There are ample parking lots in the car park, but the lots are quite narrow so skill is required.

In all, recommended for couples, family and retirees, but not for those with difficulty walking.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Yiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 108 in Windermere
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 108 in Windermere
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#30 of 108 in Windermere
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: The Coach House Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Windermere
Coach House Windermere
The Coach House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing