We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!”
Review of Ivy Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Bank
Ranked #43 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights during firstmtrip to the lakes. Nothing to fault- the hosts were friendly and helpful, the room clean and comfortable, nice breakfast and great location near the restaurants of windermere and a short walk to bowness

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjenkins1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

From the first friendly greeting, Dick & Sue catered for us better than we could have hoped for. They made an effort to remember our names (which makes a pleasant change) & nothing was too much trouble, they chatted pleasantly and offered opinions and advice about what to do during our stay. Great breakfast, even the "cosy" room 4 was more than big enough for a three night stay. Highly reccommend the Ivy Bank.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyvickers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Last week we went back to Ivy Bank for a stay in Windermere. The service was as good as last year. There was a good breakfast and Dick was very honest again and helpful.
I surely come back to Ivy Bank when we like to stay in Windermere again. My recommendation is that if you are a first time visitor, you could stay at Ivy Bank for a night of four. The next times you could stay here for three nights and then go to another city in the north like Keswick for three nights.. That is what we have done, but we arrived with public transport. Overall it was a very nice stay again and I hope to come here back when we are in the Lake District again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My wife and I, along with our 2 year old stayed at Ivy Bank last week and found it a very positive experience. Dick and Sue, our hosts, were helpful when requested but allowed us to get on and enjoy our stay with the minimum of fuss.
We were in room 5 which was clean and spacious, plenty of room for the double bed, and single for our daughter. Good bathroom facilities as well. Breakfast was relaxed and plentiful and we were able to get out and about easily. It was a very short stroll into the centre of the town which has a number of places to eat and a pleasant 20 minute walk away from Bowness which seems to be the town most geared to traditional tourist attractions, as well as launch point for the cruises over Windermere.
Just out of Windermere is Orrest Head walk, the first of the Wainwright walks, which we managed with our daughter, a good deal of carrying was necessary at times as it is a bit of a trek for a 2 year old. Well worth it though with spectacular views.
Midway between Windermere and Ambleside is the Lake District Visitors Centre with a good adventure play area and plenty of open spaces, along with more formal gardens and great views across the lake. There was an open air concert when we were there, free and in sunshine, and it is certainly a good place to spend a few hours.
Ambleside is a little further on and has a number of shops as well as being one of the locations the cruises take you. It is just under a mile from the pier to the centre of Ambleside. Further on from there is Grasmere and Dove Cottage which we visited taking the bus for a change. There are some beautiful walks there besides the more obvious Wordsworth attractions.
If you get the chance to travel further north the scenery becomes more rugged and we also had a wonderful walk to Aira Force, the biggest waterfall in the Lakes I believe.
We packed a lot into the three full days of our stay and thank Dick and Sue for their hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammypafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2009

My wife and I have been to the Lake District 4 times and each time have stayed at the Ivy Bank. It is a fantastic B&B with excellent food, large, clean rooms, and very accommodating hosts. Dick is able to give great advice on walks in the area and Sue makes the best porridge I've ever tasted. We look forward to our next trip back to the Lakes and the Ivy Bank.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayjazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Ivy Bank is my second stay in a B&B in England. This is a very good accomodation near the trainstation and restaurants of Windermere. Dick and Sue are the owner and Dick has good contact with the travellers in the B&B without exaggerating. It is a guesthouse what you could expect with a good room with magazines about the Lake district, a good bed and you could make your own tea or even hot chocolate. The bath room is also good with a excellent shower and easy to use, think about those difficult shower in many hotels. There is a special lounge where you can lend brochures and books about the lake district. The breakfast was very good and very plentiful, it was so much, we weren't used to have so much breakfast on a morning. But it is certainly one of the best B&B's in Windermere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I recently stayed at the ivy bank with my 2 daughters, the owners dick and sue clothier were very friendly and helpful. breakfast was great with a good choice. Our room was spotless and had eveything we needed.There was leisure facilities also included in the price located at a local hotel ,which was ideal as one of the days it was raining. I would definately recommend the ivy bank to anyone, and also the location was great as we only had a ten minute walk to the train station. We,ll definately be coming back on our next trip to the lakes. thankyou kathy grace and charlotte griffin

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#20 of 108 in Windermere
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kays Cottage
Kays Cottage
#57 of 108 in Windermere
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#18 of 108 in Windermere
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#28 of 108 in Windermere
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Bank

Property: Ivy Bank
Address: Ivy Bank Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivy Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 30 minutes walking distance of viewpoints, tumbling waterfalls and the Lake shore, Ivy Bank is situated in a quiet position close to the village centre, shops, restaurants and station. There are comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, attractive decor, a superb choice for breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere. Aromatherapy massage available on site. Discounted use of local leisure club. Private parking, storage for bikes. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Bank Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing