We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My sisters Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My sisters Wedding”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from my sisters wedding at Merewood what a fantastic venue! Only one word to describe it PERFECT! The staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was "out of this world"
Top marks for everything, I cannot praise the hotel and staff enough! Thank you

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best but all are lovely, clean and well presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    95
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
181
399
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a fabulous Sunday Lunch at the Merewood. We got married at the hotel a few years ago and came back for my Dad's birthday. We'd seen that Merewood had won Lakeland Hotel of the Year last year in a food and drink award - and they fully deserve that. The food was absolutely out of this world! The sun was shining, the views down the lake are just lovely and Lorna made a lovely fuss of the birthday boy! A great afternoon of fine food and then relaxing by the fire in the lounge. Thanks Merewood x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Booked via travel zoo got a great deal for a one night break. Check in was quick and reception staff were lovely. Opted to pay for a upgraded lake view room was lovely lots of little extras eg sweets and biscuits. Scones and coffee on arrival were lovely and greatly appreciated all staff were Friendly and approachable. Evening meal was superb had wine which was reasonable priced also. Toffee cake was to die for! Full breakfast the next morning was also brilliant quality and lots of options available. Wouldn't hesitate to visit again will b recommending I friends and family. We hope to visit again soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlisle111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked with Travelzoo voucher and had a wonderful time. We booked too late to get lake view room but our room was adequate. The bedroom was extremely clean and bed very comfortable, hotel staff very professional,friendly and helpful. The hotel is a real gem, log fires, cosy bar, lounge with views across the lake to the mountains beyond, absolute bliss! The highlight of the stay though, has to be the food - it was exceptional. Reading the comments from other 'trippers', I wholeheartedly agree, you would be hard pressed to better it!

Room Tip: Book early for a lake view (change your dates if you have to!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Booked with travel zoo voucher for a two night break to this hotel . The hotel is just as pictured. , the staff and the food were lovely , couldn't have wished for better . This is a very relaxing hotel . Warm and cosy with good facilities The staff were charming and could do enough for you . Thank you for a memorable stay .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lilley29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Merewood Country House Hotel for 2 nights. The staff were friendly, helpful and provided first class service before and during the stay. The food was of an exceptionally high standard and the public rooms are delightful. We stayed in room 8 on the first night and moved to room 2 (a lake view room) on the second night. Room 8 was fine but room 2 was superb. Overall, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lake view to take best advantage of the hotel's position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed on Sunday and Monday as Saturday was fully booked with a wedding. I looked at photos of the hotel and bedrooms and booked directly with the hotel asking for room 2 as I liked the photograph on the website. We were very pleasantly surprised to be greeted by a cosy reception area and a roaring log fire on arrival. After a quick check in, we were helped with our bags up to our room and shown where everything was. We were so happy with the room when we saw it, the view was priceless and compulsive, it was difficult to leave to explore the area! My husband asked the hotel receptionist to organise for some flowers to be in the room and they were there waiting and a beautiful choice had been made.
We were booked on a dinner bed and breakfast deal as it was our anniversary and the meal was absolutely perfect in every detail from the décor of the dining room, speed of service to fantastic quality of food. All the public rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable with fires being lit in each with the exception of the drawing room which was a shame but there were still plenty of places to be comfortable. We had a sandwich late afternoon on Monday with scones and tea and this was as the evening meal, beautifully presented and perfect for what we wanted.
The cooked breakfast was made to order and was of a great quality and ample. Fresh fruit was served at breakfast with yoghurt, cereals and pastries. Nothing out of the ordinary but very tasty.
All the staff were very approachable and friendly and nothing was too much trouble and they were always nearby when we wanted some one.
The hotel had such a cosy, warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere, we felt very comfortable wandering around in any room. Although we don't have one ourselves, it was also lovely to see such a beautiful hotel that welcomed guests with dogs, the ones that were there were no bother and we only knew of their presence because we heard paws on the wooden floor a couple of times!
There is a double height staircase up to the 1st floor and obviously no lift so be aware if you have difficulty with stairs. They are wide with a relatively low rise.
The gardens are lovely but on a steep slope so perhaps not ideal for a quiet stroll for those with mobility problems, the plus side of this of course is the view. Disabled car parking is available outside the main door but other car parking is up quite a few steep steps. You can drive up to the door to drop off bags if you have a lot.
We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Room 2 was fabulous but ask the hotel staff, they will help you with descriptions of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevdeb25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing