We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

me and my partner have just spent two nights in this hotel in a superior room. The room was lovely, in particular the bathroom and we had a fantastic view from our window of the mountains and part of the lake.
We had a meal the first night which was very nice. lovely food, lovely view...staff were great. breakfast was also very nice!
they have modern, comfy seats outside which overlook the fantastic view the hotel offers. we were lucky with the weather and really enjoyed sitting out here in the evening.
we are both under 30 and admit I am picky about hotels...we have complained at 5 star Caribbean hotels in the past! but we were both very pleased with this hotel and would definitely stay again.
location wise it's up a steep hill but you are in the lakes! cheap taxi ride into Bowness or bus ride from main road.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbsnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    324
    114
    47
    21
See reviews for
120
995
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We've just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. My first words are amazingly helpful, considerate staff. We booked through a deal website so got excellent value for money. This being the first time we've taken our 1 yr old bulldog into a hotel was an amazing experience! The staff are ALL extremely helpful. Our room was perfect with a really nice bathroom. The location is really good and at the top of the hill at Bowness and then another hill. But it's well worth the walk. We were lucky to have good weather on Thursday evening and so we sat out of the front of the hotel with a beer. What an amazing view. We'll be back. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gazandaims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We used the Living Social offer for a weekend here and had a lovely time. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We drove up on Friday night to find a nicely prepared room with a card from the hotel (my iwfe had mentioned once to the staff in passing that it was our anniversary). We then had a really good meal in the restaurant, all four courses were beautifully cooked and presented, this was the same for the meal on Saturday evening. The breakfast was not quite so good, but we did come down very late 9.45, service stops at 10. The room was not huge, but well presented, clean and had all we wanted and more. We even had a swim and used the sauna. All in all a great weekend. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whisky_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington Northumberland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Have just had a fabulous weekend with the living social offer. Great hotel fantastic food and great company with our friends frm Southport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fletch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

2nd vist this year to this lovely hotel. Stayed quite a few times now over the last few years. Staff lovely and always helpfull. Food lovely too, evening meal both nights were fab. Breakfast was lovely too. Will defo be returning before the end of the year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

A short break booked through special offer package, very good value. Lovely hotel, very polite, friendly staff. Rooms were clean and well presented, we booked a room in the annexe, had our own balcony, table and chairs, lovely view, four poster bed and jaccuzi bath, very comfortable. Situated within walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness. Food was lovely, well cooked and presented. If there is any moan, the second night's meal was not included in our package,but you could opt to buy two courses each and have a complimentary bottle of wine, the courses were alittle expensive, a starter of melon was £7.95, shame, beacause it was otherwise a really lovely break.

Room Tip: choose the annexe room with the balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 88Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have just returned from a family birthday celebration at this hotel and I must write to say it was excellent in every way! The staff went out of their way to make sure my brother had a wonderful birthday weekend with his family. The accommodation was superb and the food was totally amazing! There were 19 of us and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, even making sure we had one of the lounges to meet in together.
Thank you everyone! x

Room Tip: We had a room in the annexe and it was excellent with superb view too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing