We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Everything!”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved Everything!”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

When we arrived, the receptionist was very welcoming and friendly. Our room was clean and cosy which was great. The dinner we had in the restaurant each night was amazing!! Really well presented and absolutely gorgeous! The waiting staff again, were great and so friendly, we didn't want to leave. The breakfast were gorgeous. I ordered a hot chocolate and they brought out a big pot, amazing for hot chocolate drink lovers! We also used the pool, steam and sauna room, all of which were very clean, and great to use after a day out in the Lakes! We were definitely spoiled, and want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    340
    120
    53
    24
See reviews for
127
1,049
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was our third trip to Hillthwaite and I am sure there will be many,many more.This outstanding hotel boasts exceptional staff with service and value for money to match.Nothing is too much trouble for anyone.The food is to die for and served in magnificent dining room with breathtaking views over Lake Windermere and the Cumbrian hills. We are already planning our next stay.Also worth mentioning is that the hotel is pet friendly and your furry friends are made equally welcome.This hotel is an undoubted gem!

Room Tip: Have a chat with reception stagg whilst booking they will help you decide on your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked one night at the Hillthwaite for ourselves and 2 young children based on the good rating on tripadvisor. Usually the tripadvisor rating gets it right, but not this time...

I called and enquired about a family room - I got offered a suite and they said they could put in additional beds for our sons. It sounded good so I booked at £171 B&B which was reassuringly expensive.
We got there, checked in and the lady at reception instructed the porter to take us to the lodge. I queried this saying I had booked a suite and she said "it is the lodge suite - it is OK as it has a covered walkway". Not what I expected but I went along with it anyway.
The "lodge" turns out to be a 70's house (see picture) which is located next to the hotel. To get there you need to walk out the back of the hotel, past the kitchens - not great.

Apart from a lick of paint and other basic things, it looks as if nothing has been done to the property since it was built. Everything was old, tired and dated.
Our "Suite" looked like the old living and dining room. It had a small room off which exactly fitted two single beds (see the picture). You couldn't even shut the door! I'm sure there must be a health and safety law against that.
The bathroom wasn't clean - rusty shower rail and dirty shower control (see pictures) and the (vinyl, not tiled) floor was dirty - you could rub the marks off with your finger.
The double bed was in fact two single beds pushed together with double covers over them. Worst of all was the carpet - it looked as if a dog had been living there and nobody hoovered (see picture of fur gathered from a 3 inch square of carpet)
The main light didn't work, the (ancient single glazed metal framed) windows didn't shut properly and the curtains were for decoration only as they didn't close over all the way although there were blinds which still didn't make it very dark.
Even the kids remarked on how horrible it was.
The only good thing was the nice big flat screen television.
We therefore decided to ask for our money back and take my chances with another hotel so at 9pm with two tired kids, I went to reception and asked for my money back. To the hotel's credit, they refunded me with no quibbles.
I then returned to tripadvisor's fantastic phone app and got an absolutely stunning room at the Merewood - and at a cheaper price than the Hillthwaite.

To be fair to the hotel, the reception area looked OK, and I didn't see any of the other rooms but with so much choice in the area, why take the risk?

It was probably only worth £70 for a family bed & breakfast.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Is_This_Ridiculous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Clean comfortable hotel with reasonable size pool. Nothing to much trouble for a friendly and attentive staff. The food and service was superb. Will definitely be visiting again soon

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weirdstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband & i first stayed at Hillthwaite in 2008 as a surprise 60th birthday treat for me & boy, was it a treat !! so we decided to return with another couple of close friends this year to introduce them to Hillthwaite & THE LAKE DISTRICT. We stayed in "CLASSIC" rooms, very clean, quiet & comfortable (although our bed was a little too hard for us). The food on each of the 3 nights was a delight & so beautifully presented & the breakfasts were also sublime (best we've ever had anywhere). The staff were most helpful, especially the GORGEOUS Marco, all most polite & extremely efficient. Please don't hesitate to book a stay at Hillthwaite, you won't regret it. .......we'll certainly return & I just can't understand why there are ANY bad reviews for this hotel. you really couldn't fault it. We'll certainly return..... THANK YOU again for another lovely break, all at Hillthwaite. Can't wait to return !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shyanne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just returned from a long break at Hillthwaite House, and it could'nt have been better. We have stayed a couple of times before, but will definately return sooner.
The location is perfect for getting around, and the hotel itself is 'heaven', our room ( rm 11 ) was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a view to die for. The food both at breakfast and especially at dinner in the evening is first class. The choice, presentation & taste are excellent, be sure to save room.for the desserts.
Now for the best point, that is the staff, every one of them take time to make your visit a pleasure, from check in, to housekeeping & the restaurant the guest certainly comes first, a very special mention must go to Marco, he takes time for every guest, and clearly enjoys his work. Thank you all again and we'll certainly return again, the sooner the better. Mr & Mrs N Smith

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nksmithtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We spent 2 nights here for our wedding anniversary and upgraded to a lake view room. You could see the lake over the rooftops. The room was smaller than expected, the decor was old fashioned and generally not what we expected from the pictures on the website. The room was clean at a glance but dust was on the lights and top of mirror.The bed was uncomfortable for us and the pillows flat and lumpy. If you like a good tv forget it, satellite TV is promised but not Sky channels, just poor picture on a tiny tv and WIFI is available downstairs but not in your room.
We had some nice food in the restaurant and the quality was good, unfortunately you are requested to order your meal choices in the afternoon and the service in the restaurant is more than efficient, you feel rushed.
The staff are friendly and well trained.
Breakfast is good. with lots of choice.
We used the pool/sauna once - its ok nothing special.
We would not return as feel for the same money there are better hotels available in a more convenient location. The whole feel of the hotel is upmarket retirement home but we appreciate this type of hotel appeals to many other people and we can see from other reviews that we are perhaps the exception rather than the rule.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a lake view it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCH124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
As always we welcome constructive comments and value feed back in a positive way,
especially from Trip Advisor members. We are sorry that on this occasion we do not appear to have achieved the normal high standards we aspire to. However, whilst some of the issues raised by this member are ongoing normal 'wear and tear' issues, which all hoteliers have to confront, their basic premise about the quality of the room we feel we must question and respond to. This particular room was refurbished in its entirety in the last twelve months, using the services of a professional interior deisgner, we can only assume therefore, that this refurbishment obviously did not appeal to the 'personal' taste of this member.

Whilst we value and, where appropriate, act upon matters raised by Trip Advisor members, we have noted the number of hotel reviews that this particular member has posted and wonder if they are not trying to turn hotel reviewing and inspection into a hobby, art-form or lifestyle, we must point out however, that the difference between professional and amateur hotel inspectors is that the former do raise any issues they may have in a face to face meeting following a visit prior to submitting their written report, in additon they do understand the commercial ramifications and responsibilities which hotel reviewing carries with it, may we respectfully suggest therefore, that if this member wishes to continue to pursue their interest they should adopt a similar approach as their professional counterparts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing