We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Merewood in the summer . We were allocated Room 11 in advance which has a wide bay window with lovely views looking towards the Lake (mostly obscured by trees in August!). A previous review stated that they were disappointed with this particular room but it would be hard to find fault now. The four-poster bed was comfortable and had very attractive covers and generally the furniture was of a good standard.

The staff were very pleasant and quite chatty. The food was of a very good standard - particularly the puddings which were tasty and looked super.

The only disappointment was that we were unable to stay there a second night as they were fully booked!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keentraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2007

We have just spent the past few days at Merewood for my cousins wedding, what a lovely hotel. It is high up above Windermere so there are some stunning views of the lake. They took over the whole hotel for two days, from the rooms I saw they are all a good size especially room 2 which the bride had and was massive with a huge bed and amazing views, we had room 21 at the top of the house and was still a reasonable size with a more modern feel then the room on the floor below. The staff were all lovely and very approachable and the service good. The weding breakfast was some of the best weding food Ive ever had including scollops and fillet of beef. All in all they made it a lovely wedding for my cousin and a totally enjoyable few days for the rest of us.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuttynurse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sinjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Moody_Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank prince2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,448 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £86 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing