We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location, Nice staff”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top Location, Nice staff”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Fabulous views from the location of the hotel, however, the hotel rooms varies,.
The breakfast was second to none, perfect service. hope to returen soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulmonem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    339
    117
    53
    24
See reviews for
125
1,039
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed three nights in early September.
Everything was first class especually the staff who were friendly, warm and efficient.
The food was superb, the room comfortable and the pool/sauna/steam room perfect.
I cannot think of anything to complain about!
Will happily stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Have stayed at this hotel before and it just keeps getting better! Location at the top of a hill in Windermere with fabulous views over the Lake and surrounding hills and fells.
Staff could not be more friendly and helpful. We had a standard double room this time and it was absolutely fine. Very comfortable with an extremely comfortable bed.
The food was wonderful - menu changes every evening.
Love this hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are beautifully furnished. Obviously Executive rooms are much larger than the standard do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnn1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

a hidden gem of a hotel, away from the hustle and bustle of bowness

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyFromUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

When we arrived at the hotel the greeting we received was pleasant, we were shown to our room which unfortunately did not resemble any of the pictures on their website. It was very small, dated and parts of the carpet were lifting up. The bathroom was very compact, the shower was poor and it had a damp smell. The swimming facilities are disappointing, the sauna and steam rooms are tiny and are only turned on when requested, but 20 minutes is needed for these facilities to be ready to use. Towels for the swimming pool are available upon request at reception which is located in the bar area, meaning you have to walk through the bar seating area where people are eating and drinking with your towel, swimming costume etc. We sat in the bar area for a drink but were disturbed by the staff on reception answering phones and shouting messages to each other. Many future customers confidential details were passed loudly from person to person either being taken from a phone call or from emails. We were asked to choose our evening meals during the afternoon?????????? (we found this system a bit odd), which we were looking forward to after reading the sample menu on the website but this actual menu disappointed us as the meals on offer where nothing like the fine dining sample menu and photos we had looked at earlier (on the website). However the food was very nice and the service in the restaurant was very good, there was lots of choice and variety at breakfast, which we did enjoy. This turned out to be not the enjoyable and relaxing night away we had anticipated and would highly recommend the management to review their website as it can be misleading.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room number 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
I think this reviewer is mistaking friendliness with the guests as a breach of confidentiality, all of our staff are careful not to jeopardise the safety or security of our guests in any way by discussing personal details publicly. I thank the reviewer for pointing out minor maintenance problems which have been addressed but as far as the criticism of the size of the room is concerned we must question their view of what constitutes 'small' because the particular room in question is far from being a small one and the bathroom facilities are more than adequate. I must also point out that the guests who followed this particular reviewer into the room in question were delighted with it, so the reviewers comments would appear to come under the category of 'personal opinion.' I would also add that whilst it is impossible to display a photograph of every room on our website, we do show a very fair representation of the various category of the rooms available.

In conclusion I would point out that on 'check out' this reviewer and partner were asked if they had enjoyed their stay with us to which they replied in the affirmative and at no time did they mention the dissatisfaction they obviously felt, choosing instead to share their 'unbiased' views via the good offices of Trip Advisor, whilst always welcoming constructive criticism it is a pity that we were not given the opportunity to discuss this reviewers complaints in person. Could I also respectfully refer this reviewer to the preceding six reviews on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Just got back from Hillthwaite House Hotel. We went for our anniversary and had a wonderful stay. Our room was number 16 and had a fantastic view!! The room was very clean and the bathroom sparkled. The staff were friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived in our room a card from the staff was waiting for us, a lovely touch. The evening meal was really good, all the courses, five in all were beautifully presented. Breakfast was good with plenty choice, my husband thought the porrige was gorgeous!!

Room Tip: Room 16 must be the best view in the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

On our arrival we received a lovely welcome from Paula on Reception and then we were shown to our room, which was large, very well appointed and clean beyond belief. The Management were always on hand to assist with any queries. The Restaurant again was very light , airy and superbly clean not a crumb in site and the meals were definately the best I have eaten in years we must congratulate the Chef added to that the service in the Restaurant again could not have been better.
All we can say in finishing is that we shall definately be back to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor twin which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing