We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding at The Merewood 'Amazing Place' 31 July 2010”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Wedding at The Merewood 'Amazing Place' 31 July 2010”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

OMG!! The Merewood Country House Hotel is the most amazing place you could ever imagine to have your special day at...

We were recommended the Merewood by my Aunt who is always involved with weddings and has attended many a wedding. As we live in Surrey (born and bred Lakes girl) we found it hard to find the perfect location for our perfect day with not being able to travel up there so often. So when we came across the Merewood it was love at first sight.

We booked it up 2 years ago and have had the best support and communication ever from all of the amazing staff at the house. As we couldn't just pop in when and if required Joe and Helen kept in constant contact with us, which was an absolute blessing.

The big day itself was amazing and we had sole exclusivity of the Merewood for the entire weekend. This was perfect as we had guests travelling from all corners, staying all weekend and as the ceremony and the event were all held in the one venue it made it so easy for everyone.

Joe, Helen and Jenny run the whole day with military precision but you would never have known the were actually there. They are amazing people!! The food was delicious and so much of it we all nearly popped by the end of the evening. I highly recommend going for the mini cones of fish & chips yum yum yum...

The rooms were in excellent condition with all of the facilities you would require. If it wasn't in your room, reception would more than likely have it for you! If you are staying in the first floor rooms then I am certain you will be blown away by the views of the surrounding grounds and on a clear day you will also enjoy the beautiful sight of Lake Windermere. Breath taking...

I also highly recommend that if you are holding a wedding or special event here, to use their florist Michelle Fullerton at Valerie Ann's Florist in Windermere as she blew us away with what she did for us and complimented it all with similar flowers around the house.

We can't thank everybody at the Merewood enough for making not just our day special but a day to be remembered by all of our family and friends to!!

Thank you Merewood

Karen & Pete xXx

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vwbeetle_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    93
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
176
386
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

My daughter was married at the Merewood in a civil ceremony. Everything about the wedding was magical and because of the friendly, professional staff prior arrangements, ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception just happened seemingly effortlessly leaving the wedding party absolutely stress free. I cannot praise the staff enough, nothing was too much trouble and the food was second to none. The location is wonderful and majestic and yet, for the two days we spent there it felt like home. Many, many thanks and long may you reign as the most perfect of wedding venues!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue-fray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

As Father of the Bride , I was nervous about many things , speech included. The wedding was two years in the planning, I had every confidence in the Team at the Merewood. Our wedding on the 17th July 2010 was superb, everything fell into place , Helen ,Lorna, and all the Staff were fantastic , many thanks. People said you would know and feel right about the venue , as a family we did . All our guests had a superb day . wedding breakfast was as good as any Michelin * Restaurant . We will be back for Sunday tastings!. Luckily I have three daughters , need to persuade others, hopefully we will be back. Martin , Julie , Natalie, Ben and Guests. All our expectations full -filled.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msamos20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

just back from 4 wonderful days at merewood to celebrate our ruby wedding .hotel & food still as good as ever .our third stay here .our daughters wedding was held here 7 years ago .the staff are so friendly

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeherbert19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We had our daughters wedding last weekend and the position of the hotel, overlooking Lake Windermere, was absolutely fantastic. Every single guest had a great time, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was unbelievable. You couldn't beat this hotel wherever you went in the world and the service was 5*.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We recently had our wedding reception at the Merewood Country House Hotel. It was perfect! The venue and views were stunning, the staff were lovely, professional and friendly. Their attention to detail was outstanding and the food was amazing! This was always going to be the best day of our lives but the Merewood helped to make sure that it really was! With thanks to Lorna, Helen, Joe and the rest of the staff x

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocoloco20_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We had our wedding last weekend at the Merewood Hotel, and could not possibly be more pleased with the venue we chose. All our guests commented not only on the splendor of the surroundings, but also on the fact that every one of the staff were helpful, friendly and professional.
From the moment we went to the Merewood to view it as a possiblilty we were impressed with the care and dedication the staff obviously take in making sure you get the wedding you want. Helen, in particular, was extremely helpful in coming up with suggestions and soloutions to issues that cropped up. Not least the fact that she delved under my dress at the last minute to sort out a hoop that was acting up just as I was about to walk down the aisle. That really was going above and beyond the call of duty.
And she did it with her usual cool head.. much appreciated.
Everyone that attended the wedding had a really magical time, and we attribute this fact to the location we chose. The food was very impressive, considering they were catering for big numbers they certainly didn't comprimise on quality (or portion sizes).
We would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Merewood as a Wedding location, and are only sorry we only get to get married there once.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing