We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly and delightful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Bank
Ranked #43 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dizzie1981
1 review
“A friendly and delightful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

My partner and I wanted a 2 night affordable break in the lakes to relax and do a bit of mountain biking. Having never visited the Southern Lakes before, we really couldn't have picked a better spot. Ivy Bank is ideally located off the main road, just a couple of minutes walk from windermere centre and a short stroll away from Bowness.
We had a standard double room at the rear of the property on the first floor which was fairly small but very clean with the most comfy of beds!
Ivy bank has a good sized car park at the rear of the property and we also had use of the Garage to store our Mountain Bikes overnight.
The breakfast was delicious - we tried the full english and the kippers and were very happy with both!
Dick and Sue were very friendly & helpful and we would definately recommend a stay at the Ivy Bank

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed here for one night and were made to feel very much at home. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with a full English plus toast, cereal, fruit etc. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank squirrel2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

We had a wonderful time during our stay. Our hosts were very kind and made us feel like we were visiting family rather than just staying in an accomodation. There were several nice hiking paths as well as the town and lake all within walking distance. Our rooms were very well appointed with comfortable beds, nice shower facilities. The full English breakfast was delicious! Finally, we are a bit of a neat-freak family and found everything to be very clean and neat throughout.
Loved it!

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms with wireless internet
  • Disliked — No views
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NoviClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2007

Me and my partner had a lovely two night stay in a snowy Windermere in March. The room was beautifully furnished and extremely cosy. It was immaculately cleaned, with a handy folder of information contained in the room. The owners were both extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, they changed our room as it became obvious that my 6'6" weren't going to squeeze into the bed we were initially given. Breakfast was lovely and obviously freshly cooked. The location is great:-easy to find by car, and great for walking into Windermere or Bowness. Overall, nothing but positives.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank TheSnarfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2006

The Ivy Bank is a great find. We stayed here with our three year old daughter. The hosts are vey welcoming. The rooms are tastefully decorated. The place is spotless.

The location is walking distance from Windermere. One great thing about the Ivy Bank is the parking which is not on the street like a lot of B&Bs in Winderemere. Another special feature is a cosy reading room.

The breakfast was great and the dining room had a great feel to it. We really liked this place. Friends of ours had told us about it and we would highly recommend it to anyone!

Overall a delightful experience!

  • Liked — Hosts and location.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Good parking- off street.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Family99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2006

We always stay at Ivy Bank B & B when visiting the Lakes. In our opinion, it is quite simply, and without exaggeration, one of the best B & B's in Windermere and probably in the whole of the lake District. What you get is value for money, clean, tidy, cosy and very comfortable rooms and the owners are extremely helpful and lovely people. It is always a pleasure to stay there.

The breakfasts are also among the best we have had.

I cannot recommend this lovely B & B any higher.

Make this B & B your first choice-In our opinion: You won't be sorry that you did.

  • Stayed August 2001
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bishop_Smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#36 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haisthorpe House
Haisthorpe House
#52 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Bank

Property: Ivy Bank
Address: Ivy Bank Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivy Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 30 minutes walking distance of viewpoints, tumbling waterfalls and the Lake shore, Ivy Bank is situated in a quiet position close to the village centre, shops, restaurants and station. There are comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, attractive decor, a superb choice for breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere. Aromatherapy massage available on site. Discounted use of local leisure club. Private parking, storage for bikes. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Bank Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing