We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merewood Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We recently stayed at the merewood as I booked it as a surprise night away for me and my husband as a small honeymoon break! When we first arrived I admit I was alittle disappointed with the room we were given as it wasnt very light and quite small (room 6) However after I went to reception and asked if there were any rooms left with lake views and explained situation we were moved to room two which was the bridal suite for no extra cost!! The room was beautiful very large and very light with a beautiful view of the lake! The bed was so comfy and very clean.The staff were friendly and very helpful and showed an interest in you. The food was amazing definately worth having the dinner and the before dinner canapes were a nice touch! Would not hesitate to stay again but would just ask for a room with a view!

Room Tip: ask for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    84
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
173
362
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hotel staff were all helpful and polite and made our stay very pleasant. The room we had was one of the suites and was very comfortable although it was hard to see the TV from the bed as it was on a shelf in the wall.

We had the dinner option and it was probably one of the best meals we have ever had and the service was 5*. The aperitifs were a lovely start to the evening whilst we had a drink and decided what we wanted to order.

The location of the hotel is great: nice and quiet but only a few minutes to Windermere in the car. The views were beautiful but unfortunately the weather let us down.

We would definitely stay here again and will recommend this hotel to anyone who asks for a great hotel to stay in for a visit around Windermere

Room Tip: When you book, ask if there are any lake facing rooms, you never know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Merewood at the beginning of March for a last getaway before the birth of our first child. The room was lovely and spotless (we had a four poster bed which was a wonderful touch) with magnificent view. The staff were wonderfully attentive and friendly. It is in the style of an old country house complete with library and log fires. It was utterly peaceful and romantic (we were there mid-week and it was quiet). The food was utterly outstanding. Dinner was an experience you should leave lots of time for. I highly recommend this hotel.

p.s - If you are a non-walker and put off by the fact is does not have a spa, never fear there are a few in town (4 minute drive) to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife & I only stayed 1 night at the Merewood in March, however, I feel that we got a pretty good flavour of the place during our stay.
The location is pretty impressive - between Windermere & Ambleside, with lovely views over the Lake.
On arrival, Staff were particularly welcoming & helpful & remained so during our stay.
The building is quite old with lots of character & our room was nice with a very high ceiling with a 4 poster bed (very comfortable) & a view of the Lake. We paid a discounted price for an out of season stay, so the room appeared exceptional value, but if you were paying full summer prices then the lack of facecloths or tissues might be of a little concern.
We didn't eat dinner at the Hotel, but were informed by other guests who had, that the food was extremely good. Certainly the breakfast seemed to bear that out, as it was of high quality, nicely cooked & presented & plenty of it.
In all, I'd certainly recommend trying this Hotel for a stay in the Windermere area. You'd be hard pushed to better it for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights at the end of March where were very lucky with some great weather. The quality of the hotel, rooms, service and food is nothing short of excellent. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneakywillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Over 3 weeks, stayed 7 times. What can I say about Merewood that has not been said before, The staff were amazing, could not do enough & because I had to start early, they even got the staff in half an hour early to get breakfast ready. The rooms are faultless & kept to a high standard. The food was just out of this world, Michelin star rated & you must try the desserts, a perfect way to finish off the day. Have already booked to return in the summer. The location & views over the lakes is amazing & a must see.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel for advise, as I was not aware of any issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
english
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for two nights,23-24 March, The weather was unbelievable , gorgeous sunshine for the happy couple, All the staff at the hotel were brilliant, never saw a single one with " a face on" Even though we had a lot of young children running round the rooms, upstairs and down !
The service was first class,
We had room 5, a very large and comfortable room,with two king size beds, and a large sofa bed in the bay window, and a spa bath !
When it came to the food for the wedding,it was amazing !
Can't recommend 'The Merewood Country House Hotel ' high enough,
You will not be disappointed if you choose this Hotel for your venue.
Thank you all for a wonderful stay,

Room Tip: Rooms to the front , have a wonderful view down to the lake. But all rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing