We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were well looked after.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Bank
Ranked #44 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We were well looked after.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights Thursday/Friday/Saturday.
The location was very handy to restaurants and shops and an easy 20 minutes walk to the steamer base at Bowness.
The building is old and a bit noisy but the view out the window was very nice.
The owners and staff were excellent. Served us excellent breakfasts and nothing was too much trouble. They had lots of good advice about the local attractions, roads and environment.
The car parking was good too.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask the owners - they will be completely honest with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This review is long overdue.
Me and my girlfriend stayed at this lovely B&B for her birthday last September and had a wonderful time. I honestly can not think of one single thing wrong with this hotel.

The room, the food, the location. Everything was perfect.

We was greeted by Dick and he made us feel very welcome the whole time. He even made the effort to remember our names. He couldn't do enough for us. Always made sure we had a good breakfast and even recommended places to visit during our stay.

If I was to ever stay in Windermere again I wouldn't need to think about where I'd be staying. I would be booking at Ivy Bank.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveKenworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Dick the owner was very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble never met nicer staff and he remembered both and my partners name.

He told us what there was to do around Windermere. this stay for my birthday was amazing I cant think of a nicer B&B I have stayed in..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becca26091988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Couldn't fault any part of our stay at Ivy Bank. Sue and Dick are exceptional hosts...very warm and down to earth and went out of their way to make sure our needs were met (and I'm fussy!). Room 1 is a clean and comfortable room and the breakfasts are outstanding. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Oh and my massage from Sue was heavenly. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyJo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Victorian terraced house retaining many original features. A lovely warm welcome from Sue and Richard along with the lovely and warm place and they certainly treat it like their own! Place was very clean and tidy. The endless choice of breakfast followed by a choice of cooked breakfast was fantastic. Not to mention the almost endless supply of filtered coffee. Room it self was great with antique furniture and en suite (room 2). Location was perfect too. Located just behind a road on the main road was ideal. Both quiet and easy access to the quieter part of Windermere and about 1mile away from the lake. Highly recommended and hopefully we will stop again soon.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
862 reviews
482 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a little difficulty in finding the B&B when our GPS took us down a dead end street but a phone call to the owner put us back on track. On checking in, owner was very friendly and helpful and offered lots of information about restaurants etc. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was rather small with attic style windows but was very comfortable with good sized bathroom. Breakfast was good with juices, cereal, yogurts, fruit etc and cooked breakfast was ample and delicious. Very good location in Windermere with private or on street parking within easy walking distance of town centre. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Probably better to book a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Ideal for walking from guesthouse to restaurants and shops. Although handy for the town no street/traffic noise at night. Sue and Dick were Very friendly and welcoming, one of the best cooked breakfasts we've had! The room was very clean and comfortable. Was good having off street parking in Windermere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#34 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haisthorpe House
Haisthorpe House
#52 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Bank

Property: Ivy Bank
Address: Ivy Bank Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivy Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 30 minutes walking distance of viewpoints, tumbling waterfalls and the Lake shore, Ivy Bank is situated in a quiet position close to the village centre, shops, restaurants and station. There are comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, attractive decor, a superb choice for breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere. Aromatherapy massage available on site. Discounted use of local leisure club. Private parking, storage for bikes. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Bank Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing