We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed at Hillthwaite for our Honeymoon. We stayed for 5 nights & we would have happily stayed longer. We stayed in Exec room 15 with balcony, unfortunately the weather wasn't brilliant so only got to use balcony once. But it was so nice to wake to views of the lake & the mountains. The bed was so comfortable that we slept so well.

The staff were so friendly & made you feel like you were old friends. The restaurant staff were absolutely superb & it was such a shock to come home & not have breakfast & dinner served by them, they were always so cheerful & polite. Marco heads up a fab team.

The food was superb, it was lovely to be treated to such luxury for the week. We can honestly say the food was so tasty & filling & the puddings were divine.

We used the swimming pool & sauna a few times & it was a nice way to unwind & then we would sit in the lounge & read with a cream tea! Perfect way to unwind after a morning sightseeing. We would then go to our room & get ready for a lovely dinner.

We wanted a relaxed honeymoon & we certainly got it.

Thank you to everyone at Hillthwaite. We can't wait to visit again. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the lakes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_Matt_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    329
    115
    52
    22
See reviews for
120
1,009
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have stayed a number of times at the Hilthwaite House Hotel, and each time it has been super. The quality of food is outstanding with a menu to suit. The rooms we have used have been excellent. The hotels location in Windermere is perfect. Windermere itself can get a bit busy, but it is central enough to get out and about the Lake District. All in all its not to be missed if you are thinking of visiting the lakes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tensixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend some time in the Lake District!! Everyone is made welcome and the staff are pleasant, friendly and eager to make your stay special.

Room Tip: The excutive 16 suite over looks the views to the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend some time in the Lake District!! Everyone is made welcome and the staff are pleasant, friendly and eager to make your stay special. The food is out of this world, the five course menu offered interesting options and the locally sourced food was expertly cooked and I can honestly say that it's the best food I've ever eaten and the deserts were to die for. Breakfast again offered tasty options, which kept you going all day. We chose a room with a view, offering a jacuzzi bath and I can say this was well worth the extra money, especially after a long walk!! The room was nicely decorated, with a really comfy bed. Unfortunately we didn't get to try the pool this time. The Hilthwaite House is an excellent hotel, in an excellent location, with stunning views and I would like to thank the staff for making our visit special and I can promise we will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view, it's lovely to look at the lake when you get up in the morning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I have stayed at Hillthwaite House Hotel most years since 1995 and it has never failed to impress. The hotel is comfortable, with a variety of rooms and prices. There are splendid views from the dining room and from some hotel rooms, as well as an extensive terrace overlooking Lake Windermere. The food served at breakfast and at dinner has been consistently superb, with knowledgeable chefs serving excellent and fresh local produce. The staff are friendly and welcoming. I was delighted on my most recent visit to see Geoff, once the manager of the dining room, returned from retirement to join the reception team.
Hillthwaite is traditional and stylish, not ideal for families with young children, but truly a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are the most desireable but all rooms are comfortable and you may spend much o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelWinnerRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for a short break, in Executive room 16, which has fabulous views. The hotel setting is tranquil, but within easy walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness. The rooms are very well equipped, and the bathroom was luxurious. The food is absolutely outstanding; excellent choice; everything is cooked fresh, and nothing is bought in. I would go so far as to say that this is the best food I have ever tasted. This is our third stay and won't be our last. The small pool, and facilities are great to visit to warm the muscles after a days walking. The lounge, bar and conservatory are great to take in the views, really relaxing. All of the staff, without exception were friendly, and attentive, without being over familiar, clearly very well trained, and interested in their environment. Many congratulations to the owners!

Room Tip: Executive room 16 has fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

hillthwaite house is and always will be one of the finest hotels in the lakes. we have stayed there many times over the years , and we have always been really well looked after. my wife is coeliac but this is not a problem, the chef does a marvelous job , providing he is given prior notice , by providing a wheat free menu . the staff are really good at making you feel "at home" . and the hotel itself is very ,very nice. up to now this year we have stayed three times , one of wich was my 60th birthday ,my wife booked us into the best room inthe house ...fantastic views out over the lake and the distant hills .

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzywalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing