We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic find in one of our favourite places in the UK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in one of our favourite places in the UK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Hillthwaite for two nights recently. We arrived to thunderstorms, torrential rain and flooding, none of which dampened our enthusiasm for this absolute gem of a hotel. The views are fantastic, the staff are all very welcoming, pleasant and efficient and the breakfast and dinner menus outstanding! The hotel is a brisk ten minute walk down to Lake Windermere or a leisurely stroll of fifteen to twenty minutes. We have recommended this hotel to several friends and will definitely be returning later this year and for many years to come.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Just_Julie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    329
    115
    52
    22
See reviews for
121
1,010
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed with friends for 2 nights on Dinner Bed and Breakfast with lunch on Sunday. Our room was large and very well appointed with a very comfy double bed and lovely bright bathroom all was spotlessly clean. The food once again did not disappoint a good and varied menu choice at both breakfast and dinner and of 5 star quality and service.
The weather was not very good, cold and wet so the open log fire in the lounge was a lovely touch and much appreciated when relaxing with a drink.
We also enjoyed the use of the pool and sauna with towels provided.
All in all a lovely friendy family run hotel that we cannot fault and we can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank catsmum654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night weekend break and had a fabulous time. We have a 11 week old daughter and this was a little pick me up break for my husband and I so we were so relieved that everything was faultless, something you cant say very often. All the staff are extremely friendly, efficient and smart. Food was totally amazing, really top class quality and presentation. We had the 5 course dinner both nights and it was an experience we thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast was also fab - I had eggs benedict which were the best I have had. My husband had full english which was beautifully cooked (no grease on plate or swimming in baked beans) and he said was easily the best breakfast he has had. We had an exec room which was had such a comfy bed with canapy, fresh and contemporary decor, jacuzzi bath, separate shower, fridge with complimentary bottled waters and wines, the music system was far better than one we have at home! All in all, the best break we have had as location, hotel, facilities, staff, food etc were all brilliant, shame we couldn't say the same about the weather!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LizandBeninYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Situated almost half way between Bowness on Windermere and Windermere Village, this is probably the most pleasant hotel visit I have had in a long time. Recently, I wrote a review about the Smiths Hotel in Gretna which claimed 4 star status but demonstrated 2 star. This hotel doesn't claim anything, but delivers 5 star service all the way. The hotel is situated high on the hill with beautiful views over the lake. The hotel boasts a swimming pool, and large patio to the front. Perfect for sitting out with a drink before or after dinner. The room (36) was not the biggest in the world, but was very ample, clean and fresh, and the king size bed was most comfortable and clean. The bathroom had a jaccuzi bath and shower with plenty of towels, toiletries etc. The small bar had everything you could want, but the highlight of the stay without any doubt were the meals. The restaurant is large, and split into three areas. Each of these areas give the most fantastic views over the countryside. These areas are very warm and friendly, and conjusive to fine dining. The evening dinners were magnificent, with each of our five courses delivered promptly, on hot plates, and presented with care and attention. There was no drop in standards at breakfast either. Again delivered as above, but unlike many hotels I have stayed in, there were no surcharges for fish. The staff were friendly and organised. All knew what their job entailed, and carried it out like the professionals they were.
Overall, a great experience, one I hope to repeat soon.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are more expensive, but probably worth the extra for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank slushfundEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown On spey Scotland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Booked after leaving London.

Arrived 8.15 and we were in time for dinner at 8.30 (last orders 9pm)

Room was very nice although up two flights of stairs.

The room was immaculately clean. Probably the cleanest room I have stayed in for a long time.

Dinner was excellent and the staff were just tremendous.

Choice of food was very good.

Only complaint restaurant very very warm.

Great find.

Room Tip: Not sure. Ours was beautiful. Fantastic views over the lake. Wonderful bathroom with Jacuzzi. Up two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for a mini honeymoon, staff were very good, helpful, courteous and friendly.
The 5 course meal that was included was 5 Star in every way, it will be a while before we have another meal that good.
The hotel room was very comfortable, with everything you would need for your stay.
We didn't use the Sauna or the pool, but both looked very clean and well maintained.
We are definitely looking at booking again and we would highly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ldorian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Evening meals fabulous almost as good as the views. Breakfasts average. Rooms very clean and smart- bathroom brill.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank michael5148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing