We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way a B&B should be”
Review of Ivy Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Bank
Ranked #44 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The way a B&B should be”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I booked Ivy Bank after reading so many positive reviews of the place and I am more than happy to add another 5* and my complete recommendation for Ivy Bank.
Dick and Sue are excellent hosts and made us feel incredibly comfortable, always very friendly and happy to help. The room was also to a high standard with a really comfortable bed!
In summary, from the moment I rang up to make my booking, to the lovely breakfasts and advice on where to go, to the moment I checked out, absolutely everything was superb!

Note: for fitness fanatics they also have very cheap passes to a really nice spa and fitness center not far from the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danhodkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend last week. Would definitely come back!
Was blown away by the standard of service. Room was beautiful, fantastic location, lovely breakfast - couldn't ask for more!
We made our booking by phone and got a good deal - may be worth a call!

Room Tip: Room 2 is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamason88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is the 4th time we have stayed here for a weekend and we've loved it every time. The rooms are immaculate and so cosy too. The owners Dick and Sue are extremely welcoming and their breakfast is a fantastic start to any day! Would recommend anyone to try Ivy Bank- they won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oopsadaisydoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for three nights - just off on a quiet street in the middle of Windermere town so the location was excellent for us (just a few minutes walk from the train station and ten minute walk down to the lake). Dick & Sue were really welcoming and we loved our bright and cosy room. The whole house felt really homely and the breakfast was excellent. We had to leave for a really early train one morning so they made sure we were able to have breakfast before we set off which was a really nice touch. When we go back again we will definitely stay here - great value for money and nothing to fault. Lovely hosts who were full of great recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winkle-Pickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Great location. Close to reatuarants, shops and lake. Very welcoming, friendly hosts. Clean, comfortable rooms and good food. We would definitely stay at the Ivy Bank again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffodils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Very close to Windermere, brilliant places to eat, superb Itailian, English and Thai! Wouldn't suggest the Indian (Spice Lounge)!
Ivy bank was in a lovely enviornment, very welcoming owners and brilliant location. Can recommend the guest house and location to couples of all ages!

Room Tip: Traveling by car is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Hosts were very friendly and accomadating. Very knowledgeable and can advise tou where to go and what to do. Rooms were clean comfortable with gorgeous antique funiture and flat screen tv. Breakfast was perfect, the owner makes it all himself and takes your order and asks you exactly how you want it. Theres plenty of toast, fruit, yoghurts and juice as well. Will be staying here again next time we go to the lakes.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#20 of 108 in Windermere
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kays Cottage
Kays Cottage
#57 of 108 in Windermere
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#18 of 108 in Windermere
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#27 of 108 in Windermere
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Bank

Property: Ivy Bank
Address: Ivy Bank Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivy Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 30 minutes walking distance of viewpoints, tumbling waterfalls and the Lake shore, Ivy Bank is situated in a quiet position close to the village centre, shops, restaurants and station. There are comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, attractive decor, a superb choice for breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere. Aromatherapy massage available on site. Discounted use of local leisure club. Private parking, storage for bikes. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Bank Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing