We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Weekend Treat”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We've enjoyed terrific food at the Merewood many times, but never actually stayed until now. We had a wonderful room overlooking the lake and everything about the stay was great - the staff, the service the food...
Nothing was too much trouble and we had a thoroughly relaxing time, especially on Sunday morning by the open fires, reading the papers.
Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is huge! Two double beds, a settee, chairs, and still room enough to dance. If you felt lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    95
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
184
402
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in January and we really couldn't recommend this hotel enough. We were greeted very warmly by Joe and Lucy on reception, who made a lovely fuss of our dog, and everything was made clear to us straight away re dinner/breakfast times etc. The hotel itself is absolutely stunning - traditional yes, but perfect for a snowy winter's weekend. The bar area is spacious and we didn't feel as though other bar-goers could eavesdrop on your conversation; both the drawing room and library have a great atmosphere, and the cosy log fires really added to the ambience.

Special thanks go to Dan and Joe for making our stay extra special and accommodating us when very heavy snow fell, which couldn't be helped by the hotel, yet they did everything they could to make our break the best it could be. The rooms are absolutely beautiful (I say rooms as we actually stayed in 2 because the power went off in part of the hotel after hours of very heavy snowfall). Overall, everyone was so friendly and accommodating, and really made us feel at home.

The food is also worthy of a mention - every course of the evening meal was divine, and definitely great value for such a large and decadent meal. Similarly, the breakfasts were really ample (perfect set-up for a day of walking) and you could tell a lot of attention to detail had gone into the preparation of all the food - including canapés, homemade chocolates and snacks.

All in all we'd say that this is one of, if not the best, mini break we've ever had. We'll definitely be visiting again later in the year - thanks to everyone who made our stay so special!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My boyfriend surprised me by booking a weekend break for my birthday and i didn't want to leave the Merewood house hotel, The staff were friendly and made you feel welcome, The food was delicious no need to eat elsewhere and i recommend the Venison you won't be disappointed, A special thank you to Danny who looked after us well during our visit we will definitley go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We are a group of 4 adults and one infant on a 5 week road trip around Britain and had the good fortune to stay one night at Merewood. Unfortunately they only had one night available. This beautifully presented accommodation is a large English country house built in 1812. The setting is picturesque in a beautiful corner of England. We chose the bed, breakfast and dinner option. Our rooms were #5 (a very large spacious family room with bow window overlooking lake) and #7 (large and spacious room with windows also overlooking lake) attractively decorated with the most delicious feeling sheets to slide into. Fabulous bar space (in what was originally the conservatory) which we enjoyed while waiting for our meals (and post dinner). It is fine dinning -- delicious food, well presented. The staff are friendly, helpful and approachable. Sitting in the bar with a warm fire and snow gently falling onto a white world outside -- magic.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tibby_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Family indeed! All 10 of us arrived with our 16 pcs of luggage to the most lovely welcoming Lorna. Words could never be enough to describe this wonderful, wonderful lady. She made us feel at home from the moment we stepped in until we sadly departed. There is absolutely NOTHING that she and her brilliant staff will not do to meet your every need. We had 4 small girls in tow ages 5 to 12 and they brought their picky appetites with them. Not a problem...they had exactly what they wanted every single meal and were happy little campers. The joyous Christmas celebration was one that will live in our memories forever. As usual, the incredible food and presentation, the extremely capable staff, an arrival from Santa...all of it! We wouldn't have changed one thing. The girls had the most incredible room with a view to die for and there were chocolates, comfy beds, roaring fires and a bar to beat all....not one detail left out! This was our first holiday as a family abroad and it lived up to everything we had dreamed that it would be. As incredible as the Merewood is the real gem is the precious Lorna...we love her to death! We traveled a long way for this holiday and it was worth every mile...thank you Lorna and all your brilliant staff for taking such wonderful care of us...wish we could have had a longer stay.
The Martelli Family, USA

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMartelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife and Had a great new year at the Merewood. the whole day was very good the Boat trip round the lake, the food on offer through the afternoon, the Dinner reception with champagne and audurvis, the drnner was very fine dining, all the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you, the 5 course breakfast meal were excellent.
The room was very clean and tidy. Service was great.
The hotel is set in a great location overlooking the Lake Windermere.

Room Tip: Room at the rear nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazjocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Booked a sneaky break between Christmas and New Year 2012 and so glad we picked the Merewood. What a fantastic time we had. Great food, great company, and great experience. Will definatley be returning. Thank-you Lorna and Danny for going the extra mile!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzierobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing