We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveller rating
806
132
39
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
806
132
39
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea drawing room bridal suite beautiful hotel wedding venue roaring log fire wedding breakfast scones a lake view room afternoon tea public rooms fine dining sister hotel course meal stunning views lake district reception area
Filter
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 984 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We went for Sunday lunch at Merewood last weekend to celebrate our daughter & son in law's
10th wedding aniversary (.they were married there ) there were eleven of us in the party ,7 we had the place to ourselves .the food was as wonderful as ever .& the service is impeccable .nothing is to much trouble .the lunch is excellent value at £26 per head for four courses including coffee & home made petit fours served in the lounge .highly recommended .i must try & book a few days next year if i can get in .

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeherbert19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a fantastic hotel, full of character and staffed by people who go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We were here for a wedding in September and the food was absolutely fantastic, could find no fault with anything. Word of caution though there is quite a walk from the main car park to the hotel up dozens of steps so if you are not very fit make sure you park in the 'top' car parking area.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plasmadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Visited for a one night dinner ,bed and breakfast break. Home made chocolates in the room and welcome hot drink and scones all included in a great deal. Staff and service very good. Nice rooms with great views of Windermere lake. Good location for Ambelside and national trust properties including Beatrix Potters Hill Top farm.

Room tip: Room 1 nice view and great four poster bed.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerseyjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding earlier this month and cannot thank you enough for a wonderful experience.We had been so looking forward to the wedding and our trip and all our expectations were exceeded.We arrived to a very warm welcome from Lucy who immediately organised helpers to unpack our car which by this stage closely resembled a traveling circus.Nothing was too much trouble,a really beautiful setting,open fire blazing in the hallway,very clean comfortable rooms,lots of beautiful places to sit and relax or take stunning photos.The wedding was lovely,lots of attention to detail,great organisation,a perfect day for our niece and her husband and for all our family.The food and service were exceptional,staff very helpful and patient,elegant setting of a bygone era made this a very memorable day and worth traveling across the world to experience.Thanks again.

Room tip: Rooms at the front have a lake view.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mama2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at the merewood on 27th September 2013, we had been once before and had fell in love with the merewood, we were concerned coming back that it wouldn't live up to our expectation and how we remembered it, but the merewood exceed themselves! The food is incredible, service is second to none and the place itself is beautiful, can't grumble about the price either! Can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clur27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews