We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for a mini honeymoon, staff were very good, helpful, courteous and friendly.
The 5 course meal that was included was 5 Star in every way, it will be a while before we have another meal that good.
The hotel room was very comfortable, with everything you would need for your stay.
We didn't use the Sauna or the pool, but both looked very clean and well maintained.
We are definitely looking at booking again and we would highly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ldorian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,236 - 1,242 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Evening meals fabulous almost as good as the views. Breakfasts average. Rooms very clean and smart- bathroom brill.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank michael5148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just back from a fantastic stay at this very well run family hotel. Staff could not have been nicer, excellent customer service from start to finish. The food in the restaurant was excellent every night, grat choice and good quality, Very comfortable room to stay in and the staff made our visit !!!!. Would definetly book again and would recommend this hotel !!!!!

Room Tip: Choose the top floor rooms as you get a excellent view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here 3 times before, just returned from a 2 night mid week break,and it is still a wonderful hotel the hotel staff. are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble you only have to ask. On our first day the weather was glorious so we had drinks on the terrace when we returned from our exploring of Bowness and windermere which are only a 10 minute walk in each direction from the hotel.
The weather on Thursday pm was heavy rain,but the hotel is warm and cozy and we booked dinner on both nights which was very nice when you do not have to venture outside and you can just have coffee in the bar area in the lounge or in the conservatory afterwards most enjoyable.
We had a standard bedroom this time which are small but well appointed with a jacuzzi bath, very nice and clean with good quality furnishings.
Well worth the money , the lovely breakfasts and the 5 course evening meal, very enjoyable once again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed for the weekend with 3 friends, ... elevated position with lovely views.... breakfas and 5 course evening meal went down very well, stayed in the hotel the 1st evening, not much of an atmosphere, a little music would of gone down well. Rooms were nice and staff friendly enough. Pool was ok, although very shallow at one end which made swimming difficult, small sauna and steam room but adequate enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandy8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

"Bloody Marvellous " ..... really nice hotel and great staff set in gorgeous grounds and based just right , 10 mins walk either way to Bowness & Windemere with a great view from the patio ....

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markg386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

we rang to book a table for our anniversary, we enjoyed a wonderfuly tasty 5 course meal (didnt think i could manage the 5...but did!!)with friendly helpful staff not fussy or fuddy duddy, hillthwaite is really hard to beat, thank you for a fantastic evening, we will be back before too long

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pollyFromUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £104 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing