We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakdene Apartment Suites
Ranked #96 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the Lakes”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had a girls' weekend away in the Lakes and decided to stay in an apartment rather than a B&B. We had two bedrooms for the three of us so another person could have stayed and the apartment was fantastic - nice living room, kitchen, bathroom and very friendly owner who showed us around when we arrived early. As others have said, location is great, right in Windermere and close to Boness. Really couldn't fault a single thing. Would definitely go back if visiting the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review,we are glad you ignored the "revenge reviews" on this site and gave us the benefit of the doubt and enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to see you again soon.
kind regards,

Tony Baker Oakdene Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    2
    2
    12
See reviews for
23
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

It seems reviews are split on this place and largely around the management and communication abilities (Note: this does not relate to an English as a Second Language issue). It would seem from some people who have previously reviewed when things go right, there is no issue, but when things go awry, problems arise. Having read some of the reviews where people expressed frustration about management we thought as 2 professionals and communicators we could be clear and there would be no issues (Apartment with 2 double bedrooms). Sadly this was not the case and the financial struggle and misdemeanors of previous guests voiced repeatedly by the owner was both sad but frustrating. The apartments themselves are well located and the one we had (had actually requested but then had difficulties obtaining) comfortable in an early 80s way. At 8 degrees, the heating going on at 5pm was way too late and too low we spent 1 GBP per hr on a meter heater to keep warm (yes we heard ad nauseum how a previous guest had complained of the heat - it probably wasn't 8 and raining at the time). Finding some appliances such as freezer turned off and being requested to turn off TV etc at the wall when we went out was all part of the over half an hour instructions. While pretty clean, I would also comment that is it always disconcerting to find black hairs in a bathroom when you are a blonde and I also deleted/amended some of the overly draconian wording of the 'contract' prior to signing, especially relating to ability to add additional charges to my credit card without consultation. As someone previously mentioned (and probably like me attempted to be measured in the face of how we experienced interaction), it's about how a place addresses guests and especially a 'misunderstanding' of initial booking requirements. So experience is split. Ours in the not OK camp. Perhaps it depends on the day.

Room Tip: Be clear, very clear. Even when we were both on telephone and by email, we were shown to a lesser ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Well,that's certainly told me a thing or two,I no longer live in fear of "Revenge Reviews" on trip adviser,we have enough good ones to compensate and people with any common sense can distinguish the iffy ones from the genuine.Unfortunately these sites have become the domain of every cyber bully and crank on the planet.A hair in the shower?we are so very,very,very sorry,but sometimes the odd hair might sneak through,this is not the 7 star Burj-Al Arab in Dubai,it is however superb value self catering unit in the center of Windermere ,it is privately owned and we do our best for everyone at the cheapest price possible other than free,there is nowhere in this village that offers this standard of accommodation,with the free use of a leisure club and swimming pool,free secure off street parking and free Wi-Fi,we are cheaper than the YHA for goodness sake! for a 4 person fully equipped apartment you paid £95.00 a head,come on give me a break.I notice you have made 21 reviews on this site since the 12th of June,enough said.Reading between the lines it appears you wont be staying with us again,I for one am very relieved to hear that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windermere hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

A pleasant apartment right in the heart of Windermere. Bedrooms, kitchen and living room are all comfortable and well equipped. Owners are friendly and helpful and having free use of local spa facilities is a nice touch. A great base from which to explore The Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review,we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to make use of our free pass to the Leisure Centre and Swimming Pool complex at Parklands Club and hope to see you again soon.
kindest regards,
Tony Baker Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a great place in central Windermere, newly furnished and very reasonably priced. We stayed in the first floor apartment - and would happily return!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VisitorMay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review,we happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Irene Oakdene apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had stayed 1 night in Oakdene Apart-Hotel and we are very satisfied . It was perfect for us. We were 2 couples and enjoyed the stay . Rooms were very clean and well organised. On our arrival , Owner ( Irin) welcomed us warmly and explained about all facilities of the Aparment. She was very friendly. The Location of the Hotel is nice with lots of shops and restaurants.

We will definately come back again if we plan to visit the Lake District and also recommend people to stay here which is cheap compared to other guest house in Windermere.

Thanks Irin ( the owner) once again

Rakib Hasan

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review,we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us,we pride ourselves on giving some of the best value accomodation in Cumbria,we enjoyed having you stay and hope to see you again very soon.
kindest regards,
Irene Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 - 4 friends for a university reunion. It was really central to the town and was good quality for a very reasonable price.
The rooms were all lovely and the location was excellent, right by the centre of town with a Co-op store at the end of the street.
The only thing that would improve the experience would be if the owner would resist issuing constant instructions on arrival such as 'please turn off lights at night', 'please use coasters' - we are not children and would not trash the place!
Overall, a good find and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PosieSw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your review and are glad you found our apartments to be excellent value,we will take on board your comments.
regards.
Irene Baker Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Would recommend the Oakdene Apart-Hotel to anybody who wants a good base from which to explore the lakes. We had a very enjoyable weekend stay.
Friendly greeting upon arrival. Accommodation clean, spacious and fully equiped for anybody who is self catering. Ideal location, Windermere is quieter than Bowness but only 1.5 mile walk down to the lake, £4.00 in a taxi. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops within 100 yards of Oakdene. Use of leisure facilities of a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinrumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for those kind words,it makes a change for us to finally get an honest unbiased review from some one who has actually stayed here.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Irene ................Oakdene Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#27 of 108 in Windermere
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#56 of 108 in Windermere
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdene Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdene Apartment Suites

Property: Oakdene Apartment Suites
Address: 98 Oak Street | Cumbria.The Lake District., Windermere LA23 1EN, England (Formerly Oakdene Apart-Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakdene Apartment Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three modern apartment suites within 200 yards of Windermere village in a quiet side street,each has its own lounge and kitchen,Sky free-view channels,DVD etc,two have two bathrooms,all have a full size bath,this is let on a self catering basis daily or weekly.We offer Free off street parking for one car per apartment,Free Wi-Fi,Free use of Parklands Leisure Club and Swimming Pool at the Burnside Hotel Bowness.Each apartment has one double and one twin bedroom and sleeps (4)four.On request,we can accommodate five (5)persons in apartment No1 in one double bedroom and one triple bedroom(see photos),please advise if more than four persons will be coming at the time of booking as a small additional charge is payable and only this apartment,No1,will sleep five.If you don't all want to be squashed into a "family" room in a B&B this is ideal and if you need plenty of space this is for you.Ladies and Wedding parties please note; we have our own on-site Hair Salon,"Salon TK". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oakdene Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakdene Apart Hotel Windermere
Oakdene Apartment Suites Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing