We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Guest House”
Review of Ivy Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Bank
Ranked #43 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming Guest House”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My partner and I stayed at this charming guest house in Windermere last week and would highly recommend it. The room was very warm and cozy (unlike the bitterly cold weather) with beaufiful furnishings and a lovely comfortable bed. It is also very well located close to the shops, bars and restaurants but in a quiet street. The proprietors, Richard and Sue, made us feel very welcome and provided us with lots of useful information to make our visit to the Lake District more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zozzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the weekend in February and were made to feel very welcome by Sue and Dick. Our room was lovely, spacious and clean and there was a nice lounge for the guests to use with an extensive book collection provided. It was a 2 minute walk to the shops and restaurants and the free parking outside the B&B was a bonus. The breakfast was great and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giddy_Goose_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this very friendly & welcoming B&B. I chose it because of the proximity to the town centre & previous reviews...I wasn't dissapointed, I was travelling alone for the first time, but was put at ease by the Dick & Sue straight away. The bedroom was lovely, clean & bright, with everything you need, lovely & warm, but could also open the window. Comfy bed, the only issue for me was the pillows, just my personal veiw, they were too soft... Great breakfast, plenty of choice & you could choose whatever you wanted. Also served beautifully. It is
about a mile & half walk to bowness, and plenty of cafe's & restaurnants locally. Sue is also a qualified Masseuse & Aromatherapist and I took advantage of the full body massage, I felt wonderful afterwards, it is well worth it...would definately stay again..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinkybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Lovely cottage set in quiet pretty road. Off road parking at rear, secure dry garage for motorbikes at no extra cost. Large comfortable rooms that gave a good nights sleep. Cosy sitting room right next door to our room. Good hot filling breakfast that set you up for a day in the Lake Distrct.
We will be returning to the Lkae District and Ivy Cottage, the owners are warm and friendly and they run A home from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed at Ivy Bank for a long weekend in September and had a fantastic time. The house was beautiful with a real homely feel. Room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The hosts are really welcoming and incredibly helpful. The location is perfect with Lake Windermere just a few minutes down the road as well as countless hill walks to enjoy the views.

I highly recommend this B&B and will certainly be staying there again in the near future

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

A really lovely B&B, very friendly hosts that made us feel very welcome. We decided to make a rather impromptu 2 night stop in the Lake District on our way back from Scotland and were delighted with the Tourist Centres recommendation. We were also travelling with our 4 month old baby but this wasn't a problem. We had a gorgeous room, comfy bed and it was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent and there was a wide choice. I also treated myself to a massage, which was very relaxing. I'd thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJaneyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have just returned from a few days away in beautiful Windermere. If your looking for B & B with clean comfortable accommodation, within short walking distance from Windermere and a mile away form Bowness then this is ideal for you. The breakfast is lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Private car parking meant you didn't need to leave your car on the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#37 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#12 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#34 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#28 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Bank

Property: Ivy Bank
Address: Ivy Bank Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivy Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 30 minutes walking distance of viewpoints, tumbling waterfalls and the Lake shore, Ivy Bank is situated in a quiet position close to the village centre, shops, restaurants and station. There are comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, attractive decor, a superb choice for breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere. Aromatherapy massage available on site. Discounted use of local leisure club. Private parking, storage for bikes. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Bank Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing