We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My two Border Collies and I have just enjoyed a quiet, relaxing 3 night winter break at the Merewood. I and my two 4 legged companions were made extremely welcome by all the staff, the hotel was immaculate and the food excellent. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have eaten at the Merewood on numerous occasions and have also stayed once before about two years ago but all before I started doing Tripadvisor reviews. My friend and I had a special offer for here and decided to take advantage. We had rooms 3 and 4 and although not large, had everything we needed - large television, constant hot water in a lovely bathroom and stunning views over to the lake. The lounges are very traditional with log fires (which were most welcome, given the damp and drizzly day). The food was delicious with an extensive menu and wine list for our evening meal and I was stuck for choice as I could happily have eaten most of it! There was no rush at all in the dining room and it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Breakfast was also very pleasant with a buffet table of cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc and then the cooked breakfast doneto order. I would be happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lillibet12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I arranged to visit the Merewood for afternoon tea with my girlfriend last Spring.
The staff were extremely helpful from the get-go, it was a pleasure dealing with them.
On arrival, and as they were so quiet, we were offered drinks and given the run of the house to explore the rooms downstairs- the place had a fantastic feel and this was a nice touch that was much appreciated.
Given the option, we took our afternoon tea outside on the patio enjoying the fantastic views. Service was attentive and the spread was great! It was a shame we were so hungover, it may have been enjoyed even more.
The tranquility of the grounds is an instant leveller. The Merewood is situated below fast jet flying space- perhaps not for everyone but I absolutely loved the echoing boom and seeing the jets.
Would certainly come again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Returned to the Merewood for another much-anticipated Christmas break and, despite this being our 5th visit, I was struck as if for the first time by the exceptional standards of this hotel. The high-quality facilities, sumptuous rooms, fabulous views and exquisite food combine to make this the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Memories abide of the extraordinary & wonderful staff - every single one of them goes way, way beyond the call of duty. Their never-failing helpfulness, friendliness and kindness is really something else and is so much appreciated. My sincere thanks to all of them for making this Christmas (and the last four) such magical & memorable times.
We shall be back.....

Room Tip: Views of the lake from the front rooms are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

By far one of the most exceptional hotels I have ever stayed in - set in stunning grounds with breathtaking views of lake windermere, this country house provides a great escape from normality. Beautifully decorated with plush settees and roaring log fires, Merewood feels far enough away from anywhere that you can relax and unwind, but it is minutes from Windermere in the car, and has easy accessible walks nearby.
We were seriously impressed with the quality of the food, both for dinner and breakfast, and the service of all the waiting staff was very pleasant and helpful too.
All in all, I have nothing to fault about this hotel, and whilst it was only a short stay, I cannot wait to be returning very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room if any are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzy186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just returned from our 5th Christmas at the Merewood and once again, it proved to be the highlight of our year. There is so much to praise about this exceptional hotel: the setting is superb; the hotel itself is quite gorgeous with superbly appointed reception rooms and bedrooms, and of course the food is out of this world, thanks to the immensely talented Leon and his iwonderful team, who increase in skill, originality and expertise year on year, in direct proportion to my expanding waist band it seems.

Above all, though, my lingering thoughts as I drive away are always about the staff. How do they do it? How do they manage to be so lovely - so warm and welcoming while working over Christmas? How do they manage to seem so relaxed while being so efficient (because if they didn't seem happy and relaxed it would be impossible for us to relax, too). Their smiles and their many kindnesses elevate a wonderful Christmas experience into something of a different order: Adam's Santa Claus was a triumph.

Thank you to everyone - this hotel has been rightly awarded Lakeland hotel of the year in 2013. It needs to be experienced to be believed! (The photo depicts Christmas Day Breakfast in bed, Merewood style...)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caramelissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our daughter lives and works in Singapore so when she announced her engagement giving us only 6 months to organise the wedding for 120 guests we thought we were in for a challenge. Deciding on a Lake District venue, she whittled her list down to three hotels for us to check out. The Merewood was the last of the three and the minute we walked through the door into the lovely foyer we knew this had to be the place. This is a beautiful country house hotel built 200 years ago as a private residence for Lord Lonsdale. It is in a lovely elevated setting looking out over Lake Windermere but the star is the building itself which has a wonderful ambience with beautiful airy and relaxing reception rooms all with open fires, beautiful soft furnishings, immaculately decorated and themed for Christmas. The staff are the other great asset led by the superb and hands-on Manageress, Lorna - they have a great service ethos - nothing was too much trouble, they worked hard with quiet efficiency and all seemed genuinely eager to make sure the guests enjoyed themselves and the wedding was successful which it most certainly was.

Other factors in our decision to have the wedding at the Merewood were it's lovely reception room which accomodates 120 guests, the quality of the food which was exceptional, the delightful "Art Deco bar" where friends gathered the night before the wedding, and, with guests coming from all over the world, the ability to provide additional accomodation in the sister hotels, Briery Wood and Crag Wood, both of similar quality and sited within half a mile of the Merewood. However, the greatest benefit of all turned out to be the hotel's Event Organiser Jenny who was simply fantastic. She guided us firmly but invairably helpfully and sympathetically throughout using her experience to great effect and introduced us to all the other local service providers necessary (florist, hairdressers, taxis, photographer etc) all of whom we found to offer the same high standard and helpful service we experienced at the Merewood. Finally, she was there throughout the wedding, the reception and the evening dancing keeping an eye on things, she was even there at breakfast the following morning - thank you Jenny.

To summarise, the wedding was everything we hoped it would be, it went off without a hitch and all our discerning guests had a wonderful day with many saying this was the very best wedding they had ever attended; and they meant it!. If anyone is looking for a wedding venue in the Lakes, the Merewood should be at the top of your list..

Room Tip: Bedrooms at the front of the hotel have viuews over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireWoofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £72 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing