We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit but definitely not the last ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel itself is beautiful and the food is superb. What made it so enjoyable for us, however, was the wonderful staff - everyone could not do enough to make our stay perfect. We visited over New Year and enjoyed all the entertainments on offer but it was the attention to detail in the warmth of the staff's welcome that we will particularly remember. We travelled with elderly father-in-law in tow and were impressed to see an extra heater in his bedroom - nothing had been forgotten.

Our booking was made quite late on and there were only a couple of bedrooms left, No. 3 on the first landing was allocated to father-in-law and, although small, was perfectly fitted out and above all, cosy! We were in room 19, which we had been warned in advance was small, so no surprises there, but it was perfectly fine and the bed was super-comfy.

Many thanks to all at Merewood for making our stay such a delight. We fully intend to be back - just wish we didn't live at the other end of the country!

Room Tip: If you can bag a room on the first landing, these are probably the largest, but inevitably they get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

If I could sum up the Merewood in one word it would be 'superb'. We celebrated our wedding on Saturday 3rd December 2011 and had the hotel to ourselves for the weekend. From the word 'go' the staff were fantastic and a real credit to themselves. We felt more like family than guests, which made our family and friends feel at ease. Since we booked the wedding (being pregnant at the time) we knew that we were in good hands. Helen has to be the most organised person I have ever met and we knew that we had nothing to worry about and more importantly, no stress in organising a wedding while looking after a new baby!
Upon our arrival at the Merewood, the staff helped get our bags from the car and showed us to our rooms. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and I cannot praise Helen and the rest of the staff for their organisation and professionalism. I have never met nicer people in any other hotel I have been to.
We loved every second of our weekend and will be returning every year to celebrate our anniversary..........in room 2 of course! What a view!!
Thanks again to all the staff for making our wedding one to remember. Everyone who attended the wedding thought the food was outstanding and the service 1st class.
Adele and Chris Hughes

Room Tip: Room 2 is huge and boasts the best view I have seen from any hotel I have ever been to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We have just got back from our weekend at the Merewood with all of our friends and family, celebrating our wedding, and we just want to share with everyone how fantastic Lorna and her team at the Merewood are. Everything exceeded our expectations, even though we have already enjoyed a friend's wedding there a few years previously and know how fabulous the setting and staff are. Nothing was too much trouble whilst we were there and it really felt like our home for the weekend. Having your wedding at the Merewood makes it a worry free experience, and allows you to sit back and enjoy the occassion, which we certainly did! We had so many lovey impromptu comments from our guests about the fabulous food and the high quality service from all the staff. The Merewood is unpretentious but first class all the way! All of the team were brilliant, but special thanks to you Lorna, you helped make our weekend x

Room Tip: If you get married there, you'll get the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Returned to Merewood last weekend to take advantage of one of their splendid special offer weekends - an unbeatable £150 for two nights bed and breakfast and a five course dinner. What a splendid deal; the food at Merewood is absolutely superb, the setting overlooking Windermere absolutely stunning with the autumn colours adding a special tint to the already beautiful views, and staff wonderfully cheerful and friendly - just what you would expect from Cumbria. From the log fire burning in the entrance hall to the mirrored panels and chandeliers in the huge dining room, this is luxury indeed. Our standard rooms were comfortable rather than sumptuous but who can complain at that price - and they were spotlessly maintained. We actually live in the South Lakes near Ulverston (a wonderful little town off the regularly beaten tourist track but steadily attracting admirers) so why are we going to the National Park for a weekend away? Simply because we rarely get the chance to get out into the Lakes and enjoy it - and while a hotel just 45 minutes from home may sound a little bizarre, it was still a perfect break, great food and totally relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to a slightly larger room but insist on a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trafalgar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We got a special deal to stay at this hotel, which is in between Windermere and Ambleside. Despite paying about half the going rate we got a fantastic room overlooking the Lake and spent half our time just sitting looking at it. The weather was awful so we just chilled out in the room, reading, chatting and gazing at the scenery. Very relaxing!

The main attraction about this hotel (according to other reviewers) is the food and we were not disappointed. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was absolutely superb. I would say that this hotel is second only to Overwater Hall for the quality of the food.

Dinner is treated as an "event" and the service is quite deliberately slow and steady. This is not a fast food joint so don't expect to finish your meal until at least 9pm. Just enjoy the ambience of the lovely dining room while you wait for the next course.

It's very quiet though. If you want a lively hotel then this is not the place for you. Practically everyone sloped off to bed after dinner (it's a haven for walkers who apparently need their kip) so my hubby and I were in the lounge on our own with no other guests to chat to. That, of course, will be a bonus to some people and it all depends on your point of view and what you want from a holiday.

The cleanliness of the hotel was immaculate and the staff friendly and most obliging. I really felt we could ask for anything and they would have tried to get it for us. We didn't ask for anything else though - lots of tea and coffee in the room, freebies in the bathroom, a nice little box of chocolates waiting for us on the bed, even some fruit.

All in all, a superb hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie6017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I can only use superlatives for our stay at this hotel while attending a family wedding. We had a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and all the staff were eager to please. At the hotel manager's recommendation our room was changed to one over looking a stunning view of lake Winderemere after the main party left on the Sunday. Food was absolutely delicious and our evening meal was arranged to suit us on the Sunday evening as my daughter and her partner had two young children. A child and dog friendly hotel - nothing was too much trouble. I can only thank my niece for arranging her wedding there as it gave us the opportunity to sample an outstanding hotel. Congratulations team - you really know what customer service is all about. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 2 - 7 i think have views overlooking the lake i think. Would suggest that if you want a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I booked a last minute room at the Merewood for a four night stay in October and was thrilled to get a special rate of £52pppn bed and breakfast. As this is rated the best hotel in the Lake District on Tripadvisor I couldn't wait to get there.

We arrived at the hotel early and were pleased to be able to check into our room 2 hours early. We were in room 21. I had been warned that there were no lake view rooms available, however I had still expected the room to have a bit of character like those shown on the website. Unfortunately, the room was small and bland - we could have been staying at any old hotel, not a country house!

As we had an early start from London, we decided to have a nap once we had checked in. No such luck - we were disturbed twice by a maintenance man wanting to change a lightbulb. In the end we gave up. There wasn't a do not disturb sign in the room so I requested one from reception - it never arrived.

That evening we decided to eat dinner in the bar, however, we were told this might not be possible due to the fact that a large party were booked into the restaurant. In the end the chef did manage to 'fit us in', but we felt like an inconvenience.

The free wifi is not available in most of the hotel - in fact the only places we could pick it up were in the drawing room and at the top of the stairs. Very disappointing.

However, it wasn't all bad. The staff were very friendly and good at their jobs and they made us feel welcome. The breakfast was good and we also ate at the restaurant one night which was delicious. 

The house itself is very grand and it was nice to come back to a roaring log fire after a day of walking. You do need a car if you are staying here though.

Maybe I expected too much from this hotel, as after reading the reviews on here I was hoping for something very special. In the end it was just ok.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merewoodhotel, Manager at Merewood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear RLS1,

I would first of all like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise on behalf of the team at the hotel for not meeting with your expectations on this occasion. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. Customer feedback is of utmost importance to us as we continually seek to improve the quality and level of service we offer to our guests.

As soon as your review was posted I conducted a full investigation into your comments and have addressed these where necessary with members of the team.

We want all of our guests to feel relaxed and welcome wherever they go in our hotel and I am sorry that on occasions you did not feel this way during your visit.

I would also like to thank you for the kind comments you made with regards the professionalism of our hotel staff and the quality of the food. We strive to offer an excellent service to our guests and it is great to hear positive feedback regarding these elements of your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Lorna Johnson (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,441 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £71 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing